We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... But” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #26 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location... But”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Room is clean. Location is perfect. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is OK. The only downside is no complimentary parking, it's $28 per day.

Very modern and the staff are very welcoming. Love the aroma as soon as you exit the elevators. Walking distance to convenience store, coffee shops, Subway sandwiches, McDonalds and yogurt shops. Bus stop is walking distance, less than a block. Waikiki Beach is a 2-minute walk and Honolulu Zoo is one block away.

Will definitely stay here again, just have to look for parking on Paokalani / Ala Wai Blvd.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a high room. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    378
    91
    26
    10
See reviews for
278
293
43
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was looking for a nice hotel at a reasonable price in Waikiki and decided to give the Hyatt Place a try, and I'm glad I did.

The hotel has obviously recently undergone a remodel, with the public areas being very clean and modern in styling. Check-in went very quickly and my room preferences were honored resulting in a nice high floor room with an ocean/beach view.

One of the best things about this hotel, especially given the area, was its complementary breakfast each morning. The breakfast offering varied somewhat each day, with the hot offering typically being an egg sandwich of some type, usually on a English Muffin. The usual breakfast offerings of bagels, breads to make toast and cereals were also provided, along with juices and milk. Somewhat uniquely (perhaps not for Hawaii) they also offered rice and kimchi each morning. It was never difficult to find a seat, tables were bussed very quickly and in general it was a very pleasant experience.

The room itself was perhaps a bit cramped, but the beds were comfortable with good climate controls, a flat screen HDTV with HD channels and a refrigerator for cooling your own beverages and snacks. The bathroom was lovely, but the shower was severely lacking in water delivery and pressure (do "water saving" shower heads actually save water when it takes you three times as long to shower because it takes five minutes just to rinse the shampoo out of your hair?)

All in all, the hotel's location (two blocks from the beach, and one from one of Waikiki's ubiquitous ABC convenience stores, and about ten minutes' walk from the heart of the Kalakaua Avenue retail strip or the Honolulu Zoo), comfort and value make me confident that I'll return; why pay an extra $200 per night just to be on the beach?

My one piece of advice is to avoid the hotel's rather pricy ($28/day with in/out privileges) valet parking and self-park at the Waikiki Banyan hotel garage located diagonally across the street to the north for only $12/day with full in-out privileges.

Room Tip: The hotel is fairly blocked in by other hotels, so a high floor will give you a scenic view rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha AscentGuy,
Mahalo for your review. It is rewarding to hear how much you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast items. Also, we are glad you enjoyed your ocean view guest room, but regret it the water pressure in your shower did not exceed expectations. We will make sure to address this comment with our Maintenance team. It would be a pleasure to serve you again if your travels bring you back to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the perfect hotel to stay at in Waikiki. The location is excellent, with less than a 3 minute to walk to the beach yet just far enough from the busy hustle of Waikiki. The hotel is not too big and not too small. All the staff are friendly, attentive, and helpful. The room was spotless and comfortable. I can see how some may get bored with the daily breakfast, but it still beats having to pay the big bucks for a breakfast somewhere else that probably wouldn't be as good. As for the noise factor--I am very sensitive to noise, and I know it's difficult to avoid noise if you want to stay in bustling Waikiki. At this property, the everyday city noise was noticeable but not disruptive. At night it would quiet down, and the streets next to the hotel are much quieter than the main streets going through Waikiki. TA reviewers have also been commenting on the "wind tunnel" effect that occurs throughout the halls of the hotel and then passes under the door to the room. It's a simple fix to lay a towel down along the door and you will not hear the wind at all. It was a great place to come back to after a long day at the beach. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: This would be a property where I would pay the extra amount to upgrade to an ocean view room. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha oceangril,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to read how much you loved our excellent location in Waikiki Beach. It is always rewarding to hear how well our staff is perceived by our guests, and glad you were able to experience this firsthand. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We only stayed here one night but enjoyed it. The location is great...a block from Waikiki. The staff is warm and friendly...especially the front desk and valet guys--they sent us in the right direction every time! Rarely do we feel at home so quickly, but we did...and we only stayed one night. We arrived early, and they had our room all ready for us weary travelers. We found a good, relatively inexpensive place for dinner...you can walk to restaurants, shops, fast food, etc. Yes, the rooms are small but still very comfortable. We were on the top floor and had a nice view of the corner of Diamondhead...and the rooftops of other hotels/condos. For the price, we were impressed. The hot breakfast was appreciated...especially in such an expensive city like Honolulu. I told my teenagers to eat up because that was the only free meal we had in our 2-week stay!

I would highly recommend for a short stay. We moved to a larger hotel directly on the beach for the rest of our Honolulu stay, but we fondly remember the Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha PK6,
Mahalo for your review. We are so proud to read that our staff made you feel at home immediately. Glad you enjoyed the view of Diamond Head from your guest room. Thank you for recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast included, Comfortable beds, Small pool, Near zoo, Friendly staff

In walking distance of the main attractions located in the Waikiki downtown area

Very impressive breakfast including pancakes and great coffee


All in all a very good hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Recently stayed two nights at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach and was generally pleased with the experience. The hotel is a great option for those who want to save a few bucks on a room and don't mind not being right on the beach. The property is about two blocks from Waikiki beach and less than a half mile from the busy Waikiki shopping district.

The hotel offers free WiFi throughout the hotel and a great complimentary outdoor breakfast buffet in a beautiful outdoor setting. The pool is small as others have noted...not much larger than a backyard swimming pool to be honest. There is an exercise room that's accessible 24/7, though we didn't use it so no comment. Self-parking is available in a garage across the street for $12/day with in/out privileges (first come, first serve) or $28/day for valet.

The only reason for 4-stars instead of 5 was the view. We bought a standard city-view room and were on a low floor; our view was basically into the apartment building next door, and not a very nice one at that. Outdoor noise was also easily heard at night.

Overall, enjoyed the stay, would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and insist on at least a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha wroddick,
Mahalo for your review. It pleases us to read that you highly enjoyed our complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and a.m. Kitchen Skillet. We regret if your guest room view was not to your liking. Thank you for recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Honestly we did not spend too much time at the hotel, besides that the room was recently renovated and spacious, and the great complimentary breakfast there are really not too many activities available in the hotel. The property is conveniently located in Waikiki, beach is only (2) blocks. Would come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.