We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 days in Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Kambah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“6 days in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked the hotel as part of a special and found it to be very good value being close to the beach and shopping. The room was well proportioned and the bed very comfortable. The street noise was, unfortunately quite loud, possibly because the room faced out to a brick wall. The air conditioner, necessary at night, was also quite loud. The hotel supplied free beach chairs and towels. The free iced tea and lemonade in the lobby was very welcome after returning from the beach. The hotel's pool was clean and great to use. The hotel also has a washing machine and dryer available for guests on the 12th floor.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha KambahYan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value and you enjoyed the convenient location to Waikiki Beach & shopping. We are delighted that you were able to benefit from some of our complimentary amenities such as beach equipment and refreshing beverages in the lobby. We apologize that your room was noisy due the hustle and bustle in the city and your AC was too noisy. We would be more than happy to make sure you are accommodated in a quieter Courtyard View room for your next stay with us!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    497
    155
    70
    39
See reviews for
281
619
109
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Location was excellent, as was the outdoor pool area, was an area you felt you could get out off the city and relax in the evening. The hotel room was updated (with the exception of the curtains which actually on first glance could make it look older), and very comfortable with the exception of a louder air conditioner, but that did drown our any street noise :). I would stay again if back in the area, definitely value for your money when compared with other options in the area. However would not use the Lovin Oven - restaurant in back (not owned by hotel), ordering was confusing and service was not great - and the food was much overpriced for what you got..... We would likely have eaten often there in our 10 day stay, but after the first day we ordered there we said never again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view, it may also get you a bit of an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha Travela45,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are happy to hear that you were able to benefit from the central location of the hotel and that you enjoyed our private pool area. We are also happy that you were comfortable in your room and you found the hotel to be a good value. We do regret to hear that the AC was too noisy and that you didn’t have a good impression of the Lovin’ Oven. I welcome you to email me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com with any additional information about your experience there so that we may share your experience and feedback with them.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a charming hotel. Modern style and very clean. We stayed in room 1104 (one bedroom suite) and we loved it. We thought it was very spacious and had all the comforts of home. The kitchenette was the perfect size for making simple meals. There is a sitting area/living room just outside the bedroom with a futon, T.V. screen, small desk and a mini fridge/bar area. Bathroom had both a tub and walk-in shower. Air conditioning worked great. Quiet room too. Pool was lovely and relaxing. Ice cold drinks were available in the lobby during the day. An oasis from the busy city of Honolulu.

Room Tip: Honolulu is a busy city and can be loud. Keep the air conditioner on in the room to reduce outside n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha D1590B Slaurag,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your One Bedroom Suite with the convenient kitchenette. We are delighted that you enjoyed the relaxing pool area and you were able to enjoy some of our complimentary amenities such as refreshing beverages in the lobby!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales great britain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

just arrived home 13 october we had a lovely weeks holiday the only down side was the street noise.The hotel is conveniently situated for the beach and restaurants and the staff were helpfull and frend.There was water,lemonade,ice tea and coffee in the lobby,beach towels and beach chairs for our use.We had fab time

Room Tip: take ear plugs with you did not use restaurant or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha Gaynor J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our many complimentary amenities such as refreshing beverages in the lobby and beach equipment. We are also very pleased that our staff was helpful and friendly. We do apologize that the noise from the city was an inconvenience and would like to inform you that we do have wonderful rooms which overlook the tropical and serene pool area. We would be more than happy to ensure you book a courtyard view room for your next stay!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, great location and very nice rooms for the price . We will definitely stay at the Aqua Bamboo again. One word of caution, avoid the cafe, I think it is called the lovin oven. The food is not very good and the service is terrible. There are plenty of eating establishments close by so take a short walk to avoid the disappointment .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha Deancheryl1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that you found our staff to be friendly and you enjoyed the location and the rooms. We are however regretful that you didn’t enjoy your experience at the Lovin’ Oven. I would be very grateful if you could email me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com with more information about your experience as we would appreciate the opportunity to resolve any issues that may be there.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location, nice and central, easy to get to both ends of the main strip of Waikiki in walking distance.
Our room was on level 8 on the side it was nice & quiet, the AC was great at cooling the room, yes it's noisy but we didn't mind that at all.
Rooms we're serviced well everyday and i loved the complimentary iced tea, lemonade & lemon water everyday in the lobby.
Wifi was good, it would have been nice if we could have had it in room but it was a good excuse to laze by the pool to check in with home.
We loved our stay here and would come back again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha Sarah W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are so happy that you enjoyed our central location in Waikiki and that you were able to benefit from some of our many complimentary amenities such as wifi and refreshing beverages in the lobby. We regret to hear that you were not properly informed that we do now have wifi in the rooms. I certainly apologize for this error on our side and will address with our team.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

we arrived by shuttle and had 5 bags btn 2 people and not 1 of the 4 staff in the lobby helped us. once checked in we had to ask for our bags to be taken up to our room. Our room although functional was terrible. we were facing the front of the building and there was a bus stop below our room and the noise of the traffic was so loud we had to buy ear plugs in order to get some sleep in the time we were there. Our room was next to the employees tea room, so the door was banging all day and all night as well as being on the same level as the hotel laundry. Although we spent little time in the room as we were sightseeing it would have been nice to be able to sleep properly and have a sleep in as we were on holidays

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha Connie G,

Thank you for taking the time to outline the inconveniences that you endured. We are very sorry for this experience and are most disappointed to learn that your visit was tarnished. All things considered, we should have been able to meet your expectations with satisfactory accommodations and the level of service that you would expect from Aqua Hotels & Resorts and the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki.

I will personally bring your comments to the attention of our management team. Please know that we will address the details of your experience and retrain the appropriate team members.

On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and truly hope that you were able to enjoy your time in beautiful Waikiki. We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with an on-site restaurant and lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, sauna, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.