We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for urban type travellers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Save Saved
You added The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location for urban type travellers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is great for those travellers looking for a value priced room one block from the beach and in the heart of all the action. If you want to go out for late dinners or go to a nightclub this is definitely your hotel because it is located across the street from "The Yardhouse Pub" which is very popular with the party set. We are beyond the age of "clubbing" and travel with our young daughter so the noise was audible every night (moderate). We were on the 7th floor facing the pub so the location of our room was likely a factor. I got up at 4 am (due to time change) and went to the 24 hr Denny's on the main floor of the hotel to grab a coffee. The restaurant was busy with inebriated patrons that had come over from the pub after closing. In the following days I noticed that when we went for breakfast at 6am the entire restaurant was filled with family type patrons so we were never concerned about having our daughter be in a "morning after the night before" type of environment.
The rooftop pool was small but very warm (unlike the Hawaii Hilton Village where we spent the day to use the pools-you can rent a day room there when available, but the pools were unheated so it was a waste of time/money because my daughter and I barely got wet...just too cold). The Imperial pool had some fantastic views and was surrounded by chaise lounge chairs. There is also a third floor sauna and whirlpool which we often got to use alone because it seemed to be rarely used.
There were numerous restaurants which we enjoyed within close walking distance from the hotel and the high end stores too numerous to count. You don't need a car, but our best day was when we rented a car and went to the North shore for some peace and quiet. We much prefer the non crowded beaches filled with locals surfing. We also saw turtles at Turtle Beach (1.5 hr drive from the hotel) and ate at a fantastic beach grill that served my favourite coconut shrimp.
So in summary, perfect hotel for city type travellers that don't mind some noise (deliveries to stores/restaurants happens in the middle of the night also...so all night long you hear "beep, beep, beep" when the trucks are backing up....can be annoying for people like us that prefer silent tranquility on a trip). We were perfectly located for the conference I was attending but if you like quiet, the North shore would be preferable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Lewers Street or at least one high up so you don't hear the part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    158
    75
    28
    21
See reviews for
112
101
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Imperial Resort which is basically a hotel, not a resort, has many attributes, but none surpasses its location on Lewers Street where it's happening. And it is just a block from the shoreline (three minute walk at most. Kalakaua Street is just a block away where many fabulous restaurants and shows are open until very late in the evening. It is actually a better location than on the shore if you are interested in things other than sun bathing and swimming. It's location is great for those as well.

We stayed in a time share suite with one bedroom plus a Murphy Bed, a complete apartment sized kitchen, living/dining room, two full baths and a small balcony with a view to the ocean.

It was more than we could usually afford, but got a deal by using a friend's time share. The one complaint would be the small bugs (sort of like fruit flies) that were present on the kitchen counter and in one of the baths. They did us no harm, but would bother some people.

Room Tip: This is where you want to be to get to everything else easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of downtown and one block from the beach. If you are driving a car you will have to pay a fee each day for parking. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping. Its a very busy location. Dennys is located right next to the lobby and so is an ABC market along with a couple of gift shops. The rooms are nice and spacious. We had a 1 bedroom with a convection microwave, sink & refrig & dishes. This worked great for us as we were only in the room for breakfast. The pool is rather small but then again you are right across the street from the beach. Also has two hottubs. The owners lounge has a great view, pool table, computers and tv. Staff was always helpful and polite. Great a giving directions and recommendations. Conceirgne is awesome, and recommends great day trips. Highly recommend the helicopter tour and Wild Bunch for fishing charter

Room Tip: We used our timeshare and were completely happy with our exchange!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Depending on the number of guests in your party, 2-3 people can share a room directly across from the beach. The view is one of the best along the beach. Rooms are constantly being upgraded/refurbished. The beach is just a few minutes walk, bus lines are close, seconds to get a cab, fairly central location to activities and restaurants. Staff is friendly and courteous. Pool located on the roof...nice. Self service laundry available. While it's not posh, it has all of the necessary amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. I've stayed there multiple times and will stay again at every opportunity!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the smaller the room because of the way the hotels are designed. Midway levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent central location, with many shops close by. Well-stocked store downstairs for groceries. Good kitchenette including a microwave, fridge and toaster.

Murphy bed was a good use for the small space but at times wasn't very practical. Bathroom was small but functional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

It was really a great experience staying in this Place. It is really just near the beach and near to any shooping centers. Its just also 10-15 minutes walk to the International Market Place. And i got to experience going to the Owners Lounge and the view of the beach is just so beautiful and relaxing..

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've been here two times and am going back for a third time this year. This resort doesn't have much to offer. There's no activities at this resort like tennis or minigolf like other resorts that i've been at. What I do love about this resort is the location. It's one block away from the beach and about 2 short blocks away from the shopping strip. I usually don't spend much time in the room anyways because theres so much to do and walk around to see. This resort is a bit outdated inside but they do have plans to renovate the last time i've been there so hopefully it'll be a little bit different when i go this year. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. You do have to pay to park in the garage daily. I believe most places you do. Overall, i've had a good experience with this resort. Its not a 5 star resort for sure but its convenient and doable for my purposes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Address: 205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.