We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A bit of Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had no idea what this hotel would be like but from the moment we arrived we were greeted and welcomed as if we had been coming here for years. We were in Hawaii for our sons retirement after 30 years in the Navy and also our anniversary. The hotel is very clean and well kept. The pool area is a calm serene place to relax. Any thing that we asked for and about they had the ability to find us when we got lost and made sure that our car was right there at all times since we have a handicap .I really wish we were still there . Our small town has been hit by a very sad shooting the day after we arrived home. Some of the teachers we know were killed and the beautiful children who lost their lives. So I really wish that we were back in Hawaii. We will return to this special hotel that made us feel like family.

Room Tip: We were in room 801 and that looked out over the pool and spa area and I would have my cup of tea ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha Marilyn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased that we were able to share the Aloha Spirit with you and invite you into our `Ohana (family) from the moment you stepped through the door.
We are sharing in your heartache for the horrible event that took place. You are all in our hearts this holiday season. We wish you peace and comfort through this difficult time and we will be sending our aloha your way.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    508
    156
    70
    40
See reviews for
281
628
112
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good when staying in Waikiki. The beach is just a 3 min walk away and is the part where you will find the famous Duke statue and where free music performance and hula dance take place. On of the best and largest supermarkets in the area is just a few hundred meters away and a bus stop is just across the street. The hotel is well managed, well maintained and cleaned to a good standard. The rooms are good sized with most amenities you would need (fridge, micro oven, safe, aircon, iron, balcony etc.). Staff is very helpful and you get really good value for your dollar in comparison with other hotels in the area. Had two stays here for a total of 3 weeks during, why I have a good knowledge of the hotel and the area. Beds are comfortable and the pool area including furniture and plants is kept very clean and in good order. The area feels very safe and every attraction, restaurant and shop is within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise then choose a room facing the pool area (direction Hyatt and the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha Stephan H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to hear that you found the hotel to be a great value with our many complimentary amenities and our staff to be friendly while you were with us. We are also pleased that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel to bus stops, Waikiki Beach and the grocery shop!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Aqua Bamboo hotel is centrally located in Waikiki. It is a small hotel and offers many amenities. The rooms are small but clean. Each room has a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Plates, cups, and utensils are also included. I used the island grocery delivery service to preorder grocery items so that they were stocked and waiting for me upon my arrival. The hotel also offers free internet, which is a plus. The pool area is small and has a hot tub. There are lounge chairs and tables to enjoy the warm island air.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha Elaine N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our relaxing and private pool area while you were with us. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the kitchen amenities in your room along with the many complimentary amenities provided such as internet services.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We chose this hotel based upon Tripadvisor reviews. It turned out to be a great choice as we loved this hotel. The location is perfect, right in the center of Waikiki, but off the main strip in a quieter area.

Our room was great. It was on a high floor, facing the pool area. We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony. We would sit there everyday and watch the sun set with a glass of wine.

The pool area is a tropical oasis in the center of Waikiki. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a fantastic value for the money.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Aloha Davidm1014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value and that you found the convenient location of the hotel to benefit you during your stay with us. We are also thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that your enjoyed your Courtyard View room with its great view and relaxing ambiance.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked a room at the Aqua Bamboo based on Tripadvisor reviews for 1 night prior to boarding a cruise ship. Upon check-in, was surprised and pleased to be upgraded to a suite. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Hotel is convenient to the beach. Our only complaint is that the room was on the front of the hotel, and there is a lot of road noise as the hotel fronts a busy street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha Nancy C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to hear that we were able to upgrade your reservation upon your arrival and that you enjoyed your upgraded suite. We are also pleased to hear that you found the convenient location of the hotel to benefit you and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Bamboo twice and will definitely go back! It's the perfect home-base. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. The pool area is a little oasis of serenity. The rooms are very comfortable with useful little extras, like: big dressers, safes, iron/board, and kitchenettes which make life that much easier. A trend that is continued throughout the hotel!

It seems like the rooms vary a bit, or perhaps they changed between my two visits. I have been happy both times, but I see where another review says they will happily move you if you don't love your room. Pretty cool.

As with the rooms, it's all the little extras that make this hotel the best base. I love the fresh lemonade or fresh fruit iced tea and the iced lemon water that are provided daily. It is perfect to fill the water bottle with before heading off for a fun day in the sand and sun! But that's just the beginning of the connivence... they also supply fresh beach towels at the front desk, along with beach chairs or bamboo mats, and even floaty toys for the kids, ...all the stuff you don't want to weigh your suitcase down with, but really need once you get there! Oh, and the poolside "happy hour" on Thursday evening really topped off the whole hospitality feeling nicely! They had complimentary snacks and mai tai drinks, accompanied by ukulele music, plus short sample massages from the spa staff! Yes, please and thank you!!! ...and just like that I was in a vacation paradise. :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha Randi S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to have you stay with us a second time and that you feel so comfortable in our home, that you can now call the Bamboo home as well. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the many amenities we offer such as refreshing beverages in the lobby, beach gear and our weekly Mnaager’s reception, the Bamboozle. It is also wonderful to hear that the staff has been friendly and knowledgeable during your time with us.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights the week of Thanksgiving. Loved the kitchen.The front desk was always helpful. They provide towels and beach chairs at no charge! Parking is $25 a day but in and out access is a breeze. There is a large bowl of apples right by the elevator along with complimentary lemonade and lemon water. Everything is in walking distance. If you are looking for a tropical stay this is not it. It is a great hotel for those that want a comfortable base. Can't say enough about the staff. Friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 601 overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha Flyaway66,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so thrilled that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our many complimentary amenities such as apples, beverages and beach amenities!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with an on-site restaurant and lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, sauna, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.