We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and quiet for being in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Bloomington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and quiet for being in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were very pleased w/this hotel. It's not too big, so you don't have as much hustle and bustle going on.

The Good -
- Close walking distance to beach.
- Towels and chairs provided for you to take to beach. Pool area has lush plantings making it feel more secluded....you kind of forget you're in the middle of town.
- Our room was plenty big enough for the two of us, had 2 queen beds, and we were surprised to see the little kitchenette, which also came stocked w/dishes, pots and pans!!
- Nice robes in the closet.
- Blonde concierge, she was VERY sweet and helpful. I'm sorry I don't remember her name.
- We had street view room but only heard sirens and large trucks, not bad at all
- Were always acknowledged when coming and going past front desk
- No noise from neighboring rooms or other floors
- beds and pillows good

The Not AS Good, but very minor -
- coffee in lobby. Go out door to the left a couple of blocks to The Coffee Bean
- A/C was a little loud for me, but I still slept.
- Thursday Manager's "meet/greet" was ok...veges and dip, chips, popcorn. There was pizza, but not even enough for all 20(if that) ppl there to have 1 of the 2" x 3" pieces they offered. Bamboozal drink was pineapple juice, Midori melon liquour and club soda, ok but a bit weak. I was a very nice gesture for management to have this get together, but I didn't see anyone from management "meeting and greeting." There were enough flowers for 4 ppl to make leis.

Overall, I feel this is a very nice hotel and would consider staying here again. I might try to stay on pool side to get a tad quieter, but really, the street side was not bad. We did not eat anything from their small food service area The Lovin' Oven.

Room Tip: Maybe try for pool side of hotel to ensure a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Aloha Axsomn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We are happy that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach along with some of our many complimentary amenities such as beach chairs and towels. We are also delighted that you benefited from the convenience of the kitchenette in your room.
We would like to thank you for your honest feedback about some improvements that could be made to make your stay more enjoyable. We have shared these with our management team for review and will look forward to improving our property and services.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    511
    162
    70
    40
See reviews for
282
632
114
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice location with free beach chairs/ towels. Best deal for rooms with full kitchens. Ocean view with three decks. Beds were pretty firm/uncomfortable, but overall a nice stay. Gift upon checkout, let us check in early, champagne waiting in room for us for anniversary! Had some issues with billing at first but sorted out before check in.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Aloha Voakes,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and some of our many complimentary amenities we offer such as beach equipment and your anniversary amenity!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stay at this place on business, because it's clean, neat, reasonably priced, and close enough to where I need to be without being in the heart of the tourist madness experience called Waikiki. If you want quiet away from that, it's good. And if you need to go have a drink and watch the sun set, you're five minutes easy walk from the waterfront.

Room Tip: Parking is problematic both in the Waikiki area and at the hotel. Plan accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha Hfulghum,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We are happy to hear that you enjoy staying at the Bamboo for you business trips and that you find it to be clean, a good value and you enjoy the convenient location to Waikiki Beach.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We really enjoy the Aqua Resorts Bamboo Waikiki - it's an oasis of peace n quiet in the midst of the urban jungle that is Waikiki. We live on Kauai and have been to the Bamboo 4 times now and the quality, comfort and reliability are excellent. Their wifi service has been an intermittent issue on a number of occasions but that's the only criticism we have. The lobby and pool areas are serene and smell divine. We've stayed in a variety of rooms from the big suite, to an average, to a studio...all are clean and comfortable. Price to fit any budget! You do have to battle w the Waikiki noise and the A/C gurgling along overnight when trying to sleep. Again, we live on Kauai where it's rural and we have no A/C so...it's an adjustment. It's in the heart of Waikiki so it's convenient. The staff are fun, accommodating and informative. Get your Urban Aloha on w Aqua Resorts Bamboo Waikiki!

Room Tip: Look online at their website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha KauaiHaoleGirl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We are thrilled to welcome you back for the fourth time and so happy to hear that you found the Bamboo to be comfortable, a good value & that our staff was accommodating and informative!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed a total of 9 nites 5 at the beginning and 4 at the end. An older style property and book a room overlooking the pool as these are quieter. 1st stay we had a full kitchen and 2nd stay a kitchenette both were good plenty of room and 2 or 3 balconys. Plenty of restaurants and grocery stores nearby and the beach a couple of blocks. The pool area and the outside area are lovely and the complimentary drinks and nibbles served Thursday evening a great idea for all guests to mingle and enjoy. The only issue was the air conditioning was noisy as it was an older style.
All the staff were fantastic couldnt do enough to make your stay enjoyable. We wernt looking for a 5 or 6 star property and this really suited out stay.

Pam and Norm
Brisbane.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha PamelaSwan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your two stays with us in your spacious rooms with kitchen facilities and our friendly staff. It is also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel to restaurants & Waikiki Beach and our weekly manager’s reception.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. There were cool beverages offered in the lobby. We had a kitchenette which is nice when traveling with children. There was a little grocery store close by which made shopping for food easy. On the downside, all kitchenette suites are located on the front of the building above a VERY noisy street. We were several floors up but we might as well been sleeping on the sidewalk. The cleanliness and range of kitchen supplies left something to be desired. The pool area was set up nicely and there were beach toys for borrowing. Because the pool area is shady, the water was really cold. Although there is a restaurant on site, we would not recommend it. Much better food can be found elsewhere around the same price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha Hacbe,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We truly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback.

We regret that you found your suite to be noisy and the cleanliness and supplies in your kitchen were less than satisfactory. Please know that the entire team at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is committed to taking the necessary steps to ensure that this experience is not repeated.

We are happy to hear that you did find our staff to be friendly, and you benefited from some of our many complimentary amenities such as refreshing beverages in the lobby and our central location in Waikiki.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki for your visit to Hawaii and hope to have the opportunity to host you again. We hope you had a wonderful time on our beautiful island and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

It was nice to be in Waikiki and we got a good price online for two rooms and a kitchen. Nice there was a two person and two single beds. The concierge was helpful and the location was easy - can walk to shops, food and the beach with no problem. Enjoyed the free lei making by the pool one evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Aloha LauraLazewski,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants and that you were able to join us for our lei making classes at our weekly Manager’s Reception.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with an on-site restaurant and lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, sauna, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.