We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top notch hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This Hyatt exceeded all my expectations. It was our first trip to Honolulu and I couldn't have asked for a more welcoming hotel staff. Being Canadian and working in a hotel in Vancouver, I know a few things about great hospitality, but boy did the staff at the Hyatt blow me away. On top of that; the rooms were modern and spotless, the breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect. Great job!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Luke M,
Mahalo for your review. We are ecstatic to hear that our hotel exceeded all your expectations! Your lovely compliments will be shared with our entire team here at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. This is a true testament to the superior service our staff provides our guests. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    446
    108
    32
    10
See reviews for
319
343
51
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms are compact. That's not to say small. They are nice and adequate. We found them just right for our stay. Like the caption says, you won't spend much of your awake time in a hotel room when on Waikiki, so why spend extra? The staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Have searched and visited many Waikiki hotels for a family of 6 and based on bedroom configurations, I recommend this hotel for a family of 5 or 6 as the best value. Whereas other hotels will require two rooms, this hotel you can do with one room saving hundreds of dollars. More details on this is found on the Hawaii newsletter at prasadandassociates.com This hotel also has an incredible self serve breakfast featuring bowls of fresh pineapples and great coffee! It is only a 2 block walk from the beaches of Waikiki - just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha PrasadandAssociates,
Mahalo for your gracious comments and recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and close distance from Waikiki Beach. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent six weeks at this hotel in the summer. Location is excellent, just two small blocks back from the beach, barely a 5 minute walk to the beach and surf hire.

As this hotel is not on the sea front, the ocean view is somewhat limited but if this does not matter then you save a substantial amount of money compared to establishments in more prime locations.
There appears to be two parts to the hotel building and I don't know how much the rooms differ. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room which was quite spacious and very comfortable. The hotel had been recently renovated so it felt new and contemporary.

We only have one moan and that was the wifi in the room could be a bit unpredictable - seemed to work well in the corridors though!

It was the staff that made our stay very memorable. The staff servicing the rooms were incredibly attentive, our room was kept immaculate.
The kitchen staff were just so so lovely and friendly, you certainly started the day with aloha :D !

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Izzy31,
Mahalo for your review. We are very impressed to hear that you stayed six weeks with us! Allow us to apologize if the WiFi in your guest room was somewhat unpredictable, but this issue has since been resolved. Our friendly staff, affordable rates, and immaculate guest rooms makes us one of the best values in Honolulu. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed in hotel for 15 nights. Got room on 10th floor. Big LCD TV. Breakfast ok, didn't eat much. Birds at breakfast are problem, but they're problem everywhere in Waikiki.
Staff friendly and very helpful. Nice small fitness. Loved complimentary wifi in the rooms.
I would go back next time.

Room Tip: Ask for recently remodelled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location, amazingly thoughtful service, a wonderful room...well, just go there.
We stayed 4 nights in the Hyatt Place and absolutely loved it. The room had a nice ocean view (across the tops of a couple buildings, but still nice..), was spacious and well organized, and it was of course quite new.
The staff were helpful, courteous and very friendly. You felt as if being welcomed into their home.
I've been to Honolulu twice before, and this was my best hotel experience.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha west_meets_east_2004,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled you loved the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Our hotel personnel does a spectacular job at making each one of our guests feel at home during their stay. It gives us great pleasure to hear this was your best hotel experience in Honolulu.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have been to Honolulu twice this year. 1st time I stayed at the Hyatt Reg and the 2nd time I stayed at the Hyatt Place. Let me tell you, the front desk staff here are way better then at the Hyatt Reg. The rooms were more modern. Breakfast is included and so is the WIFI. Its a little walk from the beach. But still close and has a great view of Diamond Head. I will be back in March for sure. Great Job everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Ken M,
Mahalo for your review. Welcome back to Honolulu, and thank you for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled to hear how great our front desk treated you versus the other Hyatt property. Can't wait to welcome you back in March!
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.