We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top notch hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This Hyatt exceeded all my expectations. It was our first trip to Honolulu and I couldn't have asked for a more welcoming hotel staff. Being Canadian and working in a hotel in Vancouver, I know a few things about great hospitality, but boy did the staff at the Hyatt blow me away. On top of that; the rooms were modern and spotless, the breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect. Great job!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Luke M,
Mahalo for your review. We are ecstatic to hear that our hotel exceeded all your expectations! Your lovely compliments will be shared with our entire team here at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. This is a true testament to the superior service our staff provides our guests. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    570
    151
    42
    18
See reviews for
442
454
68
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms are compact. That's not to say small. They are nice and adequate. We found them just right for our stay. Like the caption says, you won't spend much of your awake time in a hotel room when on Waikiki, so why spend extra? The staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Have searched and visited many Waikiki hotels for a family of 6 and based on bedroom configurations, I recommend this hotel for a family of 5 or 6 as the best value. Whereas other hotels will require two rooms, this hotel you can do with one room saving hundreds of dollars. More details on this is found on the Hawaii newsletter at prasadandassociates.com This hotel also has an incredible self serve breakfast featuring bowls of fresh pineapples and great coffee! It is only a 2 block walk from the beaches of Waikiki - just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha PrasadandAssociates,
Mahalo for your gracious comments and recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and close distance from Waikiki Beach. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed in hotel for 15 nights. Got room on 10th floor. Big LCD TV. Breakfast ok, didn't eat much. Birds at breakfast are problem, but they're problem everywhere in Waikiki.
Staff friendly and very helpful. Nice small fitness. Loved complimentary wifi in the rooms.
I would go back next time.

Room Tip: Ask for recently remodelled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location, amazingly thoughtful service, a wonderful room...well, just go there.
We stayed 4 nights in the Hyatt Place and absolutely loved it. The room had a nice ocean view (across the tops of a couple buildings, but still nice..), was spacious and well organized, and it was of course quite new.
The staff were helpful, courteous and very friendly. You felt as if being welcomed into their home.
I've been to Honolulu twice before, and this was my best hotel experience.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha west_meets_east_2004,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled you loved the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Our hotel personnel does a spectacular job at making each one of our guests feel at home during their stay. It gives us great pleasure to hear this was your best hotel experience in Honolulu.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have been to Honolulu twice this year. 1st time I stayed at the Hyatt Reg and the 2nd time I stayed at the Hyatt Place. Let me tell you, the front desk staff here are way better then at the Hyatt Reg. The rooms were more modern. Breakfast is included and so is the WIFI. Its a little walk from the beach. But still close and has a great view of Diamond Head. I will be back in March for sure. Great Job everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Ken M,
Mahalo for your review. Welcome back to Honolulu, and thank you for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled to hear how great our front desk treated you versus the other Hyatt property. Can't wait to welcome you back in March!
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor, but this Hyatt Place definitely exceeded our expectations. Great service, free WiFi, and a complimentary breakfast were just three of the highlights from our three-night stay. The hotel is located just two blocks from the beach, and our room was huge.

Some reviewers have complained about the breakfast area because it's outside and the food attracts birds, which is true. However, it wasn't a major problem and we were able to enjoy our breakfast. There was also plenty of room to eat during our stay, although I can imagine that space could be an issue during busy periods.

If you decide to self-park, you'll pay $12/day at a lot that's not associated with the hotel and located across the street. We did this the first two days and it worked fine. On the third day, the lot was full and we ended up using the hotel's valet service, which is $25/day. Ideally, the hotel would have it's own lot for self-parking, but it wasn't a big deal. When you're just two blocks from the beach, it's hard to complain about paying $25 to park.

Overall, we were surprised the Hyatt Place wasn't ranked even higher in TripAdvisor's list of Waikiki hotels. The room rate can be a little high, but it's certainly competitive with other hotels in the area. We didn't experience a single problem mentioned in some of the reviews, and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to self-park in the lot across the street to save a little money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha 56waldorf,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to learn that we exceeded expectations during your stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Our complimentary WiFi, a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast, and prime location makes us one of the best values in Waikiki Beach. We hope to top the TripAdvisor list of hotels in Waikiki Beach one day, and sincerely appreciate your nice compliments. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#13 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#18 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.