We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for those on the go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #25 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel for those on the go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I would actually give this hotel at 3.5 out of 5 (but i'm limited to whole numbers). Overall, i thought this hotel was OK. The furniture and everything around the hotel appears to be fairly new (one of the staff persons said it just became the Hyatt Place in Dec 2011?). Bed was comfortable and pillows were to my liking - not too soft. This is my 2nd visit to Waikiki so the hubs and i didn't do a ton of touristy stuff. There is a bus stop right at the corner, so it was easy to get around town with our 4 day bus pass (Diamond Head and Hanuma Bay was super easy to get to). The beach was 2 blocks away and the main shopping area was at most a 10 minute walk. We were first placed in a mountain view room on the 8th floor which had a separate sitting area (2 loveseats), i had unpacked all of our toiletries etc. and found some "issues" with the bedding so i called to ask for someone to bring up new sheets. They offered to send someone to replace the sheets or just move us to a new room. It was already late at night and after 12 hours of traveling i didn't want to deal with someone in the room so i opted for another room, which he told me was a little smaller (because apparently the room i got was one of the bigger ones) but on a higher floor (i was initially on the 8th fl). So the hubs got the new key card and we got the highest floor facing the "mountain" on the 14th floor - the room was SO SO much smaller. It was missing the entire seating area. It wasn't a big deal but for those that are looking for space, make sure you ask about this at check-in or when you do any switching of rooms. Anyway, again, it was late and for us this was just a place to sleep. We were on a higher floor, less bus/street noise (and we are from NYC so generally street noise does not bother us). The balcony was really small - all the other lanais that we've experience in Hawaii are probably 2x that size at least. But there was not much to look at, and we didn't spend much time out on the balcony. The free breakfast was OK, nothing to rave about, edible but certainly wouldn't pay extra for it - the coffee was probably the best thing that was available. Happy hour (it was only one type of drink that is specially priced) was ok, again nothing to rave about other than it being fairly inexpensive for an alcoholic drink. The sink (in both rooms) were outside the toilet and shower area - and in there was only a shower stall, no tub. For the price we paid, we thought it was acceptable for the Waikiki area. I don't think i would return though - other than the new furniture, close to public transportation, and, for the most part, clean appearance of the hotel, there is not much else going for it.

Room Tip: Bus stop located at the corner - use googlemaps on your smartphone to get door to door directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha jyp0827,
Mahalo for your review. Yes, we did become Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach in December, 2011. We are now officially a year old! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your return to Waikiki Beach. It seems our accommodations failed to exceed expectations, and for that we truly apologize. We appreciate your honest feedback and hope you had a memorable experience in Waikiki.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    364
    82
    23
    10
See reviews for
260
277
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

we had a great time at hyatt place, it was in a great location at waikiki beach - away from the shops and bigger hotels. only two blocks from the beach and a reasonably included breakfast. A close walk to ono's hawiian family restaurant. Nice lobby and tourist desk information. Self parking is available fore 12 dollars a night across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We enjoyed staying here. We had stayed here a few years ago before the upgrade. The upgrade has made a phenomenal difference. The beds were extremely comfortable--they were heavenly to sleep on. The breakfast each morning was tasty and had considerable variety for a continental breakfast. The staff were very friendly and always eager to help. I appreciated the complimentary coffee I received from the front desk in the evening. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Karen K,
Mahalo for your excellent review of the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We are thrilled to hear you found our renovations a phenomenal difference from the old Ocean Resort Hotel. Our superior hospitality efforts combined with our comfortable amenities make us one of the best values in Honolulu. Can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on the way out of the USA. It's at the eastern end of Waikiki off the main drag. It feels new and there is wifi included as well as breakfast. We had a random room upgrade (not sure what to) but it was very spacious with a sitting area. The front staff are professional and there is help if you need. It kind of suits my disposition. I can manage myself and don't need constant attention or service. The bathroom or what serves as a bathroom is the only disappointment. It's functional but the sink is out over carpet which is odd...

It is a short walk to the main drag at the beach and we wandered up to and beyond the western and of the strip without much trouble at all.

The breakfast is a get in, get out affair and is geared for touring.

Overall good experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha spiderpig01,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our lovely accommodations, but apologize if the guest bathroom did not exceed expectations. It would be a pleasure to invite you back again if given the opportunity.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

good hotel nice and clean staff very helpful and professional room and bathrooms a little on the small side I'm a single guy so was ok but for family or lady's might struggle with small bathroom

free hot breakfast and wifi which was fast and reliable a good plus

only one street back from beach easy walk

bed super comfy small balcony with water views

good value for the money defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as a family of 4. Friendly, helpful staff provided quick check-in and valet services. Easy walk to Waikiki beach and kids enjoyed the lagoon section. Breakfast was good, and although busy, always had a good stock of items. Easy walk to the shops and restaurants of downtown Waikiki and a quick drive to Diamond Head. Room had a king bed and a pull-out for the kids. Good wi-if connection.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Travelling as a family of 5 it was difficult to find accom. The Hyatt Place was well priced, the rooms were in excellent condition. Location was ideal for a family. Close to most things or within walking distance. Zoo, Aquarium, International Market Place and most importantly Waikiki Beach.
The room was serviced to the highest of standards on a daily basis.
Breakfast was Free every day and part of the package and although not the most exciting of Breakfasts it was a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: Ocean View High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.