We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still hoping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Member Savings
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still hoping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Last year we stayed here for five days. I can't believed the room we stayed in was very small for family of four. We did not get upgraded for a bigger room because it was fully booked. Now this coming July 1, 2013 we are coming back and we booked our trip reservation to Expedia. Now, a week before we go, I decided to call just to make sure we have 2 Queen beds when we arrived for check in on July 1,2013. The customer service at front desk said that we only have the regular room assigned for us..and that 2 Queen beds are just aREQUEST not a GUARaANTEED . They informed us to call Expedia. I explained to the customer service of Expedia about the situation and they called the place. Customer Service spoke to Jane, Reservation Manager and said she will try to accommodate us with our request. I'm really hoping Jane will give us a better place to stay because we will be there for 1 week. We are giving this place a second chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha Arvt22,

Mahalo for your review and giving the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach a second chance! We hope you are able to secure your preferred guest room. Please note that we cannot guarantee certain guest room types to our guest, but will do our best to accommodate your request. We hope you enjoy your second stay with us!

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    519
    138
    38
    13
See reviews for
385
415
61
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
walnut creek, ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Okay, first let me say that I am a huge fan of Hyatts. I find Hyatt's customer service to always be top notch and the customer service at the Hyatt Place lived up to my expectations. I stay in them as often as I can. I saved up enough points to qualify for a free stay here so I figured why not. Here's why not:

This hotel seems to be an old Holiday Inn or something similar with a Hyatt sign slapped on the front. The rooms, while "updated" still feel more motel-ish than hotel-ish. The walls and windows are paper thin and the noise level in the room was pretty high. We could hear everyone in the hallways as well as street noise below. Granted, there were a ton of young people staying there when I was there. The AC and refrigerator made loud noises too. All of this prevented us from getting a good night's sleep, which is extremely important to me when travelling. I will say that the bed was very comfortable. I am also a platinum passport member and I did not receive any options to upgrade.

The free breakfast was awful. Cold "egg" sandwiches were gross. I guess if you just want cereal or something quick, it's a nice convenient option. Even my teenage boy who is always hungry passed on the breakfast after the first day. The coffee was good and they did have to go cups. The fruit was good also. The breakfast eating area by the pool was pretty dismal too. There was nothing nice about it at all. The pool itself was tiny and not somewhere I would want to lounge. The location, while only a couple of blocks away from the main strip and the beach, felt just a little seedy to me. Honestly, for about $100 more a night, you can stay at the Regency and be treated like royalty. Which is what we opted to do after two nights...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha islandfix,
Mahalo for your review. Allow us to apologize if your experience at our hotel did not exceed expectations. As evidenced by our many reviews, we do our best to provide our guests with exceptional stays and apologize that in your case, we missed the mark. Please accept our sincere regrets, and we look forward to another opportunity to provide you with a much improved experience.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

From the moment I parked my car in front of hotel to the moment I checked-out, all was amazing.
Arrived friday at 3:00pm and the driver from the valet service came and talked to me, asking me if I wanted the valet service, and offered me the self-parking service (USD 15,00/day vs. USD 28,00/day). Once I said self-parking was ok, the guy promptly gave a folder with a map explaining how to reach the garage (which is in the very same building of the hotel, but considering the traffic one has to drive around the block to reach).
After parked, I checked-in. It was soooooooo easy, fast and the guys were always smiling.
Got my ocean viwe room at 14th floor, with an amazing view. Wifi worked properly in every corner of my room.
Bed was comfortable, shower had a great water pressure. Toiletries were good. Towels were great, big and seemed to be new.
About breakfast: they had the very same options you will find in every Hyatt Place in US. Some pancakes, some breads, pastries, butter, cream-cheese, orange juice, yogurt... The only problem is that it is really windy there! How to make it better: there's a tray in everyroom. Take this tray down to breakfast area, pick up all the food and drinks you want, and move back to your room. If you have an ocean view room, it's even better up there than downstairs... And don't worry, it's not "forbidden" to do that... they even encourage guests for it...
The beach: about 100m from the hotel, you can find some white sand, calm, blue and warm sea. And they even offer you some beach towels (ask for them at the front desk).
Don't forget to stop by any ABC store (there's one just beside the hotel) to buy some food and drinks. At Hyatt they have some for guests to buy it, but it's much more expensive than outside.
For sure, recomended!

Room Tip: Stayed at 1415. Quite small, but GREATTTTTT view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha Diego40,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had an "amazing" experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It pleases us to read that you enjoyed our tray option to bring your complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet options back to your guest room. Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great place for a week! Enjoy the place and the service. Quality price 100%!
Not really like the deco in the room but it was overall ok.
Will come back again because bf really liked it : clean, quiet, nice location. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for a couple nights ... We got upgraded to a higher floor with a bigger room because ours wasn't ready! Good start! We had a sofa and coffe table so it was like a suite. Breakfast was pretty good and FREE! Hope you like the birds at the roof top dinning area though cause they liked us. I thought it was fun... So close and yet so reasonable for the neighborhood. Very nice swimming beach was nearby...protected by man made sea wall.. Nice park right there also near zoo, aquarium, diamond head!
Not too bad for just a tad bit over a Benjamin. But we got a deal of course:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha Jeniheifer,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to read that you were upgraded upon arrival! That is always a great perk. Also, we are glad you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and convenient location. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maroubra
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Its not the Hyatt Regency...but its ok... I am a Gold passport holder and got upgraded to a mountain view. Its well worth it anyway, its much more quite.it is at the DIAMOND HEAD end, which in my opinion is better. The rooms are small but nice. The pool is tiny and as mentioned next to where you eat breakfeast. It is free so dont expect too much. Its always windy by the pool so, not pleasant.The staff are wonderful
Hawaii needs a total renovation, starting from the airport, unless you are spending heaps on accomodation, everything is stuck in thd 70's.i have been here heaps of time, you either love it or hate it.

Room Tip: Higher floor, mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha maroubragirl,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to read that you were upgraded to a mountain view guest room upon arrival. Please be aware that we do offer an in-room tray option to bring your breakfast items back to your guest room if the wind is too much of an inconvenience. It would be a pleasure to be of service to you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, super clean, huge rooms and wanderful decoration. Very close to waikiki beach, fast foods, Excelent breakfast.definitely the best option near tourist areas, shops and tours well accessible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.