We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Aqua Bamboo for 8 nights. I had read previous reviews that suggested we ask for a room at the back of the hotel, so we did. We stayed in room 1106 and had a view of the ocean from our bed. The kitchenette is very small, but for my husband and I it did the trick. The bed was comfortable and location hard to beat. It was a bit noisy in the mornings, but honestly, what do you expect when you are staying in a hotel that is right in the middle of Waikiki? If you want peace and tranquility, stay outside of town! The room wasn't decorated beautifully, but again, for the price you pay it's really quite nice. For what you pay, this really is a great hotel and I would definitely stay here again. I can't vouch for the other rooms, but I enjoy pampering myself and staying in nice places, and this hotel suited me just fine for the price point :)

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel looking onto the pool. The higher you go, the better views you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha Mrs_LCC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us again!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the ocean view from your bed and that you found the hotel to be a good value.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    531
    166
    74
    42
See reviews for
300
656
117
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The wife and I spent one week in December 2013. Upon arrival we were shown into a room that was very old and needed lots of repair. We were then given keys to another room which was little better...to make a long story short we viewed four rooms before one was acceptable. Owners have done nothing or very little to to replace outdated or worn out decor, including dishes, etc. A complete disappointment!! On a brighter side, the location is great, close to beach, food, entertainment. Staff were very pleasant and try to assist, but with little to offer from the owners. If the owners do not wish to invest in repair and upgrades then they should price this property no better than a 'dive' or Motel '6'. Pictures shown on the web certainly were not represenative of the rooms shown us. Aqua management should be embarrassed to represent a property in such disrepair...speaks volumes about the Aqua company.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha Fooledbypics,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. I can certainly understand and share your disapointment. Please know that we are taking steps to better maintain our facility. I have discussed your comments with our management team, and we are very sorry for our inability to achieve the Aqua experience. Please know that we will include your feedback as we plan for future improvements.

We take great pride in a job well done and accept responsibility when we fail. I would be grateful if you could contact me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com so that I may look further into the specific rooms and areas of your concern.

On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and truly hope that you were able to enjoy your time in beautiful Waikiki. We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This Is a Great Hotel I can't say anything bad about it,Bamboo have a great staff very friendly very good team work, Way To Go Aqua Bamboo Staff keep up the good work,This hotel is like 3 minutes away from the beach ,there is a bus stop right across the road,Me and my wife are here right now and also booked for next year.Bamboo also have a tiny restraunt by the pool and the pizza is to die for,free coffee in room,free internet in room and lobby,Also in the lobby they have 24 hours free coffee, ice tea and lemonade.I would strongly recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha Brian8,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and you and your wife enjoy the central location to bus stops and Waikiki. We are also pleased to hear that you are able to enjoy some of our complimentary amenities such as refreshing beverages in the lobby & wifi throughout the hotel.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again next year! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our studio kitchen unit was just fine for our trip. There is really nothing horrible about this hotel but there's nothing great about it either. Kitchen is stocked with equipment ; but much of it is old ,chipped and worn out. Cleaning staff does the most rudimentary amount of work needed. Dishes are not washed and kitchen is not cleaned. Tub is not cleaned. Our room was on the pool side and on a higher floor so noise was not a huge issue. It was nice having two balconies for a crossbreeze. Staff is friendly. No real restaurant or breakfast is served here. Parking is expensive too-even for Waikiki($25).Might or might not stay here again. Mahalo;)

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool side with two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha Butchcat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We appreciate your honest opinion of your experience at the Bamboo as it is a vital tool for our improvement and growth.
We regret that we were not able to provide the Aqua experience we are known for. I would be grateful if you could contact me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com so that I may look further into your reservation and the cleaning discrepancies you noted. We are however pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and hope that you will give us a second chance if you return to the islands.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I can't seem to understand all the terrible reviews! We just arrived home for a fantastic stay here. My only wish was that we had started our trip here from the get go. We originally arrived at the Doubletree hotel and after 4 days and a terrible stay moved over to the Aqua Bamboo as they were so accommodating for our big group. We had 25 of us in total (U16 Boys Rugby Tour)

The Staff was so incredibly helpful and friendly. We were able to feed all of our group between the in-room kitchens and poolside BBQ. The outside atmosphere was amazing and the location is so convenient.

I do agree that the windows could use some double paned glass but this is by far not the only hotel in this area that suffers from this problem. The nights are quite it is just in the mornings if you sleep in! LOL

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in groups especially if you are travelling with a team on a budget. Being able to cook poolside is invaluable and the staff is soo amazing!

Thanks you so much to the Aqua Bamboo and we look forward to staying here again really soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha Akkristof,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy to hear that we were able to turn your trip around. We are thrilled that the staff was helpful and friendly and you found the kitchens and poolside BBQ to be a benefit for your team. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the tropical pool area and the convenient location of the hotel.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

To all our friends at the Bamboo, you guys made our Bayside Rugby Tour epic. The facilities are perfect for a group or large family setting, customer service was AMAZING. .. Coming off a terrible experience at the Double tree the first couple of days of our stay you guys stepped up and made the rest of our trip awesome. Pool and bbq are the best in waikiki. Staff our great and the in house pizza lovin oven is fantastic.. can not give them more stars 5 is max to bad they deserve 10. The Bayside families and friends will be back

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha Larry K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to hear that the staff and customer service made your trip to Hawaii memorable. We are so happy that your team could find their home away from home at our little oasis in the big city.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We enjoyed our time here. It is a good location and an easy walk to Waikiki. The added bonus was that we could get twin beds for our kids. I feel that the staff tries really hard to accomodate your needs. We had problems with the air conditioning units in our room. Very finicky though we finally figured them out in the wee hours of the night and they are loud. The restaurant hours are not reliable. There was a notice in our room saying that they serve breakfast but they didn't and the front desk staff did not know what was happening with that. A little odd. We enjoyed going up to the twelfth floor and poking out the back towards Waikiki. The pool area was very pretty. Otherwise we were comfortable and felt safe. It was a good value for the money considering what you could be paying in this area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha Carolyn H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We regret to hear that you had some trouble with the AC unit in your room and the café hours. We apologize that we had not had the correct information for you at the time you needed it. We have since straightened this out and again, we apologize for any inconvenience. We are however happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool area and found the hotel to be comfortable and safe during your stay.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with an on-site restaurant and lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, sauna, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.