We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added OHANA Waikiki East Hotel to your Saves list
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have stayed at the Ohana East several times and will go again. It is just blocks away from Waikiki Beach and the main area of Honolulu. There were 5 of us and we rented on the Penthouse floor got a one bedroom suite with a one bedroom connecting room and it was like a 2 bedroom apt. We had a fantastic view of Waikiki beach and the living room area had a small kitchen (very small) but it was great for our needs. Handled all 5 of us and had 2 bathrooms since we connected the rooms. The rooms were clean, not very fancy but terrific for the price. We have stayed at the Ohana West before as well but prefer the Ohana East because of the location to the beach and they have a jacuzzi. Brian at the front desk was very helpful and the restaurant downstairs does a breakfast for about $5,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    446
    194
    47
    35
See reviews for
259
330
77
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Great location close to the beach and shopping however the hotel is very basic, I guess it is rated 3 star but I was hoping for something nicer. Cleaniness was poor quality, wouldn't stay there again, convienient location though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

dont go past this place.my wife and i have made many visits to oahu over the years and found the ohana east just fine.our first time at this hotel.it has so much to offer.parking is ezy in the hotel but of coarse their is a cost.the lobby delightful and comfy,staff and check in just great.this is an older hotel but they are always on to it. in terms of maintenince.small details everywhere like hand sanitiser in the lobby.on our arrival we found the room they gave us didnt suit as the balcony was so small you could only stand out their.no room for even a chair.i spoke to front desk people, no worries,they found us a room on the 17th floor with not just one but two balconys wide enough for a small table and two chairs.on one you could see the mountains and if you got tired of that view we just moved to the other and could see the ocean not to far away.and another bonus if their wasn,t a breeze on one balcony their was on the other.what more could you ask for.the bathroom was so tiny,but .we didn,t let it be a problem.all very clean,good bed.its no hilton but suited us down to the ground.great price and location.keoni,s for breakfast in the same building ,highly recomended. and dennys just as good afew steps away.and the food pantry for groceries across the road.what more could you ask for.the pool was kind of ordinary and bit on the cool side but clean and refreshing.we will be more than happy to stay here again on our next visit.just remember if the balconys dont suit,ask for something else if your anything like me.We stayed for 10 nights but would happily stay longer

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

This hotel is in a great location however we chose this for the 'kitchenette' which turned out to be only a microwave, toaster (not toaster oven) and fridge. Since the counter space was so small it was hard to make anything in the room. You are probably better off renting a condo that would have more space if you are looking for a kitchenette. Overall we had a good stay but spent more money eating out then expected. The bathroom is also tiny.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I booked a room over the phone and specifically requested only one bed since it was only my wife and I. The operator assured me that that would not be a problem. When I checked my online confirmation it showed that my request had never even been entered. I had to revise it and do it myself. Then when we got to the hotel they tried to put us in a room with two full size beds saying that there were no other rooms available. When I complained that my wife and I were not going to sleep in separate beds they somehow miraculously found a room with one queen bed. The room itself was fairly clean but very small. I had never seen a bathroom as small as the one we had. The bathroom counter actually had a corner cut out to allow room for the door to open into the bathroom. The faucet was also located in the 3 o'clock position (instead of the usual 12 o'clock) to allow a short depth for the counter. The walls are also very thin and we could hear the staff coming and going from the service elevator all morning. That and the construction in a room across from us made it impossible to sleep. The service wasn't too great either. We requested extra pillows and finally received them after several hours and multiple calls to the staff. I have stayed at different hotels in Waikiki and this has been my worst experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Stayed for a week with familiy including one small child. All staff were very accommodating, freindly.and helpfull with booking shuttles and making restuarant recommendations. Pool is outdoors but closed in by surrounding buildings but being two blocks from the beach was great. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

the room was very clean and comfortable,with a beautiful view. it was a great deal

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.