We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Hidden costs! But excellent location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki to your Saves list
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beware Hidden costs! But excellent location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was really looking forward to coming back to Waikiki but as soon as I drove into the hotel I was hit with extra fees. We booked this hotel because it was a little cheaper than the others in the same area. If you have a rental car you'll have to pay the 25 dollar a day valet fee not including tips. There's no other parking. There's a compulsory daily service hotel charge that allows you to use the pool and sauna. If you want wifi.. You'll pay for it. When we got to the room we opened the curtains to the brick wall of the next door hotel. Beautiful. We had a full kitchenette which we thought would save us money as we wouldn't eat out so much. The kitchen is actually falling apart. The stove, dishwasher looks ancient but still works fine. All very confined. Our main problem was the fry pans they gave us were useless. The food just burned in them no matter how much oil we put in. Fried eggs or pancakes were impossible. They wouldn't replace them either. They also only serviced the rooms on Monday and Friday. And if you needed more towels you had to go the service room to exchange them yourself. We also had to have the fans on with the air conditioning. There was a thermometer and gauge in the wall but no matter how low we turned the gauge it would stay at about 75 degrees Fahrenheit. The hotel room was nice and quiet. The rest of the room was fine. Two good quality tv's a nice lounge and bedroom was comfortable. Having two bathrooms was also nice. Location is fantastic.. Couldn't get much better. Pretty much right on Waikiki beach. So much to see and do. So close to shops and restaurants. Your in the heart of Waikiki. My advice is if you stay here, defiantly get an ocean view room above level 15. And you don't really need a full kitchen because there's so so so many eating options so close by. Just beware the hidden costs!

Room Tip: High up with ocean view. You don't really need a full kitchen.. Eat out and enjoy Waikiki!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    187
    88
    30
    22
See reviews for
135
121
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maberly, Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've owned at the Imperial for 25+ years. It has gone through a number of transformations over that time and now seems to have really 'found its groove'. What makes this property so very special is the staff. They are outstanding. From the moment you arrive, the front desk folks are there to make you feel special and welcome. Todd is amazing. Quiet, polite and efficient, he gets you organized fast. We always ask for early check-in and he does his best to meet our request.
Michael from Elite Concierge has the best contacts for tours and shows...very knowledgeable and efficient. The rooms (I own a one bedroom, 2 bath Palm unit) are comfortable, clean and reasonably quiet (upper floors are better)...it's the location that is fantastic that may cause the noise...you are right in the heart of the action! Restaurants and patios galore! Beach is just down the street...the best section of beach is at Fort Derussy Park... wider sand area, sandy bottom and less crowded.

Room Tip: Upper level seems quieter and less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are owners and we love Imperial! It is clean and comfortable and right in the center of great activity...restaurants, shops, beach and access to any tour available is steps from the front door at the Sheraton. There is a Denny's downstairs and across the street is Ruth's Chris, Roy's and Nabu for the "foodie" and Starbucks, Subway, PF Changs and lots of local spots within a block. Maybe it is because we are owners but the staff here is helpful and kind. The shopping has every variation from discount tee shirts to Rodeo Drive-esque stores. What we pay for a week here would scarcely pay for a night at the neighboring hotels....Think LaQuinta in the middle of 5 star hotels...Not a place I'd want to spend my honeymoon, but for a once a year getaway with my family, it just can't be beat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have a timeshare at this hotel but you can also book direct. The apartments vary - we have stayed in a studio and also a one bedroom unit - both very good. The one bedroom unit has 2 bathrooms as well as a fully equipped kitchen complete with dishwasher and oven. The lounge on the top floor has outstanding views - watch the sunsets over the ocean from here. The pool area is well equipped with sunbeds and also has an ice maker and filtered water available. Certainly excellent value for money and right at the bottom of Lewers Street - across from the beach. Has an ABC store underneath - what more could you want! Looking forward to returning in November.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My parents have a timeshare here and booked it for my sisters visit to Oahu. They were told that we could stay there as long as we showed the confirmation number. At check-in we were turned away completely, no other options offered. The front desk wouldn't even allow me to call my parents so that they could explain. It was 11pm and thankfully we had my house to stay in. The staff treated us like we were trespassing and just told us "NO". 3 days later, after the mess was sorted out through the timeshare company, we checked in and were told that if it smelled like smoke after we left, we would be charged $250. We got to the room and it smelled so badly that I had to open the door and let the bad air and AC out. There was trash on the floor and on the furniture like clothing tags, wrappers, sand. No one ever came to clean the room. It was horribly loud with street noise and ventilation. The place look like it hadn't been updated in 20 years and there were no other guest to be seen.. The Imperial Resort has no redeeming qualities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

First of all, they would not let my sister and I check in since the timeshare was under our parents names. Our mother asked the "resort" if we needed any written permission for us to check in as their children and the staff said we were good to go. However, we still had to fax them permission. Once we finally checked into our room, there was a chapstick and tag on the sofa and ground which was also covered in dirt. The room and the place itself was surrounded by tacky wall and closet mirrors which did not help its already porn-like atmosphere. Housekeeping came in the room once in which they only took the trash and never changed the towels or bedding. Upon checkout, we were charged $20 a day for parking which we were never told.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I had a one bedroom place on the tenth floor. The rooms were small with a TV on the wall, a dining table and a couch in the living area. There was also a murphy bed. The kitchen had a microwaive and a fridge, but no dishwasher. Bathroom was so small you couldn't hardly turn around in it. There was only about a foot of space between the foot of the bed and the wall, but you had to go through it to get to the closet. The whole place was very dated and needed updating. And not just the room, everything except for the lobby looked old. The pool was a bit small and dated. There was only ice available on the 2nd and 27th floor by the pool. No vending machines, but there was a large ABC convenience store next door that even had a deli. There was also a parking garage across the alley from our bedroom window that was noisy at times during the night.

Now the good things. This was a very good location in the middle of Waikiki. Although not on the water, it was only about a block away and easy to reach. The staff at the hotel was very nice and knowledgeable. The valets were great, efficient and friendly. The concierge made some very good suggestions. It is on a block with many different restaurants including Yardhouse, Cheeseburger-Cheeseburger, PF Chang's and several local spots. I would consider again if the price was lower or it was updated.

Room Tip: Try to get on the front side and up high so it is quieter and the view is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Address: 205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.