We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will definitely try to stay here again for the great location, friendly service, unique inner courtyard oasis and thoughtful c” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I will definitely try to stay here again for the great location, friendly service, unique inner courtyard oasis and thoughtful c”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

It was clean, loved the orchids on the many towels provided, comfortable beds, excellent rooms for 3to 4 people with a very clean and surprisingly full sized kitchen. The friendly lobby setup with complimentary iced lemon water or coffee/tea, a book exchange, enviro friendly recycling and awesome pool area had me wishing we had time to enjoy it! Parking is additional but assigned, underground & secure. Staff are #1 That makes it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha Marernst,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and location of the hotel along with the many complimentary amenities we offer such as refreshing beverages in the lobby. We are also glad to hear that you found our staff to be top notch.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    508
    156
    70
    40
See reviews for
281
628
112
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights and it was one of the best experiences. We got there a little early and everyone was very accommodating. Originally I felt like the room was priced very well and then when we got to our room I realized they had upgraded us and was even more pleased! We were on the top floor (room 1204 I believe) and the room was gigantic. We did not have a room with the ocean view but we had a very nice balcony with a very nice city view and it was even nicer at night. Location is great! Just a few blocks from the beach and tons of shops. The room was very quiet I could not hear any street noise and the beds were extremely comfortable. We had both a bathtub and a separate glass shower. Overall it was a great stay and I would highly recommend them, if we are ever back in the area I know I will stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha Adrienne A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room with views of the city lights at night. We are also pleased that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were looking for a smaller hotel with good service for a good price that wasn't a dive, which is exactly what we got. The room was clean and comfortable. It's an older place and the window unit AC is a little noisy, but we didn't spend inordinate amounts of time in our room. I do wish the sliding door had a screen on it as we probably would have slept with the AC off and window open if there had been a screen. The hot and cold water faucets in the shower seemed to operate backwards, but once we figured out which way to turn them, that was not a big deal. We had a mini fridge and kitchenette with dishes and a toaster that we used to do our own breakfast and keep left-overs. The location is very convenient and everything you might want is within walking distance.

We loved the pool area and spent a LOT of time there. As others have noted, the pool is not heated, but on a hot day that was not much of a problem. It's a little oasis in the city jungle and was generally very mellow. We never had an issue getting a place to sit.

If you are looking for something fancy, this may not be the place for you and you might be happier to spend the extra $$ to go to one of the mega hotels on the beach. If you want a nice place with friendly staff for a decent price and can deal with minor imperfections, this was a great place and we'd gladly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha LydaKay,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are so pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and a good value! We are also thrilled that you enjoyed our secluded pool area and you found our staff to be friendly. We do apologize for the issues you encountered in your room, specifically your faucets and the AC. I would appreciate it if you could email me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com so that I can find out the room you stayed in and have our engineers look at these areas.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Wyrley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and were very pleased overall with the hotel and the staff.Close to waikiki beach and central for restaurants and shops. Very comfortable beds and very clean rooms and reception area and pool. Pool area quite small but had loungers, tables hot tub and lovely waterfall couldn't find the sauna. Only the noise let the place down. If the room on the front of the hotel the noise from the road is loud almost like we had a window open all night. the air conditioning unit quite loud too but can be switched off. Side room wasn't so noisy.

Room Tip: make sure you have a room on the side or facing the pool area and on the higher floors if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Aloha Jooles2005,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are very pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We are thrilled that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, shopping and dining.
We do apologize that you found the AC to be noisy and we do understand that Waikiki, in general, is a noisy city. I would like to invite you to email me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com so that I may look further into your reservation and we can have our engineering department assess the AC unit in the room you stayed in. Also, we regret that you were unable to locate the sauna. Did you have an opportunity to ask any of our team members about the sauna while you stayed with us? We actually keep the sauna locked for the safety and security of our guests and it does require staff assistance to utilize.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

i loved this hotel. it was lovely and clean and the staff were so helpful and friendly. The service was great. the rooms were cleaned each day. the beds were really comfortable. aircnditioner a little noisy but i slept well. pool area was very suitable considering you are only 3 min walk to beach. hotel let you borrow blow up beach toys and boogy boards. Kitchenette well equiped. coffee on tap free and place to refill water bottle. would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Aloha Debo6,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are very pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and our many complimentary amenities such as beach gear and beverages in the lobby.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just got back from 8 nights at this hotel. I booked this hotel because I was looking for a 1 bedroom suite which offered 3 beds (all queen), close to the beach, with a pool, at an affordable price. Aqua Bamboo Waikiki offered all of that and had great reviews. When we arrived, we were quite shocked at how small the room was. By using the sofa futon as our 3rd bed, there really was no "living" area and the kitchenette was tiny. Also, we were on the 10th floor and the traffic was extremely noisy. Those were the only negatives. The positives made up for everything and I would recommend this hotel to people looking for good value. The room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was quite large (2 sinks, bathtub and separate shower). The patio was tiny and you had to climb over the bed to access the patio, but we got used to that after a while. The pool area was very quaint and quiet. Most of the time, we had the entire area to ourselves. It was very convenient to grill up dinner (nice bbq beside the pool) while the kids were swimming. Then we would have a nice candlelit dinner beside the pool. The staff were exceptionally nice. One of the staffmembers even tried to refuse a tip. The hotel offers beach towels, beach chairs and boogie boards....which was a huge convenience. Also, the hotel offers lemon water, iced tea and a water filtration system. We refilled our water bottles everyday.....another huge convenience! The location of the hotel is great as well. Only 2 short blocks to the beach, 1 short block to the best-priced surf rental shop, very close to the main strip, but just far enough away from it. The Koren BBQ (across the street) and Ruffage (half a blk away) were 2 great food finds....inexpensive, healthy, and great quality. If you're not looking for frills and just good value at a great location, then I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha Sophia154943,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and a good value! We are thrilled that you found the staff to be exceptionally nice and you enjoyed the convenience of our many complimentary amenities such as beach equipment and beverages in the lobby. We are also happy to hear that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Pretty little pool area, but water was cold. The room was not large, but adequate. The studio with kitchenette has a small refrigerator with an ice tray - plenty of room to keep our breakfast foods. Also had a toaster, microwave, small stove, and coffee maker and coffee packages. Basically, it had all the things you would need to eat a meal in your hotel room. The bathroom was small but clean and the towels were in good condition. The bed was comfortable with good sheets. Staff provided us with free beach chairs, beach towels, and a free umbrella when it rained. Parking was expensive - we saved some money by parking in another lot.
In other words - the room offered everything you need for a comfortable vacation. If you want luxury, spaciousness and a gorgeous view, go ahead and spend a lot more money somewhere else. This was a good location with a short 2 block walk to the beach, a wonderfully friendly staff, and a decent price, by Waikiki standards.

Room Tip: We had a pool-side room, which we heard does not have as much traffic noise. This is the city, so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha StaceyDoll,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are thrilled to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful at all times during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the tranquil pool area and the many complimentary amenities we offer such as beach equipment.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with an on-site restaurant and lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, sauna, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.