We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, some issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #25 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
krat123
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, some issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived on 4/18 and will depart 4/25, so we are here now. Nice hotel, not too far from the beach. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Room is small, but I guess that is expected, real estate is precious here. My biggest complaint is the balcony, it is so small, you cannot turn your chair and face the ocean. Today I noticed every other floor has a larger balcony, I got the small. Wish this would have been explained at check in. My second complaint is the ocean view I paid extra for. Yes, there is an ocean view, but they do not tell you the view is partially blocked by the two hotels in front of you. Not my idea of a true ocean view I paid extra for. Breakfast is included which is nice. Would I recommend the Hyatt Place, yes, but I would argue the two negative points I listed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the large balcony and barter for a discount for ocean view since the view is par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha krat123,
Mahalo for your review. It disappoints us to learn if the ocean view and balcony layout failed to exceed expectations during your stay. If given another opportunity, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again for a much improved experience.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    365
    84
    23
    10
See reviews for
263
277
41
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had booked a basic room so view was towards the mountain.Room was small but we had everything we needed.Hotel was located about 200 meters from the beach. Breakfast was included and there was enough to choose from.It was very crouwded at breakfast time.There is a very small pool but we never used it.Hotel is very well located , clean and friendly staff.Personnaly i would not pay for a room with a view because the hotel is located between other high rise buildings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for fifteen nights. Our first room was very big but on the road side, which was very noisy, we asked to be moved to face the beach and with the wall on the road side it was a lot quieter. The staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good with a variety to suit varied tastes, the pigeons thought so as well, so don't leave your breakfast unattended.lol. There is a tray in your room so you can get your breakfast and take it back to your room and eat. Location is exellent, a block from the beach, trolley stop on one corner and bus stop on the other, if you book a tour chances are the pick up is from the Marriott which is across the road or the Aston Waikiki which is to the left on the next block. The only downside is the lifts are terribly slow and the firestairs are metal not concrete so people using the stairs can be quite noisy. Our second week was spring break so the kids running from floor to floor up and down the stairs was annoying.
Free wi fi was a bonus and taking my ipad was great and cheap way to stay in touch with home. The beds are soooooo comfortable.. We will defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha catchfab,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay with us for 15 nights! It pleases us to learn that you were able to change guest rooms during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
581 reviews 581 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
393 helpful votes 393 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent only one night at this hotel as I needed a place to stay in Waikiki during my recent visit. I picked the place because of price. My expectations were low, but I only needed a place to sleep for a few hours.
The lobby is nice and spacious. The staff was helpful at the front desk. The room was small and I wouldn't want to invite anyone to visit as there wasn't much space to socialize.
I didn't have a view of anything else other than the building next door.
The shower was nicely done. All the upgrades with Hyatt have made the property a nice place to stay.
My biggest surprise was when I went to check out the free breakfast. I had minimal expectations and was surprised when I saw the large buffet with a vast variety of choices.
Not a bad choice if you are okay with a small to moderate sized room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha EpicureanFunTraveler,
Mahalo for your review and thank you for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled to hear that our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet exceeded expectations during your stay. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this location for 5 days 4 nights. We got this hotel for a great price through priceline. First time we arrived, we were able to check in a little early but to our surprise the room we were given had a weird musty smell to it. I noticed a HUGE blood stain on the carpet next to the bathroom and we immediately went down to the front desk to request another room. I'm not sure WHY there was blood on the carpet but there was no way I was going to stay in a room that smelled and was tainted. The front desk apologized (and I knew she was embarrassed about this) and gave us a new room. Throughout our stay, I noticed small little bugs in the bathroom that were crawling around. My boyfriend said "it's probably the island life." I'm not sure if it really is normal or not, but for me it was unacceptable. Luckily, we were leaving in 2 days so I did not make a big deal out of it.

Daily breakfast was good. It is the same stuff over and over but hey it's FREE! They do change up the breakfast sandwiches everyday though.

Parking can be expensive, but we parked across the street for $12 a day which is a STEAL!

You can borrow free beach towels from the hotel so save some space and don't pack your own.

Location is the best thing about this hotel. Right next to Waikiki strip and you can have access to everything!

Staff is very friendly and helpful :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha NanNanSF,
Mahalo for your review. We wanted to take a moment and apologize again for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay. We take pride in all areas of service, especially cleanliness. We always receive high praise regarding the appearance and quality of our guest rooms and bedding materials. Also, we conduct preventative maintenance programs involving general cleaning by our housekeeping department to each and every guest room on a consistent basis. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This winter, I spent two weeks at this property. As a frequent Honolulu visitor, I have enjoyed many hotels there, but I would say this was my favorite. The staff is great. Very friendly and helpful. Being I was there for 14 days, many came to recognize me. Josephine, the housekeeper on my floor was a great plus to my visit. She tried to learn my schedule and clean while I was out. She was very friendly. I developed a fever one night and the next day, she made it a point of changing my linens.

Reading some of the reviews before I visited, I was concerned about the room size, but mine was great. Very spacious and well designed. The bathroom itself is just a shower and toilet and rather small, but there is a nice vanity outside that makes up for it. The bed and sofa were very comfortable and there is a good sized desk and workspace.

The breakfast was a great benefit. Very plentiful and the hot items seem to change frequently during my stay. The outdoor space was lovely, but just don't feed the birds.

The hotel also had a very comfortable lobby; a four station complimentary computer station; a gift shop; a tour desk; a well equipped gym; a smaller pool (why use when I could take a short walk to the beach!); a coin-operated laundry and a sundeck.

My favorite amenity was the lobby cafe. You could order food from their cafe menu 24/7 (sandwiches, soups, salads, deserts, etc), as well as a full size bar (never used). The staff there was great and I had some great meals.

The location of the hotel was strong. Very close to the beach and near the Zoo and Diamond Head. My balcony gave me a nice view of the latter.

The only downside I encountered was the elevator service. There were only two elevators in my 20+ floor tower. During breakfast or at peek times, you could wait a long time for the cars to come. Also, being that the housekeeping and maintenance staff are use these same two elevators, it created many traffic jams.

Other than that, I would highly recommend this location. In fact, I have already booked my room for my next trip to Honolulu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha NYCtravelboy,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It pleases us to learn that you were most impressed with our central location, personalized service, amenities, and guest room accommodations. We pride ourselves most on providing superior levels of intuitive service, and we are proud to learn that our team members were so successful in creating fond memories for you. Also, thank you for highly recommending our hotel to fellow travelers, and we are thrilled to hear that you've chosen us as your preferred hotel in Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had 4 nights here at the start of our trip. Staff were very helpful. Travelled with my husband and our 2 children, sharing a double room. Room size is good and we didn't feel too cramped. The hotel provided a fold out bed without having to be asked. Breakfast is very good, considering it is included in the price. Free Wifi everywhere is great. Fitness centre is also very good. Pool area is very small, but you are literally a 5 minute walk to the beach. I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel to anyone. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha dazzchris,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations during your stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow readers and travelers. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.