We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very gracious and accommodating bb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manoa Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Manoa Valley Inn to your Saves list
Manoa Valley Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2001 Vancouver Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Honolulu B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very gracious and accommodating bb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here the night before my wedding and the owner was very nice and inviting. We stayed at the guild suite room and it was gorgeous and clean. It was going to be perfect for prepping for my wedding. The owner also placed extra breakfast to accommodate my wedding party that arrived the next morning. The salt water pool is pretty awesome for a morning swim. This is a really old house so visitors should be prepared for that. The only drawbacks was the lack of AC but visitors usually don't know, Manoa valley is a cooler climate area. Nights were cool and quiet. Just a few areas in our room was lacking wifi. This BB offers a lot of flexibility and owners are really accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    43
    17
    20
    16
See reviews for
19
80
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived at the Manoa Valley Inn after a 10 hour flight from Atlanta 3 couples.
It is a typical B&B old and worn down initial meeting with owner was verry nice.
When we were showed our rooms only 1 had Airconditioning and the other 2 had fans
with ecxtension cords running on the floors, we were not impressed and the owner
said they could find us other accomodations. We discussed this with other couples and said
we would give it a chance. After coming back in the evening my wife tried to take a shower
and the water just dribbled out took her an hour to shower and the shower head kept dripping all night. We apprised the staff of the water problem the next morning and were told that the maintenace man would fix it. Comming back in the afternoon still a dribble of water and the fix
for the leaking shower head was to close the handle so tight that you could hardley open it.
I expressed my dissatisfaction to the owner and an hour later was told that all 3 couples
would have to leave. The owner did find us a great Hotel on the beach and everything worked out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Manoa Valley Inn is a great place to stay on Oahu. The owners Jenna and Mark really go out of their way to make you feel at home. They have spent much money upgrading the place and it shows.

It's comfortable, beautiful and inviting. Jenna and Mark are wonderful people and go out of their way to make one's stay a very memorable one. If you're looking for a special place to stay on Oahu, this is it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieques
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Host Mark Glen and his wife are doing a fabulous job of restoring the grand Manoa Valley Inn, a legendary landmark of old Honolulu. Mark’s dining recommendations were spot on, from the Tsenuke to Buzz's to Bigger Burgers. The beautiful Guild Suite that we called home for four days epitomized Victorian grandeur and was perfectly comfortable and welcoming. Buffet breakfasts on the lanai, enfolded in tropical greenery while enjoying distant views of city skyscrapers, was a tranquil way to start each day. Having spent many, many vacations in Waikiki hotels, the Manoa Valley Inn is the only place we’ll stay during future visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is a lovely return to a graceful era and the hosts have to be the hardest working people in the business....and fun as well. More importantly, it is set in Manoa Valley, close to the U of Hawaii and one of the seasonably coolest spots in Honolulu. There is a reason the Alii stayed in Manoa!

We started in the small detached unit and, through the graciousness of the hosts, moved to the main building. The detached unit, set amidst an explosion of flowers and gardens, is still a bit impacted by an adjoining apartment as far as sound. Not so the main house.

The hosts were extremely helpful. They even went so far as to recommend an acupuncturist when my wife had some back issues. They were careful to schedule work on the home (they are fixing up after a recent purchase) to times when we were gone or not napping.

There is a lovely pool and spectacular breakfasts. In all, I wouild certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the main building. The cottage is charming, but the nearby neighbors are not so charming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place is full of aloha. We have been coming to the Manoa Valley Inn for years, and we look forward to and cherish our time there. It's a real retreat from urban life, even though it's close to everything. The garden/pool is a sanctuary--you are surrounded by greenery and flowers and there's even a day bed to relax in. Breakfast is reliably great -- plenty of fresh organic fruit, bread, cheese, cereal, eggs, and there's nearly always a special hot dish like a curry or rice. The eggs are from a local kid in Waimanolo and are fantastic. I love the coffee. Our room was spacious, clean, and full of light, and appointed with a fun and eclectic decor. Clean bathroom with fluffy towels, blissfully hot water in the shower. The other thing we love about this place is it attracts interesting guests; we've had many interesting conversations on the lanai in the morning. Mark and Jenna have great stories and treat us like family. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you want to experience a slice of local living. Being a former kama'aina, I wanted to show my partner a side of hawaii that wasn't all touristy, since this was his first time there.. Jena and Mark were awsome and made us feel so relaxed and welcome. The breakfast was great, with a variety of fruits, cereals, toast, and even udon soup ! The coffee was great as well ! I felt I was at home enjoying breakfast and great conversation. The salt water pool is beautiful, with a waterfall running through it. We enjoying our stay so much, we didn't want to leave! Parking is available, which is a plus and you are right by UH, Manoa Valley and the amenities of "town". This is the best place to stay in Honolulu!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoa Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoa Valley Inn

Address: 2001 Vancouver Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoa Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manoa Valley Inn is a Victorian Inn filled with European antiques with a bit of island flair. This Historic Country Inn is an Oahu landmark located in an exclusive area of Honolulu right by the University of Hawaii. The Manoa Valley Inn was built in 1912 and provides a luxurious and quiet experience away from the din of Waikiki for visitors and local residents alike. The Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The prestigious Country Inn is conveniently located within minutes of Waikiki and the downtown Honolulu business district, yet it is surrounded by the beauty, luxury, and serenity of Manoa Valley. Relax in the quiet of the peaceful and spacious veranda and soak up a bit of Hawaiian nostalgia from years gone by. Stay with us, it's a very special surprise. It is an intimate retreat that provides a unique alternative to resort living. The Manoa Valley Inn has six special, spacious rooms and a charming country cottage waiting for you. We are within walking distance to U.H. Manoa, bus lines, restaurants and theater. Relax in our tropical saltwater heated swimming pool with a soft flowing waterfall located in a secluded garden with many trees and flowers. Breakfast consists of island fresh fruits, yogurt, bread, muffins or bagels, cold cereal, coffee, tea & juice, as well as brown rice, oatmeal with plenty of assorted nuts and dried fruits, a variety of tofu dishes and stir fried vegetables .. eggs when served are from an organic farm run by a family member. We buy local products from local organic farms as much as possible.Our Inn has five permanent guests who are 4 friendly and playful dogs and 1 mysterious black cat! E Komo Mai... Come In, Join Us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Manoa Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoa Valley Hotel Honolulu
Manoa Valley Inn Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoa Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.