We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay at Hyatt Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Campbelltown, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Recent stay at Hyatt Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just returned from 3 days in Hawaii, as the tail end of an 18 night cruise from Sydney.

The Hotel is well placed (about 2 streets from the actual beach) and well serviced by bus and trolley stops. The rooms themselves are excellent, well at the high end of the scale. The bed was comfortable and king size.

Their is no mini bar (not needed by us) and the shower was good (even if missing the bits to stop the water leaking out of the door !) There is a pool on the 3rd floor, that also serves as the breakfast area. Wifi is free and available throughout the building (letting us catch up after 18 days at sea).

However....

The staff seem very unhappy and completely non customer interactive. We had very little conversation that was not related directly to work.

The Bar / food area took 20 minutes to provide a basic burger (that seemed to be made on 2 week old bread) and followed the first meal by 10 minutes....

Breakfast had to be shared with pidgeons, who seem to infest the dining area. You need to have breakfast with two poeple, one to fend them off while the other eats - if you can eat the dried up offerings. The daily waffles and other bread based options were in-edible. The fruit was nearly all pineapple (you had to be up early to find the few pieces of watermelon or other items). Coffee was the best option.

Apart from eating and drinking, this hotel is a very pleasant stay (lol).

Room Tip: Make sure you have get an Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Aloha Gary Y,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our conveniently located hotel and well-equipped guest rooms. It disappoints us to read that our service failed to exceed expectations during your stay. As humbling as it is to receive this criticism, your critique will serve our team well, as we do continually look to find opportunities to improve our levels of service and attention to detail. We would like to reassure you that, while your stay certainly did not meet the highest level of service, your experience is a rare one – one that we hope you will allow us to improve upon, provided you choose to give us another chance in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    443
    108
    31
    10
See reviews for
317
342
50
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

There are many possitive things: nice, clean and spacy room, comfortable bed, nice balcony, friendly and helpful staff, good location. But as this is Hyatt there should not be negatives like very poor and boring breakfast (always same, not tasty at all, no vegetable, ham, eggs), not very representative outside breakfast zone with annying doves eating from your plate and even more annoying wind :-(, no proper swimming pool, no shower just bath with plastic curtain in our room. Overall feeling: not too bad, but based on our previous Hyatt experience I expected much more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Aloha lumatka,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that our pristine and spacious guest rooms exceeded your expectations. It seems that our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet offerings were not to your liking, and for that we truly apologize. Also, we regret to learn if the birds and wind caused any inconvenience during your stay, but we are working with a professional company to assist us in managing the pigeons. If given another opportunity, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for a much improved stay.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We've just returned from our first trip to Hawaii where we stayed the first two nights on Oahu. With three kids in tow, and as fans of Hyatt properties, this location didn't let us down. The hotel is just a block from the beach, and the room overlooked Diamond Head, so it was a good spot. The staff was very kind upon checkin, even offering little welcome packages to our kids. The entire place was very clean. The room was ample size for a family of 5 or even 6. The breakfast each morning was great -- even the Miso soup (an oriental breakfast favorite) was enjoyed by my husband and son. We ventured out with our rental to drive the island and visit Pearl Harbor. Lots of great places to see on the island and lunch from Macky's Shrimp Truck in Haleiwa on the famed North Shore was the best! If ever we find ourself back in Waikiki, we'd be pleased to stay at this location, again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Aloha DeAnne M,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach was a great fit for you and your family vacation. Glad our kind staff, pristine accommodations and spacious guest rooms exceeded expectations during your stay with us. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Hyatt is beautifully kept and the best part it is in the center across the street from one of the best beaches in the world. You only have to walk a 100 feet and your toes are in the sand. The hotel has plenty to offer as far as amenities, great service staff and views of the strip, beaches, and mountains if you choose.
You can workout, swim, window shop or just order up that refreshing cocktail and sit and watch all the beautiful tourist and locals stroll by, all this with the water and sand and fresh air smell in front of you. Great setting, and location for shopping, surrounded by the of the islands best shops and restaurants....great place to spend a weekend, week or stop over, you will always enjoy this find grand lady.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hyatt Place is the place to stay when you are serious about seeing the rest of Hawaii. Located down the Diamond Head end of Waikiki, it is one block from the beach and close to bars, restaurants and public transport. The rooms are clean with modern furniture, comfy beds, large flat screeen tvs, they have a free buffet breakfast with good options to start the day and free wifi and computers to use in their lobbies. There is also an Expedia tour desk to book your daily excursions which is very helpful. This is not the place to stay on honeymoon or a luxury getaway, their pool is tiny - you will not use it. Hawaii is awesome, do not stay in your hotel room and do not spend all your time in Waikiki. This hotel is perfect for someone wanting a clean, nice room with free breakfast (which is hard to find in hawaii) to use as their home base as they travel around the beautiful island of Oahu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a really well done hotel. It is only a block off the beach and close to the action of down town Honolulu. The rooms are very well done and the public rooms are well maintained. It is not a full service hotel but it does have the service you need. You can get a drink at happy hour and light food through out the day. Free breakfast is always a bonus but it does get crowded and windy. The staff were very kind and helpful. This is a great bargin given the going rate for other hotels in the area. I enjoyed this more than our stay at Turtle Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel for our trip to Oahu. We received a complementary upgrade to a mountain view which was really sweet. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is very clean, our housekeepers Leonida and Mirla did such an awesome job refreshing our rooms every day. The staff is always so helpful with our needs. The daily breakfast is also a good deal. The distance to Waikiki Beach is really great, and there are so many nearby restaurants and stores around.

Now this is just a heads-up to the travelers: this hotel only has valet parking. We rented a car throughout this trip and my husband and I both think that might have been a mistake. PARKING is the number one issue when visiting this place.

Luckily, heeding a fellow Tripadvisor's review and the hotel's valet staff, we ended up parking across the street at the Waikiki Banyan, which was $12/night. (Also available for $72/week, but we realized this after they increased the nightly rate to $15/night). So, it was really a crazy dilemma between $28valet at the hotel that we're staying at vs. $15 across the street, self-park. We spent $130 for parking alone. That was my only trouble with this hotel. If you are renting a car, be prepared to pay for this.

Waikiki beach is a beautiful beach, but coming from a tropical country, I think it is average. The number of homeless people along the stretch of the beach and the streets is what's disturbing.

But going back to the hotel, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.