We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 15%
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family of four (2 adults and 2 small kids aged 5 and 9) stayed at the Hyatt Place July 8-15th. Upon arriving, we unloaded the taxi with 3 big luggages and 3 small ones, no one came to offer any help, which is fine , we managed. Check in was quick. Stayed on the 16th floor. Got the room we wanted, corner ocean view. Room was modern, spacious, clean. Beds and pillows were comfy, almost too soft at times. Free breakfast with limited options however, enough options for each of us to choose from, incl hot items which changes daily. Free wifi which was pretty good, not slow at all. Small gym but decent. The hotel was 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach, 5 minute walk. The Honolulu Zoo is also a short 7 minute walk. Elevators were extremely slow at times, you can end up waiting 5-10 mins for one. Pool was tiny, however, the kids liked it and only used once or twice. Mostly we went to the beach. Housekeeping was friendly and did a good job. On Fridays, they also had a free lei making in the lobby/gallery and my daughter and I absolutely loved it! Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for value and a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
AnneEdmonton- Mahalo for taking the time to recap your recent experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We enjoyed reading how much you and your daughter enjoyed the lei making class at the hotel... this is a great activity for both adults and kids staying with us. We regret if you did not receive any assistance with luggage upon arrival, and will be sure to follow up on this internally. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you and the family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    575
    152
    42
    18
See reviews for
449
458
68
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Firstly, I understand that when check in time says three that I shouldn't expect to check in any earlier - however I had repeatedly made myself known to reception and was waiting in the lobby with a small child so was surprised when finally, at three o'clock, the very unfriendly, Lynne, told me that since I was the last to check in for my room type which had been oversold she was going to downgrade me and give me the difference in money back. I'm sorry, last to check in? I'd been there since 9am! She didn't even ask! Of course I told Lynne that downgrading me would not do - I come from a city, I came to Hawaii to get an ocean view, not city view, which is what I had booked and paid for months ago. She was not friendly or helpful but appeared to downgrade the last poor people who had not checked in. The room was spacious and nice. Good view - worth arguing for. Pool is a disaster, no shade and in a total wind tunnel. Didn't even bother to venture to breakfast there. Housekeeping didn't vacuum once, sometimes didn't even appear until the late afternoon. Usually did a poor job, no clean glasses etc. Waiting on the lifts was a complete joke, sometimes it'd be 15 minutes! Who's got that kinda time? Waiting for a drink at the bar in the lobby was just as bad - doesn't matter if you want a wine or a cup of tea, they'll pretend not to see you but are the thirstiest on the island for a tip. The hotel is really quite a walk from the main strip. Wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Annas2561778- We regret that your recent stay left such a negative opinion of our accommodations and service efforts. While we were happy to hear that you did enjoy our spacious guest room, we see there were many things that prevented you from having a positive experience with us. Rest assured, this is not the level of service that our loyal guests have come to expect from our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the long wait you experienced at check in and any inconvenience you experienced. We hope you will be so kind to give us another try so we can show you the level of service and hospitality we have built our strong reputation on for the last three years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The week in July 2014 that I arrived for business, all of the major hotels were either fully booked or very high priced. This was the first Hyatt Place that I have visited. I booked a standard room and received a mountain view (14th floor) in the east tower. The room was clean with a king sized bed and adequately sized. It had a stand-up shower (no tub) which worked fine for me. The internet was good but the balcony was small. The breakfast was good but these is a feeding frenzy when it opens at 630 AM. Parking is a problem (hard to get to, small slots, and fills up) at this hotel. The location is less than two blocks from the beach where restaurants and shops are. This hotels supported a few tours and a sports convention - this can effect room in the lobby, hotel access (bus parking) and breakfast dining space.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Mason883- Mahalo for taking the time to acknowledge our comfortable accommodations and convenient location. We understand that our a.m. Kitchen Skillet is a popular feature for guests and our team does everything in their power to best manage the flow of food, guest traffic and turnover of tables. There are also in-room trays available for guests to transport their food back to their guest room. Guests are encouraged to take advantage of our valet service if the self-parking area is full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Level Contributor
223 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If the major resorts are booked up (or even if they are not), the Hyatt Place is a good hotel stay close to the beach but without many of the resort-type amenities. The lobby is very attractive and clean. The hallways are pleasant and smell fresh. The rooms are more than adequate with very large TVs, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and a luxurious shower. The room appears trendy and modern. The staff was always incredibly helpful and friendly. The gym is small and limited. The pool area is small. The complimentary breakfast was good but limited. I'd stay here again and recommend the hotel to others. The rooms were clean, but the shower could have used an extra scrubbing. Valet parking staff was very courteous, professional, and speedy. The hotel could have used an extra staff member or two for the valet service during the busy hours.

Room Tip: Higher floors eliminate street noise. I was initially on the second floor and could hear cars and tr...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent. I really liked the hotel's emphasis on environmentally-friendly practices. But I would have liked a slightly stronger water stream in the bathroom (faucet and shower).
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
dnpinva- Mahalo for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our on-site amenities, friendly service, and comfortable accommodations. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travel shoppers out there, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great hotel. I have a king size room with ocean view. Check in was quick, friendly staff, clean room. Good breakfast variety. The down site is the pool is too small, but who care since you probably will not use it anyway. The ocean is more fun. They provide you with the beach towell at the front desk. The hotel is about a few hundred feet from the beach, plenty activities in the area, plenty shooping place to go. Valet parking cost $30, very proffesional. The other down side is elevator a little slow. The hotel has a grocery store in the lobby area that open until 1 AM.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
deb-5584- Mahalo for the great feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our close proximity to the beach, professional service, and 24/7 Gallery Market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Hyatt Place with our two children, aged 6 and 8. We loved our huge room, with plenty of space for luggage, and for each person to have their own corner to rest or read. Very convenient to have the toilet separated from the sink, and nice partial view of the ocean from our ocean-view room on the 17th floor (another hotel blocked part of it).

The free breakfast is a godsend for hungry kids who don't want to wait for food. We liked that it started at 6:30 AM for our jet-lagged kids who were up at 5 AM. Maybe not all the food is to everyone's taste, but there are a lot of choices. My son really liked the miso soup and rice option, as well as the usual cereal, toast, and hot choices. Coffee was really good.

The pool is small and a little boring, but for little kids, it's the perfect size for a before-bed dip, and it seemed to be very popular with the under-10 set. The workout room is roomy - you don't feel like you're on top of other people like so many workout rooms in hotels. The laundry takes visa cards - no fiddling with a roll of coins to do laundry!

Housekeeping was efficient and good. Front desk staff was very helpful giving out bus directions, beach towels, and ordering cabs. Free apples in the lobby, and kids get free sand toys. Fun lei-making on Friday afternoons. A quick two-block walk to a beach with a breaker, so little kids can play without fear of getting knocked over by big waves.

Use Charlie's taxi service to and from the airport - very efficient. If you book ahead and let them know when you're landing, they'll be waiting for you outside baggage claim.

Green Features: You have the option of reusing towels. They have a power switch at the door you can switch off when you leave so all power stops being used.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
MariaTS48- We really enjoyed reading about your experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! Our hotel is perfect for those families traveling with younger kids, and the pool is especially a highlight for them to blow off steam after a long day of sightseeing. The spacious guest rooms are great too, nobody ever feels on top of one another. Potential guests will appreciate reading your remarks about the ease of our on-site laundry and fitness room facilities. We are glad that you took advantage of our transportation partnership with Charlie's Taxi service to get back and forth from the Honolulu airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Front desk staffs are patient, but very inefficient. Valet parking folks are professional. On the other hand, elevator wait is 10-15 min long. Breakfast is free and interesting. Overall experience is just fine.

Room Tip: book online instead of talking to clueless hotel reservation people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
wwtraveler2010- We have never heard a guest report that our gallery hosts are inefficient, and can assure you this is not our standard. Allow us to apologize if the elevator wait times caused any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#20 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#13 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#18 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.