We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aqua Bamboo Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #23 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aqua Bamboo Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful. I also found the bed to be very comfortable too. Having a room with a kitchen made it convenient.

There was a lot of street and air conditioner noise however, which was at times annoying.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Aloha Russell_Stuart,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
It is wonderful to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the convenience of a kitchenette in your room. We would be very happy to assist you to book a quiet, Courtyard View room to ensure you get the most out of your next stay with us.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    616
    474
    148
    68
    38
See reviews for
269
599
107
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here on two separate nights - first, when we arrive in Honolulu on our way to the Big Island, and then again on our return before heading to the North Shore.

The lobby is quite nice. We had problems with the wifi which is only available in the lobby and was inaccessible for most of our stay. Out the back, the pool area looks lovely but we didn't use it.

We couldn't say much positive about the service. It was a bit like amateur hour and the staff seemed disinterested. I think that this hotel also acts as a serviced apartment facility so this might impact on how the staff behave maybe.

Our room the first night was in the Moderate room and it was really below par. Pretty crappy looking, extremely tiny and very underwhelming. We were disappointed after reading such great reviews. I've included a pic of the bathroom, which was quite rundown, as an example.

The second time we stayed we had a $15 upgrade and the room was SO much better! Heaps of space, room for a family really, with a separate kitchenette. The amenities were much nicer in that room and we had a much more comfortable stay.

I would recommend Aqua Bamboo for its affordability and centrality to Waikiki but don't stay in the cheapest room - pay a small amount extra and get an upgrade, it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Aloha HeavyPetal1,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations and for the inconveniences that you endured. We truly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback.
What we regret the most is that our staff was not a memorable part of your time with us. This is of the utmost importance to us and I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com with your name and dates of stay so that I may research further into your reservations. I am grateful that you brought this to our attention so that we have the opportunity to retrain our staff appropriately.
Please know that the entire team at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is committed to taking the necessary steps to ensure that this experience is not repeated.
Should future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we hope that you will give us another chance.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel was in a good location, was clean and had a lovely pool area with palm trees, flowers and a tiki hut among other things. They have a welcome party on Thursday nights with munchies, drinks and a entertainer. Everyday in the lobby they have iced lemon water and they also have either iced tea or lemonade. The rooms had full fridge and stove. It also had dishes, pots and pans, flatware and supplied dish soap and tea towel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can get the room with the Tiki hut on the balcony, it is great for entertaining. Had it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Aloha Greerzo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our tropical and private pool area along with our weekly manager’s reception, the Bamboozle. We are also delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed some of our many complimentary amenities such as refreshing beverages in the lobby.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Aqua Bamboo in February for 10 nights and were very satisfied with the service. Our room was upgraded upon arrival and the room we stayed in was very impressive, very clean and had a beautiful balcony space complete with a bamboo hut, large bbq and a dining setting. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and the location of the Aqua Bamboo was fantastic, only a short walk to attractions like the zoo and aquarium, shopping malls, markets, and restaurants. Would definately reccomend this place to anyone who was looking at staying in the heart of Honolulu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Aloha C_Chapman_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your upgrade to the Luxury One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette. We are also very happy to hear that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel to shops, restaurants and nearby attractions.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Aqua Bamboo in mid April 2013 and thought it was great. It's not as flashy as the bigger and newer hotels, but it is in a great centralized location for Honolulu activities. The decor is great, the rooms were super clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Aloha Bryan N,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are very happy to hear that you found the room to be clean and the staff to be friendly & helpful.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here mid-April 2013 by the recommendation of this website and Oahu Revealed travel guide book. We were not disappointed! Very clean, newer remodel and beautiful hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful in booking a last minute shuttle to Aloha Stadium. Also used SpeediShuttle recommended by Aqua Bamboo who were just as wonderful, even early to pick us up to/from airport. We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the inner courtyard/pool area. Quiet room and great views. Courtyard/pool area an oasis. Newspaper, water and lemonade/tea, apples in lobby. Coffee machine in lobby too, one cup instant brewer was just OK. Coffee place a couple doors down helped. Would DEFINITELY stay here again. Great hotel at an excellent price, cannot be beat in this price range! Even though we couldn't get late check out, we were able to use pool area bathroom to freshen up and change. Complimentary luggage storage and free in-room safe was a life-saver. A couple blocks to beach is perfect location for a short walk before laying in the sun all day! LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Higher floor and overlooking courtyard/pool area are quieter and a nice balcony view (as opposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha Sarah N,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are so thrilled that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and a great value! We are also pleased that you were able to enjoy our many complimentary amenities such as newspapers, refreshing beverages in the lobby! We are so happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful throughout your stay with us.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

As others have mentioned in their reviews, the hotel's decor is a bit dated and it lacks the restaurant and stores found inside some of the newer and bigger hotels. However, these are the only negatives about this hotel and they are very minor. Everything else about Aqua Bamboo is great. The pool area is beautiful. The rooms are a good size and feature kitchenettes, which is a great. The hotel itself is very close to the beach and plenty of restaurants and stores. The thing that made our stay so amazing, though, was the staff. Brandon, Michelle, and Nicole at the front desk were all wonderful. No question or request was met with anything but a smile and a helpful attitude. Chris at the concierge desk was also great and gave us a wonderful restaurant recommendation for Uncle Bo's. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha Rexy0705,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are so thrilled that you were able to enjoy the more intimate atmosphere of the Bamboo and that our staff was friendly and helpful throughout your stay with us! We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants along with the handy kitchenette in your room.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with an on-site restaurant and lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, sauna, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.