We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki to your Saves list
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Value, Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Prior to booking at the Imperial Hotel in Waikiki, I read quite a few adverse comments on various travel sites about this Hotel. As it was the only Hotel in Waikiki at anything resembling a reasonable price that would allow 3 males to have their own beds in the one suite, I accepted the booking with some trepidation. We stayed there for 10 days and the room was quite good, clean and very acceptable to us. The staff at the Front Desk and Valet Parking areas were first class. Nothing was too much trouble to them. Anyone complaining about this Hotel is very hard to please.
This Hotel is positioned in Waikiki to have easy access to all shops, restaurants and transports and has to be the best value Hotel in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you forget to take anything with you, the best ABC shop in Oahu is on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    186
    87
    30
    22
See reviews for
135
119
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is a solid stay, I have been to the Imperial about 60+ times and do not own a timeshare. This is a good place if you are wanting clean, cheap, and a close to the ocean sort-of-place. My whole family usually goes (about 10+) and we stay in a few rooms. Great for families as other hotels can get quite costly with the more people you bring in. We were trying to get the same deal on a hotel 6 blocks away, that was MORE expensive and so dingy. Imperial is defiantly the best bang for your buck.
Pool:
Is on the top level and can get quite cold with the wind
Rooms:
Beds are medium-comfy, enough room for lots of guests
Location:
Great location, why we pick the Imperial each time!
Staff:
Fun, and thoughtful
Food:
We go to Denny's at the bottom and get breakfast for $4
We also head to the International Marketplace for some fresh Coconut milk

When we stay at the Imperial it is ALWAYS a family holiday, I don't think I would suggest this for newlyweds or honeymooners

Room Tip: Higher the better, be nice to the front desk. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I don't like writing poor reviews about anything but this place is terrible. This is with no disrespect to the staff who try their best to accomodate but this is easily the worst hotel in this area. Again, it hard when you are comparing this hotel amongst Wyndam, Trump and Sheraton, but these are the neighbours and therefore the unfair comarisons begin. I won't go over all the unbarable details with respect to the staff, who again try but the rooms are small, old and nasty. Pay a little more and get something a little better. You will enjoy your time more:(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is the place to go if you want to be close to the beach, close to the great shops on Kalakaua, on a bus route, steps away from the Royal Hawaiian Mall, the list goes on and on. My mother in law goes for a number of months every year and stays in a Studio suite. Perfect for one or two people. We have stayed in the Palm and Koa units - one bedroom with 2 bathrooms. very spacious, nice kitchen and great views!! As owners we have access to the owners lounge - you can watch the sun set and the whales and dolphins play - roof top pool area is outstanding - amazing views. The new Trump tower condo is a block away - so that should say something about the area.
There are three hot tubs, small gym and nice laundry area. Very clean units, comfy beds, amazing staff. If you have the opportunity to stay here, don't hesitate to book it!!

Room Tip: Lots of people want an ocean view - but really, by the time you are back in your room it is late and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Can you say Ghetto? It's a synonym for Imperial Waikiki. I have stayed in many hotels in Waikiki. My family stayed at the Imperial once before, in 2010 and at that time I thought it would be worth a return visit. How things change! There has been no upkeep and it is refllected in the staff's attitude. The bathroom toilet overflowed, the paint is peeling off the walls in some areas.The day manager Michelle Nahale was rude, unfeeling and unprofessional. She had no sense of family, fun or Aloha. We cleaned the room before checking out...something we have never had to do before at other establishments. But because housekeeping only comes after the 4th day and we stayed 2 nights I did not want to risk losing the 250-dollar deposit. Ms. Nahale told me I would have to forfeit the deposit anyway because a closet door was off its lower sliding track. It was like that when we checked in and easily fixed. I asked for her business card and of course they don't have cards. Let that be a clue, an early warning siren. If the Imperial Waikiki resort is on your radar, JUST SAY NO!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was in a great location, was a half block from Waikiki beach, and half block from shops and restaurants. Just needed a paint job, newer window treatment (drapes) and needed renovations in the bathroom which is connected to the bedroom.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I go here all the time & love it. We got 7 rooms 3 years ago & are returning this summer to book 8 rooms. Great place for the entire family to have a vacation -- rooms have a minimal kitchen & it is very kid/family friendly. no kid pool, etc, but so close to the beach& everything so it's all ok!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Address: 205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.