We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay. Great for Families.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Stay. Great for Families.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I did a lot of research for this trip trying to find a place for me and my husband, my college age daughter and my pre-teen nephew. I am also in the travel service industry. I've stayed in 5-6 different hotels during our recent Hawaii trips. This was the best!

We didn't want to get two rooms, wanted a decent view, wanted to be close to the beach and wanted separate beds for the kids. I researched on Trip Advisor, Yelp, etc., but ended up booking directly with the hotel for the best price which turned out to be with AAA. We got a Deluxe Ocean Queen. It had 2 queen beds and a full pull out sofa bed.

The rooms were newly renovated and nice. There was a small refrigerator for snacks, water and soda. Wireless Internet is free! No annoying resort fee either. Staff was super, super friendly.

Complimentary breakfast bar 6:30-9:30am daily. It consisted of breakfast sandwiches, waffles/pancakes, fresh fruit (usually a mix of pineapple and melon), yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, cottage cheese, granola, toast, bagels, orange juice, milk, apple juice, tomato juice, water, coffee and tea. Can get really busy depending on when you go. There is a wood tray in each room that some families brought down to take food back to their rooms.

There are free computers for use in the lobby. Printing is also free if you need to print out boarding passes or tickets purchased online.

Beach and pool towels down in a cabinet by the pool. No hassle, just grabbed as many as we needed.

Lobby is totally open, but you need a room key to get up to the rooms. Safes are in each room as well. Felt very secure.

Only downside is valet parking at $28/day. This is pretty normal for Waikiki though. The valet guys are super nice and earn their money. There is self parking diagonally across the street for $17-18, at the Banyan, but is very crowded and hard to park in. We ended up parking at the Hyatt. Like I said, this was the ONLY downside.

This is a great place for families, especially if you don't fit into the 2-queen hotel room model.

Room Tip: Our room was 1134. A Deluxe Ocean Queen, corner room facing the beach on Paoakalani. Some street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha NicMunoz,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad our hotel proved to be a great fit for your entire family. It pleases us to learn that our new amenities and spacious guest accommodations exceeded your expectations. Allow us to apologize if the cost of our valet parking caused any inconvenience during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    446
    108
    32
    10
See reviews for
319
343
51
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our three week Hawaii trip. We had pre-booked two nights for when we arrived in Hawaii. After an overnight flight it was great to be able to check in at 10am to refresh and have a short rest!

It's so close to everything you need in Honolulu - the rooms were fairly quiet (the quietest we experienced out of the 11 hotels we stayed at in Hawaii!!), the breakfast was terrific, loved the gym - this place is the whole package!

Our only complaint is that when we wanted to extend our stay because we were loving it so much, the price per night suddenly doubled. And it was out of our budget. We wished we'd just booked a longer period online before we arrived!

I have already recommended this hotel to my parents and my best friend for upcoming trips to Hawaii - and if I went to Honolulu again I would happily stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had booked at the Hyatt Regency, however got transferred to Hyatt Place for 2 nights due to over booking.

Couple of points to note (different to all the other positive feedback which I agree with):
- Rooms are nice and modern. We had our room on the 10th floor. Note that the rooms are a bit smaller, which prevented us from leaving our two suitcases open, however it isn't a major issue.
- At the 'end' of the Waikiki strip of shops and hotel. May be an issue if you're walking.
- 'Pink Trolley' stop about a block away.
- Bus stops right outside (on the main road).
- Nice size bed, however we found the pillows 'too' soft.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We loved this hotel, its location, the VERY good price, which made us love it even more! I totally agree with all that the travel agent review just below says : we were on the 14th floor and room was totally updated (i loved the big shower). We saved money here, that we were able to spend "eating out", and we also probably saved at least $25 / per day just from having the complimentary breakfast almost each morning. We would definitely stay here again... location, location, location ! Just a one block walk down to beach, and we didn't feel we were in the "concrete hotel jungle" .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha LK R,
Mahalo for your sharing your lovely review with us. We are happy to learn that you were able to save money while staying at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Also, we were pleased to hear that our prime location exceeded expectations. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Newer hotel, close to airport, close to many attractions, nice amenities. Friendly greeting, friendly helpful staff (at the front desk there is one girl originally from Orange County California, I forget her name, she was very very helpful and friendly), great service overall. Beach toys are given to children at check-in. There is a small pool onsite but you're there to go visit the beach which is only a short 5 minute walk to Kuhio Beach. The hotel provides beach towels and you may borrow, water wings, and water noodles for the kids. The hotel is close to "The Wall" an area on the beach where waves are blocked off so the water is shallow and clear, no higher than approximately 6ft. Great area for kids, bring food to feed the fish.
Free breakfast every morning, bring your wooden tray from your room to carry all the dishes. An assortment of danish, rolls, an egg muffin dish (changes daily), juices, teas, coffee, toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt, miso soup and rice. There is a 24/7 cafe in the lobby for sandwiches, pizza, desserts, but the cost is high. Happy hour at 5:00 p.m.
There are many restaurants within a 5 minute walk, Tikis (great taro biscuits), Wolfgang Puck Express, Subway, Coldstone and Starbucks and many many other restaurants down Kalakaua Avenue including Cheeseburger Paradise. Not to mention the ABC stores practically every 10ft. You can buy anything from ice cream to beach mats.
This is not a resort hotel, you will have to plan your own activities. Expedia agents are located in the lobby everyday to assist with tours and luaus. Do your homework, have an idea of what you're looking for and the cost before speaking to an agent. Many of the tour companies include transportation such as Discover Hawaii Tours. If you rent a car, you have the option of valet parking $28 per day or self parking across the street at $12 per day. Free Luaus on the beach across from Hyatt Regency on Kalakaua Avenue and at the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. There is a hop on/hop off double-decker bus that will take you around the city for a 1 day pass.The hotel staff has info.

Great view of Diamond Head and close to farmers markets and swap meets for unique souvenirs. Around the corner from the Honolulu Zoo and near-by the aquarium and golf course. Less than 60 minute drive to the Dole Plantation, Waimea Valley and the North Shore. Pearl Harbor is 20 minutes away. Only 10 minutes from the Ala Moana shopping center.
Great Place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha MeAnn_Irvine,
Mahalo for your review. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our wide selection of guest amenities and close location to the Honolulu Zoo, Aquarium, and other popular attractions in Waikiki Beach. We hope to become your hotel of choice when returning to Honolulu in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we got the rooms for a quite acceptable price
the problem, we were located close from the elevators and I heard the machinery (I'm quite sensitive to noises) all the time, a bit annoying.
but there were very good points. The 1st was the staff, very friendly and helpful! The swimming pool as well as the location.
The breakfast was good but don't expect the real Continental one. The choice was limited.
A very good point: we got a courtesy room after check-out for free to take a shower and change our clothes (just before taking our flight) and that's priceless! thanks to the staff for that!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha yanspace,
Mahalo for your review. We regret to learn if the noise from the elevators caused any major disruption during your recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of gracious service, and happy to learn that our entire team was so successful in achieving this with you. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunkletown, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am a travel agent and was in Waikiki to review hotels. SO glad I chose to stay at the Hyatt place. I found them superior to most of hotels in town including those with much higher ratings. Most of the hotels in Waikiki were built in the 60s and 70s...and they look tired and worn.The Hyatt Place Waikiki is fresh and newly remodeled. It is about 2 blocks walk to the beach. Rooms above the 12th floor on the ocean side do get ocean views. I stayed on the 17th floor city side and yes, there is a good deal of city noise. If you are sensitive then ask for a higher floor.

As one contributor mentioned, the Hyatt Place is more of a city hotel. It is NOT a resort with options like room service, a resort style pool for features like a kids club. Out of all the "resorts" in Waikiki there are only 7 that sit directly on the beach. Several of the larger resort style hotels, including the Hyatt Regency sit across the street from Waikiki and also offers a small roof style pool. Most travelers visit Waikiki for some time on the beach and to do sight seeing around the island of Oahu. For this purpose, the Hyatt Place is perfect.

Daily breakfast is free here and very good...an egg dish, waffles, french toast, fruit, yogurt, miso soup. Bring along the wooden tray from your room to ease with the buffet. You can also grab bread, peanut butter and jelly for sandwiches for later if you are so inclined. They even had a full selection of my favorite tazo teas. The hyatt place is right next to an ABC store. These are mini marts found all over Waikiki that offer quick food shopping, snacks, soda, water etc. The Hyatt place also has a snack/bar area right in their lobby for a fast meal/drink. You are also steps away from Tiki's (restaurant at the Aston Waikiki Beach with the BEST coconut shrimp I've even had!). There is a wolfgang puck,s fast serve, subway & cold stone Ice cream right there too.

The Hyatt Place also offers free WiFi in all their guest rooms. Many of the higher priced hotels charge about $15/day for guest room WiFi. The higher price came with connection problems that I never encountered at the Hyatt.

Most of all the STAFF at the Hyatt Place are AWESOME. They show genuine care and concern for the needs of their guests. My flight didn't leave for home until 8pm. when I asked how much it would be for a late check out they graciously extended me to a 3pm check out without any charge. (and they didn't know I was a travel agent!) If you ask for directions, they give you a map, offer suggestions on public transit and even restaurant options without being prompted. Even housekeeping will always stop and greet you with an aloha and a warm smile. I will definitely recommend the Hyatt Place to my clients.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you are bothered by city street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha Vacationkids,
Mahalo for your review. It gives us great pleasure to read that a travel agent, such as yourself, found us to be "superior" compared to most other neighboring hotels. We are thrilled you enjoyed our a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast offerings, tazo tea selection, awesome staff and convenient location in Waikiki Beach. Thank you so much for recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your clients. It would be a pleasure to become your hotel of choice when returning to Honolulu in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.