We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Save Saved
You added The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Charlton NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is my third year at the Imperial. And each year gets better. The decor is a little dated, but it is clean, and a great location. Service is wonderful. We walk everywhere or take the city buses.
Some tips of people visiting for the first time. We do get a car for a day to drive around the island. You can do this walking distance few buildings down right around the corner at the Outrigger on Beachwalk (bottom floor).
Housekeeping is great. Don't think that just kitchen items in your room are all that is available. They have everything, you just need to go down and sign it out. You can keep the items for your entire vist and return before you check out. Also you can rent an extra fridge if you feel that one isn't big enough. I advise you do this before you arrive to assure you have one.
The bus: If you are a senior it is $1.00 round trip. You need to know this they won't tell you :-)
Normal fare is $2.50 round trip. Be sure to get your transfer for trip back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    170
    78
    29
    22
See reviews for
123
107
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Napoleon, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We exchanged our time share for a week on Waikiki. This is a nice resort/hotel. Pool on the roof for timeshare members with an amazing view of the beach. While we are not directly on the beach access is just outside the resort and across the street. We are on a busy corner but have a reasonably priced Denny's in the resort and an ABC store just out our door. All the libations you might want and a decent grocery/souvenir shop, the best part is a great deli. This is an advantage because the imperial has kitchen area that includes frig microwave and sink. So buy some cereal, milk, rum and come and some coffee. You are good for the week! We have an efficiency. I was a bit worried but the the Murphy bed is good and plenty of space, including a balcony for the two of us. Or for a couple with little children the couch is a fold out. Aloha!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive about this place because of some reviews I had read on another site. We got into Honolulu 2 days earlier and stayed in a hotel, so we drove by to take a look at the location. We called ahead about the parking so they told us to drive up in front of the ABC store and we would be met there by valet parking and we could just go in and register. That went by so smoothly with a happy welcome and helpful guys. Registration went the same way, no sales talk or invitation to any. What a surprise! Before our room assignment, we asked where were we going to be, hopeful it wasn't where we would have to look at the trash cans. It took a few minutes, and was placed on the 23rd floor. We had a 1 bedroom unit, comfortable for 3 adults. Bedroom and bathroom are small but functional with lots of bathroom towels. Murphy bed in the living room was comfortable and already made up. We had 2 balconies (1 off the bedroom and the other off the living room) with resin chairs and little tables. We ate breakfast out there and enjoyed views of the Sheraton Waikiki, Royal Hawaiian, the beach and the surfers. We also enjoyed night time views of the lights, and the trade winds was wonderful. We even slept with our doors open. The kitchen is small but adequately equipped with a small fridge, toaster and microwave/convection oven. Everything worked. Concierge also helped us with some tours and shows. Everybody was helpful.. We didn't use the laundry, swimming pool, spa or any of the other facilities. It's a great location with ABC store, Denny's, lots of restaurants, shopping, beach and the bus.

Room Tip: be nice and ask for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicine hat
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a studio unit here Jan 20 to January 27 and it was really enjoyable so booked it again for next year. The units have a fridge and microwave , no stove and a Murphy be that was very comfortable.
The pool itself was on floor 26 with a great view and it was heated so was very nice. There were two outdoor hot tubs on floor 3.
The owners lounge on the 25 floor was really something special with tv's , leather couches , cooking facility and a great view of the ocean. Many would go up there to watch the sunset every night and to see if the green flash would happen when the sun went down.
Right next door there was an ABC store with a great deli and a few dow from it was an Italian restaurant called Giovanni's which had excellant pizza. They had a happy hour from 3-5 with free cheeze pizza but did not make it for happy hour.
Go to the Shorebird for their buffet breakfast which is excellant but their sunset supper steak wasn't good at all. Get 50% off the second meal with a coupon at the Shorebird and and save your receipt for future meals with a 50% discount off your second meal.
Make sure you go to the Cheese cake Factory if its open due to a fire at the end of January. Great food , great prices and great service. If you go at six expect a 40 minute wait , at seven an hour or more. Not much of a wait at 530 , maybe 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Go to Giovanni's and Cheesecake Factory
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I did an exchange through II. Really wasn't sure which way to go because we had the option of the Marriott Ko Olina or this for the same price. Gorgeous hotel or Location? Which do you choose?? Location. All the reviews are correct when they say this place is dated. That is probably an understatement. I will say it only refers to the rooms. The common areas are not that bad. The owners lounge was so dead, we could go up to the huge balcony and watch the waves all by ourselves. A few times we grabbed a bottle of wine and snacks and cards and went up there. The lounge has glasses and utensils etc so you don't have to bring that from your room. Having a kitchen was great for breakfast and drinks. A whole week in Waikiki was enough though. Ideally you do one week here and one week at Ko Olina or somewhere quieter on the island.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better, so you are past some of the buildings and have a glimpse of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Imperial around the Christmas holidays as a result of a timeshare purchase. I was a little concerned by some of the negative reviews so I called the hotel a number of times to ensure that we were not stuck in a room on a low floor. Well, when we arrived (3 adults/2 kids), we were told that we had been assigned a room on the 5th Floor. At that point, I basically begged the front desk for a room on a higher floor. i was then sent to the timeshare rental/reservation office on the 2nd Floor, where I pretty much begged again...It seemed to work because we ended up with a room on the 23rd Floor. From the balcony, we had a sliver of a view of the ocean. As many have said, the rooms are tiny and dated - a flash back to the 70s! The ceilings were super low, and it was a very tight fit for the five of us in a 1 bedroom/2 bath. My Mom and daughter slept on the double bed in the bedroom; my husband and I were on the murphy bed in the living room and my 7 year old slept on the sofa bed. The bed in the bedroom takes up most of the room and the bathroom in that room is tiny. You can't open the bathroom door if someone is standing at the closet. I felt like we were constantly bumping into each other! There was small microwave and refrigerator in the room and the electric burners worked. However, the oven in our room did not work. We had to purchase all the cleaning supplies ourselves. There is tiny pool on the 27th floor, and there is a nice party room/kitchen for owners on the 26th floor with lovely views. We only went up there once but heard that it is first come/first serve to use the kitchen up there. We did our laundry a few times and laundry area (off the parking garage) was pretty busy. The staff at the front desk and the valets who parked our car were very friendly and helpful. The facility needs a huge upgrade but that's not their fault. Time share management should really refuse to all this hotel to be a part of the network of time share hotels! On the positive side, as many have said, it is very conveniently located. We rented a car at the airport (parking on a weekly basis is slightly less), and were able to quickly get around town. It was convenient to have in/out privileges. On the days we did not want to drive, we could quickly get to several restaurants around the Imperial. ABC is more expensive than a regular grocery store but the location under the Imperial had great supplies - I was able to make a great eggs & bacon & toast breakfast the first morning with awesome kona coffee - all purchased at ABC!

We loved being next door to the Halekulani. While dinner at the hotel's formal restaurant is expensive, we discovered the House Without a Key - the more casual, outdoor/indoor eating area at the Halekulani. We had delicious food at very reasonable prices there with fantastic service and live music/hula overlooking the ocean. The only snag is that they don't take reservations but if you go early it is not difficult to get a table. There are some chairs and cocktails tables right in the front, some larger tables under umbrellas a bit further back, or you can sit under a open air house. We preferred the middle option both nights we had dinner there. Thursday nights, they put on a bbq, which was really nice. Whether you are a guest at the exclusive Halekulani or just there for dinner/drinks, the food and service are fabulous! Although we did not go ourselves, we heard that the brunch and daily high tea are lovely. The tea at around $35 per person seemed quite reasonable to us. Again, no reservations and first come/first serve for the high tea. We had Christmas dinner at PF Chang's right down Lewers. Although, I am not a fan of chains, the food and service were really great there. I do recommend reservations because it was very crowded. We spent three days at the beach in Kilua. It was an amazing beach and rarely crowded. At my daughter's request, we went to Wailea Shaved Ice every day! We had a wonderful dinner at Little Village Noodle House in Chinatown one night. They serve delicious authentic Chinese food - I especially liked the hunan/schzewan food and the friendly service. Everything was very fresh and delicious. I also loved the fact that it has a 25/30 Zagat rating and free parking! We also had a great Thai meal at Siam Square although service was a bit disorganized. On our last day in town we had brunch at Lulu's Waikiki. The food was average but the service and views of Waikiki Beach were great.

Room Tip: Insist on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews we were a little worried about our stay. Should not have worried as we received a great value for money stay in a friendly environment at the best location at waikiki. Room was compact but you pay for what you get, clean and tidy and the fellow guests were happy with their stays. Only gripe was the extremely poor service from Sheryl at the front desk who at two separate occasions just blew off our enquirys and even answered the phone while we were talking to her! Every other staff member were sensational!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Address: 205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.