We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All was good, except the street noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“All was good, except the street noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Large, clean room with all you need. Seems the place was remodeled lately. All personel were very nice and helpfull. Breakfast good. We were on the 6th floor and the street noise was loud. It started about 6 am and got quieter at about midnight. We stayed for five days and as more people arrived the elevator wait got to be a bit long.

Room Tip: I don't know if there're quieter rooms, my wife resolved the noise problem with ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha Laddiez,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our large and recently remodeled guest rooms. Since Waikiki Beach is a densely populated area, street noise at times can be loud. It would be a pleasure to invite you back again for a much improved stay if given the opportunity.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    391
    95
    27
    10
See reviews for
286
301
46
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our first hotel on our Hawaii trip, my wife did the excellent job of searching and booking all the hotels, including this one.
After a super long flight from Montreal we finally arrived at Waikiki! The staff at the reception are super friendly, we got to our room in speedy time.
The room is clean, the bed is super comfy to crash a few hours in bed.
The hotel is kind of at the end of Waikiki, and a few blocks from the beach, that did not bother us at all, Waikiki beach is not that big, you can walk round-trip easily.
The hotel provided beach towel, that is a plus!!
We enjoy the included breakfast buffet , not ultra fancy but you can find decent juices, nicely roast coffee, hot meal, nothing negative to say here, we got there every day around 8h and there is always seats available, worse case you can bring the food in the provide tray in your room back to the room, I guess we were visiting in October the low season so we don't have to beat the crow.
Free wifi is also included in our price, that is nice, there are also PC desktop in the hall to if you did not bring your tablet or laptop you can always fall back to use them.
Considering the proximity to Waikiki beach and how pricey are the hotels, I think this hotel has a good quality/price ratio !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Although this hotel seems to have all the mod cons - great location, clean and modern rooms- free wifi with our rate and a reasonable ocean view, the rooms were very small for a family. We had a king size room with an ocean view but once the cot was in the room there was hardly any space to sit or relax except the balcony which is impossible with a 7 year old and a 17month old !Breakfast was chaos with a stampede on the buffet- the (breakfast room) was a small open space which doubled as the terrace for the pool, the wind was gusting every morning and we had to hold onto our napkins and cutlery, the pidgeons were ever present, stealing food off plates that were left on an unattended table. Staff were friendly but we would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: we were on the 12th floor with a good view of the ocean- although somewhat obstructed by other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Schatzi_12,
Mahalo for your review. Allow us to sincerely apologize for your disappointing stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We regret to learn if our guest room accommodations failed to exceed expectations, and if the pidgeons caused any inconvenience during your breakfast. Just so you are aware, we do offer our guests the choice to bring their breakfast indoors by providing a tray. We thank you for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, and hope you find accommodations that better suit your needs when you return to Honolulu.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week.
Breakfast was dull. Room was spacious, had everything we needed .. Customer service was nice. It was good to have it away from the crowds noises.. But overall very nice. The tourist guys were very handful.
The room were pricey but I didn't mind it. The view could be better from the balcony.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Hyatt Place is an average hotel in a nice location on the far side of the Waikiki strip. It's a clear step (or two) down from the area's well known standards (i.e. - the Haleukulani or Moana Surfrider) and located a bit far from the main action. It's within a few minutes of the beach and seems to target a college-age crowd. Guests staying here should not expect expect much more than a clean, quiet place to sleep.

First, the good things: the hotel is new, clean, reasonably well located, very reasonably priced and the staff is courteous and very friendly. Guests will find very little to fault in these areas. The location is a bit far from the main part of the tourist strip but that also means it's a bit more quiet (and it's still only a few minutes on foot to everything else).

If you're the kind of person who just wants a decent place to sleep - stop reading here because you'll be perfectly happy with this place. However, if you're someone who appreciates things a bit more on the high-end side and looks for attention to detail and luxury - there a few things you should be aware of:

Although the lobby has a nice, open-air feeling to it - the standard rooms are tiny and lacking any kind of ambiance or detail at all. The bathrooms (which lack a separate toilet area) are equally cramped and there's little more that can be said about them other than they are brown.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful but seem to be limited in number especially in the evening and the concierge desk is sporadically manned it seems.

The complimentary breakfast is a joke - some fruits and yogurt, the worst danish I've ever had and the only "main" was a greasy, egg-bacon-cheese sandwich. It was free (which is good since nobody would pay for this) but seating was limited and guests are semi-encouraged to take-away and eat in their rooms.

Overall, this hotel does not have the desire or try to be the next luxury hotel in Waikiki. The atmosphere is somewhat akin to a youth hostel and that feeling is complimented by the fact that the average guest appears to be around college age (likely because this is also one of the cheaper properties in the area). This is in no way a bad thing necessarily but prospective guests who prefer the attention to detail found at finer hotels should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha bmm727,
Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of our hotel. WIth the Hyatt Place concept we give our guests a great value without high end luxury pricing. Which attracts guest from all spectrum's looking for a wonderful location at a reasonable price. During your stay we did have a group of college students in house, which may have misrepresented our mix of business. It would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel is not directly located on Waikiki Beach. Be aware of that when you book a room with a view of the ocean. I personally do not think it has been worth the money.
Breakfast was included in the room price, however; I thought it to be a bit of a bore. Everyday, you could only pick your fruit existing of pineapple and melon. Not enough variety!
French toast and Belgian waffels didn't look remotely as the real French toast and waffels in Europe.
Housekeeping only provided bars of soap and not any kind of shower gel or body lotion. That was strange!! I enquired about that. The lady who cleaned the room said that I had to ask about that at the front desk.
There was also a tea facility in the room but when I asked the front desk about herbal tea instead of the breakfast tea which was present in the room they said the 'green' tea needed to be purchased and was not free. That really surprised me.
A tip: Do no use the bottled water in the room. The hotel will charge you 3,50 dollars per bottle. That's way overpriced!! You can buy a bottle of water in the shop in the hotel and that only costs 0,85 cents per bottle

Room Tip: the only rooms with a view of the ocean are the rooms whose views are in between two buildings. Thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Aloha ESME31,
Mahalo for your review. The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is only mere steps away from the beach, but regret to hear if our location failed to exceed expectations while you were a guest of ours. We apologize for the lack of shower gel and body lotion available in your guest room, but we will share your comments with our Executive Housekeeper. Sorry to learn that the price of green tea caused any added inconvenience, but we will address this as well. It would be a pleasure to invite you back and restore your confidence in us.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My Daughter and I spent 10 days in Hawaii at the end of September ,we were welcomed right from the moment we booked in ,Front desk Staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing was a trouble to them, we had a great room, spacious and quiet,the Housekeeping staff went out of their way to look after you,breakfast gre location was perfect to transport, beach and restaurants, our stay was great and be back again to stay, thanks for everything, Marilyn and Cindy (Australia)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Aloha 937Mazza1948,
Mahalo for your review. We hope you and your daughter had a memorable and enjoyable holiday trip to Waikiki Beach. It is a pleasure to hear that our hotel personnel made you feel welcome from the moment you arrived. It would be a pleasure to be your hotel of choice when you return to Honolulu.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.