We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can recommend this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Can recommend this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a good hotel in the heart of Waikiki, just a couple of blocks from the beach. A couple of minutes walk and you're on the beautiful Waikiki beach. We stayed here for two separate nights before and after a cruise. Both rooms we had were great. They were very big with a king size bed, good bathrooms, kitchen and sitting areas. The beds were quite soft though. The staff were great and helped in any way they could. I recommend this hotel and if we return to Hawaii we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha Jparker65,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that you found the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach to benefit you during your stay with us and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed you spacious room with good facilities.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    539
    167
    74
    42
See reviews for
303
659
119
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great Hotel.
I was staying for 5 nights in this hotel on part of my Honeymoon. When we got there, our room had two double beds so we went down and explained that we were on our Honeymoon, the lady was very nice and said she'll move stuff about and get us a room with just a king size bed in it. It only took them about 20 mins. When we got in our the new room, they had left champagne chocolates and put fresh flowers all out for us a round the room, which was very nice of them. We also had a good view from the room.
It doesn't hurt to ask :-)
The Hotel was very clean, and all the staff in this hotel were very nice and friendly with us. Booking trips was really easy in this hotel as well. We didn't feel pressured or rushed into anything. They were also good at letting us know which place's are really nice to eat at, for a quick snack to a sit down meal.
The location of the Aqua Bamboo is great as well. 5 mins from the beach if that. Shops and Restaurants around the corner, and the bus stop just across the road, which is very handy.
The Pool Area is very nice too, with a nice lay out, and very well done.
The Aqua Bamboo is a very nice, friendly, cheap place to stay for Hawaii, and in a great location.
It may not be on the beach but, for a cheap nice friendly Vacation to visit Waikiki in Hawaii, i would say stay here.

Room Tip: The Higher the better, for a good View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha BigSexyHorridge,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy that you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion and we could add a little, special touch to your stay with us! We are thrilled that the staff was friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed the convenient location to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely hotel. Rooms are spacious with small kitchenette. Very Clean. Staff very helpful.One Block back from beach. As friend booked this hotel I was initially disapointed we where not staying beachside but after spending five days here I was very happy.Close to everything in Waikiki. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha Holidays097,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your spacious room with a convenient kitchenette and our close proximity to Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled the staff was helpful during your stay.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I basically wanted a decent place to sleep and shower and be a base for tourism, rather than somewhere to hang out extensively. The Aqua Bamboo's just fine for that.
It's got a bit of a mediocre air -- narrow corridors, some fixtures kinda careworn -- but everything worked and the staff were pleasant. Bed nicely firm but not stiff. The housekeeping staff did a great job on my room even though I'm a terrible slob.
The AC was way loud, so I just let it run during the day and the room was then cooled off enough to last me through the night. My room faced the busy street, but the noise didn't seem all that bad. Most of the city bus routes a tourist might want to take stop within a block.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha Kirahvi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and that housekeeping did a good job cleaning your room. It is also wonderful that you found the convenient location of the hotel to bus stops to benefit your stay with us. We do apologize that your AC was less than satisfactory. However we are delighted to inform you that we are in the midst of replacing all in-room AC units.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and we look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

There are a number of great things about this hotel. First and foremost, the location. Dining, shopping, the beach, and the heart of Waikiki are all in easy walking distance. The bus stop was right across the street, too. Staff members we encountered were nice and helpful. The room was clean, our small kitchenette was nice to have, with a mini refrigerator to store leftovers. There were refreshments and fresh fruit available in the lobby lounge area. This was nice to grab after a day at the beach or on the way out to a hike.

I had a couple questions prior to our arrival. I emailed the guest services manager, who responded quickly, kindly, and with care that I received the information I was looking for. This was very appreciated. We were there during the tsunami scare and we felt that the staff handled it professionally. They called our room to be sure we were aware of the situation and to let us know where we could get help or answers to any questions.

On the other hand, the air conditioner was insanely loud. We had to raise the tv volume up loud enough to hear over the a/c, and we were concerned about disturbing our neighbors. It was even louder if you went to sit on the lanai. We had to keep the a/c going most of the time because the room was incredibly humid. The room appeared a little banged up in places. The somewhat tight quarters and the design of the bed legs left us both stubbing our toes repeatedly!

What I felt was needed more than anything was some kind of fan in the bathroom. There appeared to be mold spots on the ceiling (I'm assuming that's what it was?) Clearing out steam after a shower took forever. Towels wouldn't dry, let alone things from the beach. Speaking of which, a clothesline in the shower would have also been very helpful. The room smelled a bit like a musty basement. Even understanding the proximity to the beach and island climate, it was just a bit much sometimes.

It was nice to have a private lanai, though people kept smoking on theirs (I thought this was illegal?), which would waft into our room. We could see the city and mountains in the distance, but mostly our view was the rooftop of the building next door.

We were able to pay to extend our stay later in the day since our return flight was not until later in the evening. This was very helpful. We were not able to get an answer about whether or not this was a possibility until the day of, which was a bit inconvenient. Hard to plan ahead without knowing if we had to check out in the morning or could stay most of the day. We were able to book this ahead of time at the Ilikai.

Reading other recent reviews during the same dates as our stay, it sounds like other people got some nice automatic upgrades and anniversary perks. We saw that the person who took our reservation had made a note of our anniversary. The gentleman who checked us in only noticed it at the last minute and mentioned "Happy Anniversary". No upgrades or anything or champagne like others received (maybe they paid for it? no idea.). Not that we expected it, but having read other reviews, now I'm kinda bummed!

We've had good experience with Aqua and the nice people they employ. Again, the location was wonderful. I just doubt we would go for this hotel again. We preferred our previous stay at the Aqua Ilikai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha Tejastraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations and for the inconveniences that you endured. We truly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback.
We are very pleased to hear that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel to restaurants, shops and Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled that you also enjoyed the complimentary amenities offered, handy kitchenette in your room and the helpful staff.
We deeply regret that we missed our opportunity to impress you during your stay. We fell short in many areas mentioned and we will eagerly tend to our improvement in these areas. I welcome you to email me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com so I may look further into the discrepancies you encountered. Please know that the entire team at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is committed to taking the necessary steps to ensure that this experience is not repeated.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and we hope that you will consider giving us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for a short spur of the moment visit to Oahu. After diligently searching all sorts of travel search engines and seeing Aqua Bamboo come up in every search, we decided to give it a try. Great value for price. We immediately received an upgraded suite upon our arrival. Contemporary with an "old school" Hawaiian flare, Spacious suite with kitchenette, bathroom with separate shower and tub, large sitting area with large windows and TV. The King size bed was comfy with tons of cloud like pillows, the bed was also "sectioned" off from the sitting area, for privacy if traveling with a group. This opened up to a small balcony looking at the city. Front desk was friendly. The only downside was that parking was full and had to park at a garage in the next building.

I really loved the free beach towels, you get a rental card for the towel, just turn in your dirty towel and get another rental card until you end your visit. There's also free beach gear..pretty cool =)

The back side of the hotel was super cute, great pool, cool looking lanai's. We didn't take advantage of the free activities that the hotel provided but there is a long list, early AM beach yoga, breakfast buffet, etc.

It was conveniently located about a block and a half from the main strip in Waikiki, super close to eateries and shopping. It was a comfortable stay at Aqua Bamboo especially if you're looking to travel on a budget and want a comfy place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha Spideybriefs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that you found the hotel to be a great value for your needs and that you enjoyed your comfy upgraded suite. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed the many amenities the hotel offers, such as beach amenities.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Good location for a first time visit to Oahu. We had a very short walk to the beach. Don't forget to ask to borrow beach toys & chairs. Off site parking was at first confusing. Staff was mostly friendly. Nice but small pool. Kitchenette in the room was a convenience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha JoanBF,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased that you found the location of the hotel and the convenient kitchenette to benefit you during your stay with us. We regret that it seems we missed our mark on a few occasions and we will address these issues with our teams.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with an on-site restaurant and lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.