We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for two nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just right for two nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Pros: helpful service, complimentary treats in the lobby like iced tea and apples, clean rooms with kitchenettes, perfect little pool and hot tub, two blocks from the beach, close to restaurants, great walking and bus access around town, can't beat the price!
Cons: some noise from city traffic, loud air conditioner, small hotel front which makes drops offs a little tricky
Will happily stay here again, thanks Aqua Bamboo!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Aloha Amie L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki beach and many shops. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our private and serene pool area and our many complimentary amenities such as beverages and apples in the lobby. We would like to have our engineering team assess the AC in your room and would appreciate it if you could contact me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com with further details of your reservation with us.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    500
    155
    70
    39
See reviews for
281
623
109
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This review may be a little after we stayed but it's the first chance I've had to write.

We arrived very late (1.30am) and well after check in due to a delayed flight. The guy on reception was a little grumpy BUT THIS WAS THE ONLY TIME WE HAD DODGY SERVICE!! Aqua Bamboo is not a 4 star but a VERY GOOD 3 star if you are comparing to US standards.The beds are double beds, not queens or kings. The rooms are on a par with UK hotel rooms in size BUT fabulous little kitchenette if you want to make lights snacks, teas, coffees etc. Also coffee, teas etc free in reception. No WIFI but you do get free internet via wire connection (wire supplied by reception to fit laptop free of charge). The pool is FABULOUS! Small but beautiful. Warm, clean and private (if you don't mind being overlooked by skyscrapers on 2 sides BUT didn't bother me!!). It is only 5 mins from Waikiki beach and the main street with all of the designer shops and restaurants. Get the bus if you can. Get to see the real island. ALSO GO TO THE POLYNESIAN CENTRE!!!! AMAZING DAY!! You get to experience ALL of the differing cultures of Polynesia. We also took a day trip to the Big Island by plane (Hawaii) - not cheap, around £300 each BUT well worth it. Also took a 1 hour helicopter tour over Maui, amazing sights and well worth the money. I would really recommend this hotel as value for money. If you stay on the main street you will be charged at least £250 to £500 per night for a hotel and you're never in the room because it is such a beatiful place.

Room Tip: They were renovating when we were there but we weren't disturbed at all. A pool view is fab but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Aloha Karen L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
First of all, we would like to apologize for the less than welcoming feeling you received at check in. We will address this with our staff. We are however very pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value and you enjoyed the central location to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the convenience of your kitchenette along with the many complimentary amenities we offer such as beverages in the lobby and internet services.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Aqua Bamboo for 2 weeks in January and part of February. The room was very nice but with the sirens most nights, we did find it noisy. (We suspect the area overlooking the pool would be quieter). The room itself was very clean and we thank Cathyleen for her industrious efforts to make our stay pleasant. The hotel is very well located - 5 min. walk to Waikiki and for those who prefer a pool, the hotel pool is secluded and very well kept. We utilized the kitchenette on occasion and found the local Food Pantry very conveniently located. There are eateries everywhere but they are definitely not cheap in most instances. When we arrived there was a problem with closing our door and a maintenance person was sent immediately to repair the door which never gave us trouble again. There was also an issue with the slippery bathtub which also was remedied immediately. The Staff at Reception were very polite and helpful at all times. Would recommend the place to anyone and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are likely quieter with less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Aloha Wilma T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
It is wonderful to hear that you found the central location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, eateries and the grocery store to benefit you while you were with us. We are also thrilled that you found the staff to be helpful and polite. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered due to the noise of Waikiki. Please contact us in advance for your next stay with us and we would be more than happy to ensure you are accommodated in a Courtyard View.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Perfect hotel right in the heart of Waikiki......this hotel is a few blocks from the beach, but for the price it cannot be beat. We elected one of the rooms with a queen bed and kitchenette...the room had two balconies and plenty of room.

We were impressed with the housekeeping services as the room was completely spotless and very well maintained. Technically, we could see the ocean from our room, but the best view was of the pool area below.....a beautiful oasis in the middle of a very busy city.

Parking was quite reasonbly priced, and although we elected to self-park in the public garage next door, the hotel charge was only $5 more.

Two things really impressed us about this property. First, we had a couple of minor problems with the clock and phone in our room which were promptly corrected by the front desk.....we were delighted with their responsiveness. Second, the Aqua company seems to specialize in renovating existing properties - something we value greatly. Instead of demolishing a perfectly good building, Aqua renovates the property to current standards while still retaining the charm of an older hotel.

Overall we loved staying here, loved the room, and found the front desk personnel to be extremely helpful and welcoming. Highly recommend, and we definitely look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Aloha FinallyFlying,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be attentive and responsive to your needs throughout your stay with us. We are also pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value and enjoyed your spacious room overlooking the peaceful pool area.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife, daughter and I spent 2 weeks at the Aqua Bamboo in Feb 2013.
Location = excellent located on Kuhio Ave just a 5 min walk to Waikiki.
Valet parking was $25/night
We had a room with two double beds and a kitchenette. We requested a room facing the pool (cost involved), but there wasn't one available... so we ended up facing a hotel view to the side of the building. As other reviewers have pointed out, the noise is definitely an issue. We slept with the balcony door shut and the noisy air conditioner on all night to block out the street noise which is at its worst at around 6am.
The decor is a little dated.
The room had a microwave, hotplates, large bar fridge, crockery and cutlery. Shower over bath. Beds were comfortable.
There is a coin operated washing machine and dryer for guests.
The pool area, though not large is relaxing and shaded.
We would stay again

Room Tip: Street facing rooms have a noise problem from 5.30 or 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Aloha TouringClancys,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased you found the hotel to be a good value and the central location of the hotel was a benefit for you. We apologize that you were unable to upgrade to the Courtyard View rooms while you were with us. Please call us in advance for your next stay and we would be delighted to make sure you are accommodated in a Courtyard View room.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions within a space of 2 weeks. My husband and I travelled with our 2 almost adult daughters, and I have booked 1 bedroom apartment so that the girls could sleep on a fold out sofa, although this hotel offers 2 single beds in the lounge room in some of the suites.
The staff at this hotel are outstanding - you feel as though you are staying in a small B&B and not a multi-storey hotel, they are real people who can reply to a joke with joke.
The hotel is located 2 blocks from the beach on the street that has the buses which can take you to Honolulu, shopping etc. it also seemed to be right in the heart of Waikiki as when walked out to the beach and turn left there is a wondreful boardwalk along the beach, and casual eating places across the road; and if you turn right that's were all the big hotels along the beach and all the haute couture shops are, with many restaurants.
On our first stay of 4 days were actually upgraded to a 2 bedroom penthouse which was huge with 360 views. Even though we were on the 15th floor I would highly recommend earplugs as the traffic noise still reaches up there. The second stay was just for one night and we 1st got the suite withsofa bed, but asked if the had one with the twin beds and they moved us as the beds are more comfortable than a sofa bed. The hotel is really showing signs of age in everything, but is very clean.
The pool are is lovely however it is surrounded by tall buildings and palm trees so there is only certain amount of time when you get direct sun.
This hotel was good value at the location that it has.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Aloha Winterose,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with excellent service during your stay with us and you found the convenient location of the hotel to benefit you. We are also pleased to hear that we were able to better accommodate you in the Two Bedroom Penthouse and that you found the hotel to be a good value.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have been staying a Aqua Bamboo for almost a week and would like to report that we have had a most pleasant experience. The whole staff has been very friendly and accommodating. I have to do business while I am holiday and I found Michelle and Zenie to be very helpful in assisting me with my internet needs. This is a great little oasis in Waikiki, with easy access to the beach and groceries. We prepared all our meals here at the hotel and enjoyed them on the deck by the pool. The grill was a great asset.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool for a quieter experience. We had a room facing the street and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Aloha Pauline B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that our staff has been friendly and accommodating during your business stay with us and that you enjoyed our serene pool area and BBQ grill. We are also pleased to hear that you found the central location of the hotel to benefit you.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with an on-site restaurant and lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, sauna, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.