We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad Hyatt got its hands on this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #24 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boulder
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Glad Hyatt got its hands on this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Really nice remodel job is now complete in the first tower. Second is to be finished soon, we were told. Our room had a shower with 8-foot sliding glass doors. Furnishings were very nice; Internet access was free. Got a great price through Hotwire and will recommend this to everyone. Location is excellent, just a block from the beach and towards our favorite end of Waikiki (towards Kapiolani Park). The free breakfast buffet offered many tasty options including excellent muffin/egg/sausage sandwiches that were prepared fresh throughout the morning. Nice small lanais.

Room Tip: Noise in Waikiki can always be an issue, but hotel registration staff can steer you to the quieter r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear HungryHikerBoulder,
Thank you for your most wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in providing you with an exceptional experience from our 8-foot sliding shower doors to our prime location to our unique lanais and our delicious food options at the Gallery Kitchen. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back if your travels bring you back to Waikiki.
Mahalo Nui,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    360
    82
    23
    10
See reviews for
257
277
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from Waikiki,stayed at Hyatt Place and have nothing but great things to say about it. Great location 2 blocks to the Honolulu Zoo and 1.5 block from Waikiki Beach. Clean,safe,newly remodeled. The complimentary breakfast is fabulous! Staff super friendly :) Accomadated 3 adults & 3 kids with no problem 2 queen beds and a pullout couch we all slept very comfortable. Aloha & Mahalo to the staff @ Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Suazol,
Mahalo for your excellent review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast as well as our exceptionally friendly staff. We will be sure to share your praises with our team. Thank you for becoming a new fan of the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach and we look forward to your return.
Mahalo Nui,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed there for three nights. We were upgraded to an ocean view suite fornour honeymoon. All the hotel employees were so friendly and helpful. The restaurants in the hotel were just okay, but since there were so many options right in Honolulu, it wasn't a big deal. The hotel is right on the beach in the center of it, tons of shopping, etc. It's in a pretty busy part of the city so if you don't mind that then you should be happy at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear krisquig,
Mahalo for choosing to stay at the new Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach property for your honeymoon. We do hope you had a very memorable and exciting honeymoon vacation. What a treat to be upgraded to the ocean view suite. It would be a pleasure to invite you back for an anniversary celebration in the future. Congratulations!
Mahalo Nui,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our honeymoon for 2 nights and were blown away by the customer service. Complimentary champagne, upgrade to FULL ocean view room and extremely helpful when it came to booking a hospitality suite the day we left. The hotel is in a great location, had a convenient shuttle that took us to airport and Pearl Harbor for much cheaper than a cab. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear libxnyer,
We hope you had a fabulous and unforgettable honeymoon at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. What a tremendous compliment to hear that you were blown away by our customer service efforts. Mahalo for recommending our hotel to fellow readers and travelers. We hope to be of service to you again if your travels bring you back to Waikiki.
Mahalo nui,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Got a room at this hotel from an on-line "you won't know what you're getting 'til you pay up front" site. The price was more than reasonable so I didn't expect much. But I'd have been happy even if I'd paid quite a bit more. It's not beachfront. A couple of blocks off the main drag in Waikiki. The benefit is peace and economy with proximity to the action. Lobby inviting, designed with a Zen-ish feel. There's an appealing "galley" with snacks and drinks, open 24 hours. Business center equipped with good computers and offers free printing. Staff attentive, genial, professional. Room big, clean and stylishly furnished and decorated. Exceptionally nice bathroom. Seemed newly renovated. Street view from second floor window, but who cares with such a lovely room in which to luxuriate. And the best part: the full-length mirror was elongating! It's hard not to fall in love with a room that makes you taller and thinner. Beware $25 valet parking. I was lucky. Valet area was full and the very nice attendant directed me across the street to a $10/day garage. Would recommend this option to all guests with rental cars. Had to leave early and missed the COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST. Would book here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Some rooms on higher floors probably get a glimpse of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Blutus,
Mahalo for your lovely feedback. You brought a smile to our faces when you said that you "would be back here again in a heartbeat". We are well over half way done renovating of all our guest rooms, public space, lobby and amenities. Sorry to hear that you missed our complimentary breakfast, but we hope you get another chance to try it if your travels bring you back to Waikiki!
Mahalo nui,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I captured a great deal via Hotwire and had received Hyatt Place. I was very pleased as the hotel is newly renovated and has that new fresh smell. The rooms are huge, love the complimentary breakfast, the 24 hour fitness center and everything in walking distance. The staff are also wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

As much as I'd like to keep the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach a secrect, it's too good not to write about. From the minute I arrived, I was greeted with the Aloha Spirit. The Bell person took my luggage, the valet took my car and when I got the front desk the Bell person had already told the Front Desk person who I was. Needless to say, the treatment was First Class. The hotel is renovated from a long standing hotel I'd even stayed at many years ago, however, you'd never know it after the full renovation Hyatt Place did. The facilities are airy, well done and modern. Unlike Hyatt Place properties on the mainland USA, this one is much bigger and much nicer.

The rooms are spacious, the gym very goof for a Waikiki Beach hotel and the location (on the east side of Waikiki near the Honolulu Zoo) is convenient if you drive. It is not right on the beach, but only one block away. It is not a full-service hotel (meaning multiple restaurants, bars, etc), but it does serve breakfast, has a bar and lighter fare selections. The pool is small, but who goes to Hawaii to swim in a pool when the beach is a 3 minute walk away?

Best of all, the service is very Hawaiian! I'd recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Flyintl,
Please do not keep our hotel a secret, please shout it from the top of Diamond Head! We are delighted to hear that you felt the Hawaiian Aloha Spirit from the moment you arrived. It is very flattering to hear that you found our guest service "First Class". We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of personalized and intuitive service and were pleased to learn that our team members were able to accomplish this with you. You are correct, we are the largest Hyatt Place hotel in the U.S so that is why you felt our accommodations were much larger. Thank you for recommending us to your friends, family and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.
Mahalo Nui,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach, the 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and oatmeal, and Asian specialties. New Gallery Menu, Fresh 24/7 with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads & more. Intimate Bakery Cafe serves Starbucks(R) specialty coffees & teas, premium beers, wines & cocktails. Signature cocktails include: Mai Tai, Pina Coloda or Mojito. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.