We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki to your Saves list
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
medicine hat
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a studio unit here Jan 20 to January 27 and it was really enjoyable so booked it again for next year. The units have a fridge and microwave , no stove and a Murphy be that was very comfortable.
The pool itself was on floor 26 with a great view and it was heated so was very nice. There were two outdoor hot tubs on floor 3.
The owners lounge on the 25 floor was really something special with tv's , leather couches , cooking facility and a great view of the ocean. Many would go up there to watch the sunset every night and to see if the green flash would happen when the sun went down.
Right next door there was an ABC store with a great deli and a few dow from it was an Italian restaurant called Giovanni's which had excellant pizza. They had a happy hour from 3-5 with free cheeze pizza but did not make it for happy hour.
Go to the Shorebird for their buffet breakfast which is excellant but their sunset supper steak wasn't good at all. Get 50% off the second meal with a coupon at the Shorebird and and save your receipt for future meals with a 50% discount off your second meal.
Make sure you go to the Cheese cake Factory if its open due to a fire at the end of January. Great food , great prices and great service. If you go at six expect a 40 minute wait , at seven an hour or more. Not much of a wait at 530 , maybe 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Go to Giovanni's and Cheesecake Factory
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    198
    93
    32
    22
See reviews for
143
128
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I did an exchange through II. Really wasn't sure which way to go because we had the option of the Marriott Ko Olina or this for the same price. Gorgeous hotel or Location? Which do you choose?? Location. All the reviews are correct when they say this place is dated. That is probably an understatement. I will say it only refers to the rooms. The common areas are not that bad. The owners lounge was so dead, we could go up to the huge balcony and watch the waves all by ourselves. A few times we grabbed a bottle of wine and snacks and cards and went up there. The lounge has glasses and utensils etc so you don't have to bring that from your room. Having a kitchen was great for breakfast and drinks. A whole week in Waikiki was enough though. Ideally you do one week here and one week at Ko Olina or somewhere quieter on the island.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better, so you are past some of the buildings and have a glimpse of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Imperial around the Christmas holidays as a result of a timeshare purchase. I was a little concerned by some of the negative reviews so I called the hotel a number of times to ensure that we were not stuck in a room on a low floor. Well, when we arrived (3 adults/2 kids), we were told that we had been assigned a room on the 5th Floor. At that point, I basically begged the front desk for a room on a higher floor. i was then sent to the timeshare rental/reservation office on the 2nd Floor, where I pretty much begged again...It seemed to work because we ended up with a room on the 23rd Floor. From the balcony, we had a sliver of a view of the ocean. As many have said, the rooms are tiny and dated - a flash back to the 70s! The ceilings were super low, and it was a very tight fit for the five of us in a 1 bedroom/2 bath. My Mom and daughter slept on the double bed in the bedroom; my husband and I were on the murphy bed in the living room and my 7 year old slept on the sofa bed. The bed in the bedroom takes up most of the room and the bathroom in that room is tiny. You can't open the bathroom door if someone is standing at the closet. I felt like we were constantly bumping into each other! There was small microwave and refrigerator in the room and the electric burners worked. However, the oven in our room did not work. We had to purchase all the cleaning supplies ourselves. There is tiny pool on the 27th floor, and there is a nice party room/kitchen for owners on the 26th floor with lovely views. We only went up there once but heard that it is first come/first serve to use the kitchen up there. We did our laundry a few times and laundry area (off the parking garage) was pretty busy. The staff at the front desk and the valets who parked our car were very friendly and helpful. The facility needs a huge upgrade but that's not their fault. Time share management should really refuse to all this hotel to be a part of the network of time share hotels! On the positive side, as many have said, it is very conveniently located. We rented a car at the airport (parking on a weekly basis is slightly less), and were able to quickly get around town. It was convenient to have in/out privileges. On the days we did not want to drive, we could quickly get to several restaurants around the Imperial. ABC is more expensive than a regular grocery store but the location under the Imperial had great supplies - I was able to make a great eggs & bacon & toast breakfast the first morning with awesome kona coffee - all purchased at ABC!

We loved being next door to the Halekulani. While dinner at the hotel's formal restaurant is expensive, we discovered the House Without a Key - the more casual, outdoor/indoor eating area at the Halekulani. We had delicious food at very reasonable prices there with fantastic service and live music/hula overlooking the ocean. The only snag is that they don't take reservations but if you go early it is not difficult to get a table. There are some chairs and cocktails tables right in the front, some larger tables under umbrellas a bit further back, or you can sit under a open air house. We preferred the middle option both nights we had dinner there. Thursday nights, they put on a bbq, which was really nice. Whether you are a guest at the exclusive Halekulani or just there for dinner/drinks, the food and service are fabulous! Although we did not go ourselves, we heard that the brunch and daily high tea are lovely. The tea at around $35 per person seemed quite reasonable to us. Again, no reservations and first come/first serve for the high tea. We had Christmas dinner at PF Chang's right down Lewers. Although, I am not a fan of chains, the food and service were really great there. I do recommend reservations because it was very crowded. We spent three days at the beach in Kilua. It was an amazing beach and rarely crowded. At my daughter's request, we went to Wailea Shaved Ice every day! We had a wonderful dinner at Little Village Noodle House in Chinatown one night. They serve delicious authentic Chinese food - I especially liked the hunan/schzewan food and the friendly service. Everything was very fresh and delicious. I also loved the fact that it has a 25/30 Zagat rating and free parking! We also had a great Thai meal at Siam Square although service was a bit disorganized. On our last day in town we had brunch at Lulu's Waikiki. The food was average but the service and views of Waikiki Beach were great.

Room Tip: Insist on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

After reading some reviews we were a little worried about our stay. Should not have worried as we received a great value for money stay in a friendly environment at the best location at waikiki. Room was compact but you pay for what you get, clean and tidy and the fellow guests were happy with their stays. Only gripe was the extremely poor service from Sheryl at the front desk who at two separate occasions just blew off our enquirys and even answered the phone while we were talking to her! Every other staff member were sensational!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed as a timeshare trade. we had been to Hawaii before as our son was miltiary so we were a little familiar with the island. If you are new to the island be sure to have a GPS, it's very helpful. We were very happy with the resort the staff was excellent. We weren't ready for the parking fees, but everyone has to make a living. If you don't want to rent a car the shuttles for the various attractions is only a block away. Ocean & shopping are right there. The beds were comfortable the owners lounge was very nice especially when our flight wasn't til midnite. only problem we had is when the elevator got stuck and it took a little time to get us out. They were very apologetic and even gave us credit for our parking for the week. I would definitely try to stay there when we return. P>S> It can get a little noisiy when the bars close, but I were going where those boys were going I would make noise too! Be sure to appeciate all the military there. They are the reason you can visit there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family stayed here for one week during the last week of July 2012. We have stayed here a few years before in the Banyan suite with a Murphy bed. This time we stayed in the slightly larger Palm suite. Palm suites are corner units with a wall of windows. But we had to leave the curtains closed most of the times due to strong sun. Plus, the view was meh, just the other hotels with a sliver of "ocean view". Although in my previous review I vowed not to stay here again, the location and price drew me back.
It's convenient to everywhere, whether one travels by bus, shuttle, taxi, or walking. The hotel is in a central location just down the street from the ultra exclusive, read "expensive", Trump International. On a side note, we stayed at that location fifteen years ago when it was an Outrigger hotel. It was later torn down to build the Trump hotel. So, I guess I can tell people that we've stayed at the Trump :-P
We paid $600 for a whole week during the height of summer vacation season. So, for us, it was definitely worth it to stay here. If we paid anywhere close to the quoted price of $225 per night, this would have been a whole different review.
All in all, the Imperial of Waikiki offers a great value for the location. It is surrounded by some famous hotels of Waikiki, such as Hale Kulani, Hilton Hawaiian Village, the aforementioned Trump, and many others that are ultra expensive. Although their accommodations I'm sure are much nicer, I feel the Imperial of Waikiki is a great value. Sure, it has the sagging sofa bed and dated kitchen appliances that belong in a museum, but the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Besides, who stays in the room besides to sleep when you're in HAWAII?!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just a half block from the beach, this hotel is ideally located. It's in a newly renovated area with great restaurants and shops. The hotel has made some improvements and the rooms are nicely maintained. Some of the rooms situated on lower floors are noisy in the early morning when the garbage trucks and recycle trucks are at work. Not a problem on the upper floors. My one complaint is having to pay for computer hook up, even as an owner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Address: 205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! Mahalo for considering The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki. We are conveniently located in the epicenter of Waikiki and are steps away from the famous Waikiki Beach. We are surrounded by shops and restaurants for you to browse and enjoy. We know you will enjoy your visit, and are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.