We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added OHANA Waikiki East Hotel to your Saves list
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value for Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Location is wonderful! Hotel room was VERY clean--had no complaints with that. As far as kitchenette-don't have too many expectations about that though--it only had a small fridge-no microwave or anything else. Furnishings were a little dated but for the price and location this is a solid value for Waikiki. Not beach front but close enough to easily walk there everyday.
Very close to all things in Waikiki and they also allow the Pink Trolley rides for free if you show your room key, which will take you within Waikiki area as far as Ala Moana Center (which I highly recommend if you like to shop!). Meals can be pretty pricey in Honolulu/Waikiki so if you are a family there is a McDonald's around the corner and pricing is similiar to your local McDonalds. Fine dining is pretty pricey (around $100 for 2 adults 1 child at Dukes in Outrigger Waikiki) but I do highly recommend Dukes. My husband said the fresh fish in the Macadamia/Parmesan Crust was the best he ever had and it appears to be the least expensive for a beach front restaurant. Very casual but nice atmosphere.
While in Waikiki make sure to walk down to Hilton Hawaiian Village (about a mile or mile and a half) to see the Friday night Fireworks beachfront-which is free. This was one of the best fireworks and it is a great atmosphere and fun for all. They have many restaurants (pricey though) or you can have drinks beachside and also shops you can walk thru before or after.
Had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Aloha Deedee,

Mahalo for your review on TripAdvisor and are happy you found your room to be very clean. As for your comment on having kitchenette with no microwave, not sure how you were booked as all our kitchenettes come with either a microwave oven or hotplate or both, so we apologize for your not having atleast a microwave oven in the room if you were indeed booked in a kitchenette room. Your description in regards to hotels location and being centrally located is very true and everyone loves the opportunity to be able to use the pink line trolley. Dukes is a favorite of visitors as well as local residents alike great food, great service and if you get to see the sunset it is absolutely breathtaking.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel real soon.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    462
    196
    50
    35
See reviews for
269
341
78
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Decide to stay here on a quick trip out to Waikiki. The Location of the hotel is very convenient to the beach, Kalakaua Ave and International Market place which are short walks, less than 10 minutes. The room we stayed in face diamond head with a balcony. The room itself was good and spacious enough for three adults. The front desk was very helpful, quick and friendly whenever we were up there and was on the ball, housekeeping was great too and very delightful even after I left my key in the room. All in all a great place to stay and great location, will be staying here again when I am back in Hawaii. Aloha.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Aloha Pilot814,

Mahalo for your great comments on TripAdvisor they were greatly appreciated by the staff at the front desk as well as our housekeeping staff as they strive to make sure the guests needs are met. Let us know when you plann on returning to the island and most of all to the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the convenience of this hotel location. Just a block from Waikiki Beach and close to shopping and entertainment. Our room was right next to the elevator and the noise from it kept us awake. Earplugs solved that problem. The room was small with an odd floor plan that did not lend itself to comfort or convenience and the bed was VERY hard. We had a hard time finding outlets to plug in our electronics. Our view was of a noisy alley so we were not inclined to spend any time on the tiny balcony. The staff was pleasant and accommodating and the room was clean. The entire hotel could use some updating. As part of a travel group, I am not aware of the individual cost for this room. All things being equal, this makes a good home base from which to see Honolulu and Waikiki. One additional benefit is free rides on the local trolley. Once we figured out where to catch the trolley, it proved to be a significant benefit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise T, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Aloha Sharileet,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor your comments are greatly appreciated. It helps us to improve our services by seeing what the guest needs are and doing our best to fulfill those needs. Mahalo for your kind words inregards to the staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot right in the heart of Waikiki. The famous beach is a few blocks away, as well as the International Market. All the restaurants and shopping one could want are right there. The lobby is slightly cramped but comfortable enough. Check-in was fast and pleasant. The concierge was a bit inexperienced but helpful. Parking was OK once one locates the entrance. The coffee shop service was a bit slow but served up one the best lattes I've ever had. We weren't fortunate enough to get a beach view but the 7th-floor view was nice anyway. The room was big enough, clean and well-serviced. Despite all the choices available, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend to my friends. The Aloha spirit is alive and well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Aloha Tom from Tucson,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review recently on TripAvisor. Glad your check in was fast and pleasant and you could feel our Aloha Spirit.

Yes we are centrally located right in Waikiki so you were near International Marketplace as well as 5 minutes away from the beach.

Send us an email when you decide to return and we will be more than happy to make your reservations for you.

Island Regards,

OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were with a tour group that stayed here for 5 nights. You may want to stay on the beach when in Waikiki, but let me tell you this hotel is in a great location as well. One block to the beach and I assume at a lower rate. We were on the 15th floor, partial view of the water, it was great. Our room did have a slightly different configuration than our friends. Our bathroom was around a corner as opposed to being directly off the bedroom. Ours was better. Only problem when we were there was the escalator was being serviced causing confusion as to where we were meeting, lobby or street? Denny's located just around the corner was convenient for breakfast. Restaurant located in the hotel was okay. Average hotel and would definitely stay here again. Hotels have free buses that take you around the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Aloha Patty,

Mahalo for your review on TripAdvisor...your comments are much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hearing you would stay with us again. We do apologize for the escalator needing to be serviced during your stay, unfortunately it took a little longer to be repaired than we expected. Once again thank you for staying with us.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Me and 2 friends just came back from our trip we stayed at Ohana East Hotel. It's on the perfect location! Just a block from Waikiki beach! Restaurants are beside it, one of the restaurants offers a cheap breakfast. The Employees are friendly and helpful. BUT the only downside is the walls are thin. On our first day while we were talking in a moderate voice somebody from the other room were banging the wall. So we were conscious every time we talk, we can not laugh out loud! Location wise? Yes I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Aloha Marivic,

Mahalo for your review on TripAdvisor letting us know that our employees were friendly and helpful, its always good to hear the employees continually share our Aloha Spirit on a daily basis.
Sorry you could not "laugh out loud" you were on vacation and should not have had to worry about anyone hearing you. Glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the location.

We hope to have you stay with us again real soon.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, CANADA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Ohana Waikiki East 3 times now....and each time have had a wonderful experience! The hotel is in a great location, right in Waikiki. It's just one block from the beach, close to the Food Pantry, various fast food restaurants, fine dining restaurants, International Marketplace and of course, the ABC stores!!! The lobby of the hotel is tastefully decorated in Hawaiian decor. Check in was very fast and easy. I arrived at the hotel several hours before the check in time and didn't have to wait and was given an amazing room right away! The hotel rooms are very clean, spotless and outfitted in Hawaiian decor as well. The rooms have large sliding glass doors which allow the Hawaiian sun to shine in your room and as well as a small lanai with chairs where you can enjoy a drink outside or feel the Hawaiian breeze. The air condition is quite powerful and most time I had only the lanai doors open. The rooms also come equipped with lots of towels, a small refrigerator, safe and various soaps and lotions. The room also has free local and long distance calls to Canada and mainland USA for the first 15 min as well as free wifi. The rooms were cleaned promptly every day by the amazing housekeeping staff. It was nice to see them every morning going room to room and have them greet you with a smile and "Aloha!". I didnt use the pool at the hotel as the beach is only one block away. Pool and beach towels are available at the front desk anytime. Besides the great location, the price or the decor of the hotel, perhaps the best thing about the Ohana Waikiki East is Guest Service Manager Pono and his front desk staff. Each time I ran into him, he would greet me by name. His front desk staff were always willing to help, very genuine and professional. You could tell that they love what they do! The name Ohana means family, and the staff at the Ohana East made you feel like you were one of their own. This is what keeps me coming back to the Ohana East. I will definitely return and am looking forward to being served by Pono and his staff again!! Aloha!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing city or partial ocean views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Aloha FRQTFLYR,

Your recent review on TripAdvisor was much appreciated and your kind words in regards to the entire staff are much appreciated, we will definitely share your review with them. Thank you also for your review on the hotel and all it has to offer which included all the amenities you described, Its always nice to be able to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the Hawaiian Breezes. Glad to hear that you plan on returning and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.