We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed with size and condition of our room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #23 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed with size and condition of our room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having seen rave reviews and compliments to this hotel, I was expecting quite an impressive boutique hotel. I was checked into room 1105 and was immediately disappointed with the size of the tiny room. Not much space to hold our luggage or walk around. We also had an outdated bathroom. It was as if they remodeled everything else and forgot the bathroom. The vanity and the tubs looked like they were from two decades ago with rust stains. I am beginning to think that the inconsistent reviews stem from all rooms not being renovated to the same level of completion.

On the positive side, it was a great location. The staff were very courteous, helpful and professional. I was happy to have free drinks, including lemon infused water and iced tea in the lobby that varied from day to day. Coffee and tea in the lobby required $1 vending machine payment and lobby internet station also required payment (but was free at Aqua Waikiki Pearl when I stayed at its sister hotel 6 months ago). Laundry on the other hand is very affordable at this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha JY_Globetrotter,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the condition of your room and regret that we did not meet your expectations. The information you have provided has been passed on to our engineering team for review so that we may look towards improvement. We are happy to hear that you did benefit from the central location of the hotel and enjoyed our complimentary amenities such as refreshing beverages in the lobby.

On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    616
    471
    152
    68
    39
See reviews for
267
596
106
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was a little worried when I first booked the hotel due to the price. When we arrived I was pleasently surprised. My daughter and I spent one week here in December 2012 and then a few nights on the way home from Washington State in January. Lovely hotel, wonderful Staff and perfect location. We were given a room on the 10th Floor which had ocean views, a nice little balcony and lots of room for my daughter and I. We made great use of the loan beach towels and my daughter love being able to borrow the bucket and spade each day.
The only thing that I would like to change is the temp of the pool and hot tub. Pool was very cold and hot tub way too hot... I know I sound like goldielocks! =)
The Staff would have to been one of the best assets of the Hotel. They were very helpful, always happy to see us and took the time to make sure we were having a great holiday. Found the washing machine and dryer very handy especially with a toddler who seemed to get icecream all over her clothes everyday. Rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. The hotel is close to the beach, you can walk to the Zoo, Beach, shops, and has Bus stops just near the front door. We really enjoyed theThursday night cocktail party, such a nice idea. Would love to go back very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha Tish7573,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy to hear that you found our staff to be welcoming and helpful and you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to the beach, zoo & shops!

On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Aqua Bamboo for 9 nights at the beginning of February 2013 and we were really impressed. We emailed before we arrived to ask if there was any possibility of a 'nice' room as it was a special trip for my 50th birthday. We did indeed have a 'nice' room. It was 1006 and it was at the back of the hotel with views of the pool and the sea. It also had a little balcony at the side with a table and two chairs. I think the rooms that end 001 and 006 are the best rooms and the higher up you are the better the views.
The little kitchen was great although we didn't cook a thing!
We used the (free) hotel beach towels and beach chairs every day that we went to the beach and these saved a small fortune because on the first day we discovered that if you wanted to hire two sunbeds and an umbrella for the day it was $25!! crazy prices.
The hotel concierge booked all of our trips for us and they were all BRILLIANT. Pearl Harbour, Turtle tour, Polynesian Cultural Centre.
We really had an amazing time and the Aqua Bamboo was the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 001 or 006 these are at the back of the hotel, better views and not as noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha Iolandjill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your courtyard view room and our many complimentary amenities such as beach gear. We are also happy to hear the concierge was able to recommend tours that made your trip to Hawai`i a memorable one!

On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I spent two weeks here. The staff are wonderful and provide the upmost in customer service. Pool area is wonderfully relaxing. Great lobby area with lemon water, ice tea, apples and newspapers which are nice touches. Room was well cleaned each and every day. We had a one bedroom full kitchen and enjoyed breakfast, lunches and some dinners in our room. This hotel is close to everything so it is very convenient. It is small so staff get to know you and you get the pleasure of getting to know other guests. The only compliant I would have is that I am very noise sensitive and we ended up with a room facing a a very busy street and the staff were unable to move us for our whole stay as it was booked. All in all a great place and good value. I will most certainly stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Aloha Sjaspn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the intimate and personal atmosphere that the staff and hotel provides. We are happy to hear that you benefited from the central location of the hotel along with the convenient kitchen in your room! We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the many complimentary amenities we offer such as refreshing beverages, apples and newspapers in the lobby.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

this is our second year here. we were there for 1 month. we have already booked for next year.the gardens are really nice and relaxing. we read our paper outside in the garden every morning at 730 and had coffee. it was most enjoyable. the staff were very friendly and helpful.we were close enough to the beach

Room Tip: stay on the courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Rpegger f,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so glad to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and you enjoyed relaxing each morning in the pool area with your newspaper and coffee.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We wanted to spend our final night on Oahu in Waikiki but didn't want the high priced "resort" type hotel experience. We were looking for something a little more local (show your slippers...not bedroom slippers...thongs for you malihinis...for 10% off your room rate) off the "main drag". When we arrived we were really pleased that, on their own, the hotel had upgraded us to a suite on the 10th floor! Why? We don't know, but we were VERY thankful! The suite was beautiful with stone floors, a pebble floor walk in shower and huge tub in the Bathroom, kitchenette, more electronic entertainment options (there was a whole drawer full of remotes) than you could possibly use...unless you were staying a week...a sitting room, huge bedroom (the only down side was that you had to climb over one bed to get out onto the lanai!). The property has a sweet little pool and lounge area and it so happened that we were there on a Thursday night when they have snacks, cocktails, and entertainment for everyone staying there. That was a nice social experience! The property is mixed hotel and owners who have units there that they use either for vacation or live there year-round, so it doesn't have the feel of a "resort", more like a small neighborhood. Of course, wherever you stay in Waikiki, you are close to everything (don't miss Leonard's Bakery on Kapahulu Avenue a bit east of the Zoo).

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center but the pool is great and they have lemon water, lemonade, ice tea a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Peter F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that you felt at home and comfortable at the Bamboo and enjoyed your upgrade to the One Bedroom Suite. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel, the tropical and private pool area and our many complimentary amenities such as beverages and apples in the lobby.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Only two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from the Hyatt a common pick up point for Tourist attractions. Vey good place to stay small but very comfortable, had too switch rooms to a higher floor because of the street traffic but staff were very acommadating. There is free old fashioned lemonade on offer as well as nice pool area. The sea was much warmer though. ABC stores are everywhere so you can buy breakfast provisions very cheap.Would stay here again coming back in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha Cpdp1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to the Waikiki Beach, tour pick-ups, and many eateries. We are also thrilled that the staff was accommodating during your stay with us!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, renovated boutique hotel located 1½ blocks to the beach. This oasis in the heart of Waikiki offers the following FREE amenities: in-room Internet access and WiFi Internet access in lobby & poolside, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 32-inch LCD TV’s, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top in studios & suites and safe. The lush outer sanctuary includes a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, sauna, barbeque grill and cabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.