We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; More bang for your buck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #24 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location; More bang for your buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for our honeymoon in December. We stayed for a week and enjoyed every aspect of the trip.

The hotel staff was very friendly and we checked in quickly. Our room was spacious and exactly what we booked. We had an ocean view from our balcony. The hotel has recently been renovated and was very clean.

The hotel include a Kitchen Skillet which served complimentary breakfast on the pool deck every morning. After a week the menu started to repeat itself, but we did not mind because it was included in the price of the room and was very delicious. (BEST pineapple I have ever eaten!)

The location of the hotel was absolutely amazing. It was a 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. There are lots of restaurants in the area that have amazing food. Anything you can possibly need can be found in the ABC stores on every corner. I liked that the hotel was not directly on the beach because there were fewer guest hanging around the lobby and front of the hotel. Also very close to Diamond Head, Zoo, Aquarium, Shopping, and entertainment.

We utilized the in house travel assistance to book activities. I think they worked for Expedia. We were able to book a trip for a luau, Pearl Harbor, and get maps of area restaurants and bars. The hotel also gave free wifi.

Between the complimentary breakfast and wifi this hotel beat alot of others hands down. Most other area hotels charge for Wifi or breakfast is not included. When traveling that far you want to feel safe and have a clean place to rest your head. This definitely fits the bill!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha A W,
Mahalo for sharing your comprehensive review. We hope you had an unforgettable honeymoon in Honolulu. It gives us great pleasure to read that you appreciated our friendly staff, spacious guest room, complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet, and Expedia Tour Desk. We hope to welcome you back again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    360
    81
    23
    10
See reviews for
256
277
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Hyatt Place is a very pleasant Waikiki hotel to stay in that feels like a boutique property, although it is fairly large. Plan on extra time for checking in as it took me 20 minutes. I stayed there for business and found it to be very beautiful, trendy and hip in overall decor. The rooms were comfortable/spacious with WI-FI and large desk/bright with sunlight. The in-room decor followed the "island-modern" theme of the public spaces and I loved that there was no yucky bedspread (always take them off as generally hotels infrequently wash them). Bed was extremely comfy. Housekeeping was scrupulous and there was a mini fridge. Complimentary breakfast is served on the roof-top terrace - very nice but crowded so plan accordingly. While the property is not beachfront - Waikiki beach is less than 5 minute walk. I was pleasantly surprised that the room was very quiet in spite of its location. You are minutes walking distance to Kapiolani Park (great place where locals jog, picnic and enjoy concerts/fairs and the zoo) and Kapahulu Avenue where locals shop/dine. As a woman traveling alone for business, I was not too happy about my car parked across the street in another parking garage. While there is valet service, I had to go in and out of the hotel frequently so self-parked for efficiency sake. There is "competition" for parking later at night - so that was a bummer.... not a fan of walking through areas that are not well lit. I would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room that is high or any room that is high for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha Lee Y,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach while traveling on business. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, meticulous housekeeping staff, and hotel decor. We can't wait to welcome you back again in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

First I need to start off by saying that all previous trip advisors about this hotel. I had no surprises upon arrival. Our trip ended up consisting of three couples. We were expediently given our rooms and an explanation of hotel layout. All the Gallery Hosts were great. Special shout out to Angeline Nguyen. However we just loved Christopher K, the houseman. He was SUPER helpful in all our needs, from chicken wings to the best bang for your buck in transportation. Yes breakast had little variation each morning but it was good, area was clean and the staff were very helpful, even running the birds away. Happy hour is from 5:00 to 7:00 and is limited to the same $5 drink each night but again, the ABC store is next door so you can make the change to whatever you like. Did not use the concerierge for events as I booked in advance but they were on duty regularly. Lobby is clean and we did our evening countdown socializing there. Free fresh green apples are daily provided in lobby. Yes, on high wind days you can hear it howling through the hotel, once you know what's going on, no big deal. I had my room straightened up daily and received fresh towels. If you put the card on your bed the sheets will be changed, otherwise it will be every 3 days. So put the card on the bed. We stayed in rooms 910 and 816 which were nice views. Room 915 had an ocean view between two buildings, but it was an ocean view. Our stay has been great. We leave today and have to store luggage due to late flight. I will see how that turns out. I would definitely stay again. Oh and best of all. I left my camera at the computer, Christopher willingly started to check the hotel videos to see if they could help. Thankfully it was turned in. Thanks Hyatt Place and to the person that turned in my camera. All my trip was on the camera, it would have ruined my trip,

Room Tip: I like the Diamond head view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha Ta72712,
Mahalo for your review. We hope you and the two other couples had a memorable time in Waikiki Beach. Your praises will be shared with Chrisopher and Angeline, and they too will be grateful to hear them. Glad Christopher was able to locate and turn in your camera. What a relief! If your travels bring you back to Waikiki Beach again, we would be happy to serve you.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days and had a great time. The staff were all very good.Happy to help with everything. Two blocks from the beach. Wifi works great. We got a deluxe diamond mountain view, dont know how it could differ from a normal diamond view room. Breaky daily was good. Sadly no straight up bacon and eggs but lots of different egg bacon muffin type things. Fruit selection was a bit plain. Yoghurt was nice. Washing machines and dryers on the third floor next to the gym. Bar staff were very good. Computers and printing on the ground floor with easy access and multiple terminals to use. Beach towels available from front desk.

There must be a hospital close by as you could here ambulances go by very often. A bit loud but nothing to stop you staying here. Bus stop down the road is a great help.

When we come back we will stay here again.

Close to Tikis and Wolfgang Puck express which we visited a few times. They are great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha paulie316,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for eight nights. We are glad you enjoyed the Deluxe Mountain View guest room and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast items. It gives us great pleasure to read that you have selected us as your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First off there are no ocean view rooms, they are partial ocean view rooms from two blocks away. See picture and or map and compare with any hotel on the beach near Waikiki or across from Waikiki on Kalakaua Ave.

Free Wi-Fi is available and bring your computer because you will need it to get a programming guide for the TV but at a fee.

Get the Deluxe room, the standard they first gave us was so small you could not walk around the King sized bed if the luggage was on the floor.

Do not plan to stay too long in standard room, they closet space is limited and the dresser provides three drawers, period. No drawers in the night stands. No shelves or drawers near the sink.

The lanai is worthless. It is occupied by two chairs facing each other, a table, and the AC compressor. We removed the table to sit in the chair, but couldn’t turn the chair to face away from the building. Twelve days and we never used it again.

The pool is 30 feet long and maybe 20 feet wide. It is on the shady side of the building on the third floor. It seems the surrounding buildings create a wind tunnel and is always windy blowing hats, books, and towels into the pool. Total number in the pool was maybe ten during our entire stay.

The pool area is also where you eat you free breakfast; outdoors hopefully under an available umbrella, sharing the space with the pigeons. Entertainment for breakfast is to watch the newbies place their food on the table and walk away maybe for a cup of coffee. The pigeons swarm down in mass and leave just the clean plate when the visitor returns. They provide a tray to bring food to you room for when it rains.

The bar is on the side of an aisle use to access the two shops and the elevator. Nine stools and high table for a few more on the right side, this is not my favorite layout for drinks. We walked two blocks two beach and frequented very nice second floor bar with music overlooking Waikiki.

The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was good but it doesn’t change much. The exercise area has lots of treadmills and other aerobic machines, TV, and I pod hook ups. They even supply headphones. Good laundry 3 washers and dryers that take credit cards.

The best part was the people who work there. Helpful, courteous, promises were kept and promptly executed. On the way out I thanked them for there efficiency and help during the stay. I added I hope corporate is taking care of them.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view. If you stay for more than a day or two get the largest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha Wallyjoe,
Mahalo for your review. We would like to ask you to accept our sincere apologies for the disappoints you experienced during your recent stay. Our rooms are designed with the intent of maximizing use of space and most important…comfort. Should you ever decide to give us another opportunity in the future, I would suggest trying one of our Deluxe rooms. We feel that with the additional space and upgraded amenities, it would be a more suitable accommodation that you are seeking.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place tor 9 nights in a king room with ocean views, being club members I think the king bed is part of the arrangement and on check in we were allocated a room on the 12th floor. We arrived at 0900hrs and check in was smooth and did not seem to take too much time, we had requested an early check in when booking. .
The room was a nice room, the view from a very petite balcony was of the ocean thru several other high rise and it was nice too. The room was a good size, plenty of storage and a comfortable bed with good clean fresh linen. The bar fridge is empty, this is great as you can actually use it for your own things, there is a coffee maker and daily provisions for two coffees. The bathroom is good with the basin separated from the shower and toilet, although the water pressure from the shower head is dismal it is a very functional space.
The breakfast included in the room charge, what can I say that others haven't. ....take your room tray, collect your breakfast and go back to your room! We ate down there once, is was very windy and not an enjoyable experience and we got a good table. The food is one step up from a fast food breakfast, is is very simple and not of the Hyatt standard we have been use to. The space is too small for the amount of clients and is an uncomfortable experience. But once you get your breakfast back up to your room, it is pleasant enough and does the job.
The other amenities provided, wi-fi, computer terminals and laundry are all very good. The bar and cafe food offered were also good and all seemed to be enjoyed by all.
We found the location to be very good, a short walk to the beach, many restaurants close to hand and just out of the really ritzy bit that there are even some good finds. It is still a very busy area with loads of traffic and people.

Room Tip: Room: Best to go high with a view if you can and I suggest stays of under seven days, for longer I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha rsl31,
Mahalo for sharing your honest feedback with us. We are happy to learn how much you enjoyed your guest room and hotel amenities, but regret to learn if our breakfast area failed to exceed expectations. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our Executive Committee. If given another opportunity, we hope to welcome you back again and be your preferred hotel of choice near Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wife, two boys 15 and 11 and myself stayed for 6 nights. Staff was outstanding and welcoming. Rooms were clean and spacious, staff went beyond to make stay comfortable. My son broke his phone charger and a desk clerk lent him his own charger for the week...great breakfast..3 min walk to beach and clean towls everyday. Terrance, Annabelle and Christina went above and beyond..Mahalo from Buffalo, N.Y.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha Rich B,
Mahalo for your review. We hope you and your family had a memorable stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be outstanding! Your praises will be shared with Terrance, Annabelle and Christine. They too will be excited to hear your comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.