We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's a nice hotel, very close to everything, walking distance to the International Market. The only negative thing is during breakfast it was like a zoo. Too many people in the breakfast lounge area. But, overall not bad. There is a laundry room which is very convenient to have. And there are trolleys a few steps away from the hotel that takes you to the Ala Moana mall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    465
    113
    33
    10
See reviews for
331
355
52
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I would stay again if the price was right (sub $250 per night). The clean, pretty recently remodeled rooms are what makes this place worthwhile. I actually think the location is pretty good as well, but may be too far away for some people's needs.

The elevators are way too slow in the tower closest to the front desk. Try to stay in the other one. You could do a lot worse in Honolulu at this price. Just don't expect a resort, because that it is not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Easy walk to the beach. Plenty to do. Lots is shopping options with in walking distance. Rooms were good. Lobby is open air, and very nice. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. Was a little pricey, but everything in Hawaii is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We normally stay at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach, but decided to try the Hyatt Place as it was cheaper. We also picked it for its free breakfast and free wi-fi. The holel is located 2 blocks away from Waikiki Beach, but we did manage to get an peek-a-boo ocean view. The rooms are small, but cozy. The balcony is very small and not very usable. The a/c didn't cool the room as it couldn't keep up with the sun from the southern exposure. The employees were nice and the food at the free breakfast was fresh and plentiful. The hotel only has 6 self-parking spots which fill up by noon, so we were forced to pay extra to use valet parking. After bringing this to the attention of the manager, the manager only charged us the self-parking cost. (I have Diamond status with Hyatt, so I don't know if the manager would have been as accomodating without this.) If you don't have a car and don't mind not being right on the beach, the Hyatt Place is an nice hotel. But if you have a car and want a clear view of the ocean and Waikiki Beach, I recommend the Hyatt Regency Waikiki instead. I will return to the Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach on my next stay to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel's evironmentally friendly practices are good and non-obtrusive.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Aloha Paul_Quick,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We understand that our hotel is not fit for everyone, but we truly appreciate you giving us a chance! Despite the trouble you had with the parking situation, it seems you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet, free WiFi and friendly aloha spirit. We wish you safe travels!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, TX
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

At $329 per night out family of 5 was able to stay in a single room.

The hotel functioned very well for our needs. It is not a resort. It is a city hotel. There is a small pool. The beach is a 2 block walk. There are good restaurants near by though we typically ventured farther out for meals.

It was very clean. Rooms were up to date and nice. Elevators were slow. Valet service was excellent. The public spaces are minimal.

There is a nice outdoor dining area for morning breakfast and the food is excellent. But it is crowded and it was a bit of a pain to get a table.

There is a nice little convenience store attached with food, drinks, beach items etc.

I will mention without judgment that this hotel caters to Asian travelers and I believe well over half of the guests were from Japan. I noticed that there were special items at breakfast, Japanese speaking staff, and the store carried many items intended for Asian clients.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. We did our beach resort on Maui during this trip and certainly enjoyed it much more. But Hyatt Place Waikiki met our needs for a conveniently located reasonably priced base for our Oahu adventures.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Aloha austinmdpedi,
Mahalo for your review. It gives us great pleasure to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Thank you very kindly for recommending our hotel to fellow readers and travelers.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is my 3rd time visiting Honolulu. My previous stay was at the Hyatt Regency on Waikiki, which is about a 10 minutes walk from Hyatt Place. Hyatt Place attracted me for 2 main reasons -no resert fee with free WIFI throughout the hotel and free breakfast everyday! The front desk employees were nice and accomodating. I did have a housekeeping problem and once it was brought to their attention, it was fixed. I stayed for 6 nights and the hotel did their best to change the main attraction of food each day. If you don't want to eat breakfast at Hyatt Place, just take a coffee/tea to-go and there are other places to eat close by; I found the convenience of the breakfast a highlight so I didn't have to worry about food first thing in the morning but to enjoy my lunch and dinner out of the hotel. Tip - sit under the covered part of the breakfast area. They have an excellent map and very easy to follow. The pink trolley which takes you to Ala Moana Shopping Centre can be caught one block down ($2) and the public bus can be caught a few steps in front of the hotel ($2.50). There is an ABC store half a block from the hotel where you can buy water and alcohol to stock up the fridge in the hotel. Overall, I am pleased with the Hyatt Place and yes, we did get an amazing room on the 18th floor which was spacious and made our vacation comfortable. Mahalo!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Aloha Derek H,
Mahalo for sharing your detailed review with us and choosing us over the Hyatt Regency. We pride ourselves on our affordable rates, complimentary a.m. kitchen skillet and true aloha spirit! Glad you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable guestroom on the 18th floor. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind Waikiki (definitely not for me), I have to say that location was great. However, service was average. Some of the receptionists were nice, but others were quite arrogant. Room service were knocking at our door at 8.30 in the morning!! Definitely not happy about that as they were about to open the door and I was half naked. Breakfast was average, very busy and there were pigeons all over the breakfast area. Extremely annoying. But the size of the room was good and it was clean. However, the hotel looks dated and not worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha David P,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, however regret to learn about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Your comments about the gallery hosts and housekeeping is not indicative of the service we provide here, but will be addressed as to ensure that each team member is adhering to our Hyatt Place brand standards. Please be aware that we did completely renovate our hotel a little over a year ago, so all of our accommodations are up-to-date. If given another opportunity, we hope to welcome you back for a much improved experience.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.