We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 15%
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have just returned to New Zealand after spending nearly 3 weeks at this hotel. I left a shirt in my room after checking out and within 10 days my shirt was sent to me, by courier, at no cost.
This is what I call quality service . Will done Hyatt Place. I will return and will ensure I let other travellers know the quality of you business and service. Very happy customer. Martin Dobson

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinpeterdobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha Martinpeterdobson,
Mahalo for your review and welcome back home to New Zealand. It gives us incredible pleasure to read that you enjoyed our outstanding service efforts at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Glad to hear that your shirt was returned to you in a very timely manner. We sincerely appreciate you recommending our hotel to fellow travelers, and look forward to your next return.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Two of us stayed here during peak tourist season, the month of August, when the hotel was FULL of adults and children. The hotel was chosen for its location and price.

We liked the location, at the edge of Waikiki, a block from the Honolulu zoo, a block from the beach, close to restaurants and shops, and convenient to public transportation,The Bus, and the trolley.

Compared to other hotels in the same category, one tier down from a luxurious resort, the price was reasonable, especially with a complimentary breakfast buffet that had a large selection of hot and cold foods, and free WiFi in the room.

All of the staff members, front desk reception, maintenance, valets, and housekeeping were very friendly, helpful, and approachable.

The room and its balcony were small, but acceptable.

Over night parking cost $28.

The air-conditioning unit turned off whenever the balcony door was opened. That was to prevent wasting electricity.

We would recommend this hotel to other travelers and would return.

Room Tip: Our room was located on floor 11 on the south (makai) side. It had a limited view of the ocean, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geaux-saints-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha geaux-saints-11,
Mahalo for your review. It gives us great pleasure to read that you truly appreciated our close proximity to the Honolulu Zoo, beach, and public transportation. Also, we are happy that you found our hotel to be a great value in Honolulu. We sincerely appreciate you recommending us to fellow travelers, and look forward to your next return!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Hyatt Place is centrally located in Wakiki. You can walk on Ala Moana Blvd to do all shoppings, and 1 block from Wakiki Beach. We were there for 7 nights fo a family get-together and had several rooms. No resort fee, unlike other hotels in the area. In room 838, the room was layout spacious, but the bathroom, tub/toilet area is rather small, hardly any space to step out. The sink is on the outside of the room. However, in room 840, the bathroom size is larger and a better layout. Rooms were modern, clean. Breakfast is complimentary with hot food; eggs, egg/turkey/cheese muffins, bacons, etc.. As well as cold cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, Starbuck coffee/Tazo tea. We saved both time and money for breakfast. Self- parking in hotel is nil- only 5 spots or you have to valet for $28/day. For $17/day or $80/week you can park across the street at Banyan hotel. One miss : only 2 elevators and during breakfast time, it's a extremely slow wait.
Overall, Hyatt Place is a great hotel to stay while in Wakiki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha njposh,
Mahalo for your review. We too agree that our hotel is very well situated in Waikiki. Glad you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast offerings. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for your next family get-together!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I loved my room, the view was amazing! The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly. The Hotel has the perfect location and the rates are very fair. They have great Pina Coladas pool side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
720 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,369 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I haven't been to Honolulu in a while. Many years ago. I do spend quite a bit of time on vacations on the other islands, especially Maui and Kauai but I never have been too fond of Honolulu. My wife and I were on our way to Bora Bora and decided to break up the trip a bit and overnight 2 nights in Honolulu.

We used some points we had (I'm a Platinum Hyatt) member and stayed here for 2 nights. The staff is very friendly. No complaints there. The rooms are nice enough. We got upgraded to a bigger room and they also allowed me to check out later at 2 PM due to my Platinum status which was nice as our flight to Tahiti didn't leave until later in the afternoon.

The location is good as you're literally 1.5 blocks down from the beach so it's super convenient. The hotel will give you beach towels to use. You just have to go down to the front desk to get them. They have umbrellas if it rains (it started raining on our last day as we were leaving to have our final lunch).

The rooms itself are comfortable. Nothing really to write home about for that price but beds were comfortable. The only probably we had in the room was that some of the rooms are in a small corridor next to one another and people get confused on the room # and so we'd get people mistaking for our room. Not a big deal during the day when we aren't there. Kind of a big deal when it's 3 AM and you hear someone at your door. LOL.

Our room came with free wi-fi which is nice in this day and age of every hotel charging for it. Also, the hotel came with a daily breakfast on the 3rd floor. However, it was VERY crowded and the food wasn't anything to write home about. In fact, after the first day, I got sick from something that I ate. I got a case of some Traveler's Diarrhea from something I ate there. So be careful here.

The most frustrating thing about this place is the hotel is SUPER SUPER SUPER slow. We'd sometimes wait as long as 10 minutes to get on the elevator. A few times we decided to walk and keep in mind we were on the 10th floor. I'm not sure what is going on with those elevators but they were always always super slow. I think they need to be looked at.

All in all this is a decent hotel in a really good location and friendly staff. Would I stay here again? Probably only if I was using frequent stay points. In fact, we fly back through Honolulu at the end of our Bora Bora trip for 1 night and although we have some points to stay here again we will pay to stay at the Sheraton.

But if you're not going to be in your room much, want to be in a great location and have points to use, this could be a good option.

FYI - a taxi from here to the airport was about $45 dollars. We took a taxi here and also one back to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Aloha saintba,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach on your way to Bora Bora. It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms, friendly staff, and close proximity to the beach. However, we are disappointed to learn if our a.m. Kitchen Skillet offerings were not to your liking, and if you became ill during your stay. We do hope you are feeling much better. Since this is a very busy time of the year for our hotel, our elevators tend to operate slower than normal in order to accommodate all our guests. Also, we regret if the amount of people on the 3rd floor patio caused any inconvenience, but it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and leave you with a much more memorable impression of our hotel!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location of this hotel was excellent. My family of 5, which included a senior and a small child, couldn't have been happier with the short walk to the sites of Waikiki. The beach is just a couple of blocks away, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants and shops, and the zoo is a short walk. It was also a convenient stop for tours, which we used for an amazing luau.

Two negatives: the street noise from my 3rd floor city view room was unbelievably loud, like the bed was in an intersection. Acoustic drapes may help. Also, the pigeons seem to run a muck in the breakfast area, comfortably grazing at the pile of used dishes (kinda gross).

Still, the room and lobby area was clean, comfortable, and attractive. The service was also good, especially Terrence at the front desk and the concierge. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropic0fCancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Aloha Tropic0fCancer,
Mahalo for your review. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We currently have a bird management process in place and regret to hear that they were still a nuisance during breakfast. Please be assured that we are looking into other methods of controlling the birds. . Your kind remarks will be shared with Terrence, and he too will be grateful to hear them. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is at the wrong end of Waikiki so you tend to be the last picked up and dropped off by most tours. You also have to walk far to most shops. The location can't be helped so just be aware of this.
The room was clean and tidy, the staff friendly.
The biggest disappointment was the breakfast. The area is way too small and crowded for getting food. The seating is mostly outside in the area which is very windy - the hotel should consider ways to protect this area from the wind. There are not enough seats and we had to almost fight for a seat. The breakfast food was poor - it seemed like the eggs were powdered, for fruit there was only a melon and pineapple fruit salad and the coffee was tasteless. To top it off, you have to dispose of your leftovers like you are at McDonalds. The only good part was being able to take your breakfast back to your room, but getting back to your room means the your food gets cold.
This leads me to the next issue: there are not enough lifts. We waited up to 4-5 mins for a lift at times.
We have stayed in way better hotels for much less. I would class this hotel as only 3 star.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Aloha Greg P,
Mahalo for your review. It disappoints us to read that our location and a.m. Kitchen Skillet was unsatisfactory. Please be aware that we are one of the only hotels in Honolulu that offers an extensive complimentary breakfast to our guests. We certainly appreciate your comments and will continue to tweak our breakfast offerings to ensure quality meets or exceeds guest expectations. Generally our guests tend to rave about our convenient location and complimentary breakfast, however, we regret if you did not feel the same way. Please be assured of our best efforts to regain your confidence in us, and hope to welcome you back for a much improved experience.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,197 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#6 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,919 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing