We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay in Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added OHANA Waikiki East Hotel to your Saves list
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
banff
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was my fourth time staying at the Ohana East hotel last week and once again it was fantastic, All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Tracy at the front desk was kind and always had a smile of her face. Will at the Bell Desk was also very friendly and accommadating. I will continue to stay at the Ohana East Hotel everytime i go to Hawaii. Thank-you to all the Staff for making my trip such an amazing one. Keep up the Great work you all do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Aloha Colkel62,

Thank you for your 5star Tripadvisor review it is greatly appreciated! Glad to see the staff was once again friendly and helpful and you had a fantastic stay. We will definetly let Tracy and Will know of your great comments towards them as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    464
    196
    50
    35
See reviews for
269
342
78
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We visited hawaii on the second leg of our honeymoon and it was incredible! The staff at the ohana east was so friendly and welcoming and really love the island! The hotel was immaculate at all times and so close to the beach. Oahu is such a fun island me Waikiki is busy and fun with some great places to eat and drink!

Highly recommend top he tour of the north shore - it's was incredible and you will see places that you won't if you drive round yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Aloha Semisonic,

Thank you for the 5star review on Tripadvisor and congratulations on your perfect honeymoon glad we were a part of your special celebration. Glad you found the hotel immaculate. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and its not a 5star resort but it has a GREAT location, rooms a little outdated and free wifi wasnt the greatest but i would def stay there again for the price. Walking didtance to all Waikiki beach and shopping and dining. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!!will recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Aloha Helipad602,

Thank you for your 4star rating of your stay here at the OHANA Waikiki East hotel it is greatly appreciated. We are in the process of renovating the guest rooms so hoping you will enjoy your stay here once again in the near future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom corner unit on the 9th floor for one night. I was very skeptical of spending anytime of my precious Hawaiian vacation in the city and am glad I selected this hotel.
Aloha spirit and Ohana are definitely in the hearts of everyone we encountered that worked at this hotel.

Our room was very spacious and there was just enough room in the living room for the pullout sofa to be out and a roll-away bed to be unfolded in the room. There was also a small balcony, fridge, stove top and microwave.

The parking garage was easily accessible and seemed fairly secure (though like with all of Oahu, I still wouldn't leave anything you don't want stolen in your car!)

I felt that the accommodations were very impressive for the price we paid. It is walking distance to the beach as well. There is plenty of shopping and food choices nearby, too.

If you want to stay in the thick of it all in Waikiki, this would be an excellent choice. Waikiki beach is really just as awesome as people say -- I am glad we decided to spend at least one night in town to get a flavor for it. Within our group we rented a total of three rooms. All the rooms were different, but they were all nice. I would definitely stay here again, one party in our group spent a week at this hotel and loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Aloha CJ2468 from Chicago,

Mahalo for your great review recently on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the OHANA Waikiki East hotel it is greatly appreciated. Glad to hear your entire party enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here with a family group in May 2013, it wasn't the flashest hotel in Waikiki but certainly was very central to everything, 5 minutes to the beach, free shuttle bus around town right at the door, close to the market over the road, shopping and plenty of nearby restaurants.

The OHANA Waikiki East Hotel has really friendly and accommodating staff.

Free Internet is available in the room if you have a Laptop.

WiFi is Free but not available in the rooms but is in the Lobby lounge.

We shifted rooms 3 times 1st was because we were a long way from our family and friends,, and we asked to be moved closer to them and requested an upgrade to a room with a kitchenette it was no apparent trouble to the staff, 2nd time was when we decided to extend our holiday by 4 days again it was a no fuss move however the room we moved to was only available for 1 night and they moved us to another room on the ground floor not far from the pool when that became available for the remainder of our stay, the whole experience was friendly, courteous and without fuss.

I wasn't that impressed by America over all but I'd certainly stay at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel again..

Room Tip: Choose a Ground floor or close to it because the lifts are slooooooooow, someone in another post sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Aloha Bill437,

Mahalo for the great 5star rating on Tripadvisor it is much appreciated! Glad to see the staff was friendly and accomodating we do have a great staff here at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel. Hoping to welcome you all back once again in the near future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great view from the 19th Floor! Close to everything with friendly and helpful staff. Look forward to returning next year. Nice and quiet. Only drawback was lack of laundromat on the premises but there wasn't one too far away...

Room Tip: Up on the 19th floor! Nice and relaxing place to stay with friendly staff. Only drawback was lack o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Mahalo Kate for your recent 5star review on Tripdvisor it is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. We do have a laundromat on the street level so we are hoping you were able to use the facility during your stay.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taber, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have been staying at the Ohana East since I was a 12 year old girl, we travel to Ohau as often as possible and always stay at the Ohana East. Two occasions we stayed at a pricier hotel on the beach and found it to be unfriendly and not worth the extra money. This hotel has gone above and beyond to make us feel like family and at home during our stay. I cannot say a bad word about this property. Pool is always clean, rooms always clean, staff always friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Aloha Rats330,

Mahalo for your 5star review on Tripadvisor and for staying with us since you were 12yrs old,,how exciting! Good to see you found the pool as well as yoru room to be clean at all times and that the staff was always friendly and accomdating. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the OHANA Waikiki East soon.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.