We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you keep a secret?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki to your Saves list
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can you keep a secret?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Imperial Hawaii is one of those places that I would classify as a well-kept secret. My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom unit for two weeks in March and let me tell you that dollar for dollar it can't be beat. If you travel with a budget in mind then the Imperial is the only choice. The staff, whether at the front desk, housekeeping or valet, was always very friendly, courteous and always willing to go that extra step to make you feel welcome or assist you. The unit was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bed provided a comfortable night’s rest and the kitchen was amply equipped. Location, location, location. How can you go wrong being right off of Waikiki Beach. The Beach is just a short block away and a great place to spend the day reading a book, snoozing, swimming or walking along the beach. After a day at the beach, you can return to your unit and either enjoy a home-cooked meal prepared in your personal kitchen or simply walk to some of the best restaurants in the area. The area offers a wide variety of cuisine in a complete range of prices. Like to shop? The hotel is located right in the middle of shopping mecca; from the International Market to specialty boutiques. The roof-top swimming pool is a favourite place for sun-worshippers to gather. On an exchange? At the end of the day, go upstairs to the Owners Lounge, mingle with fellow travelers, take in a beautiful sunset and even watch fireworks (usually on a Friday). Bang for the buck? Our buck stops here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    187
    87
    30
    22
See reviews for
135
120
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indian River, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are dirty yuck. Got here an the sink was backed up popcorn on floor spider in bed and dryer up puke on the toilet great location though

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I just returned from a week in this place. IT was an exchange from my existing timeshare in Cancun. I was hoping for similar to what I have in Cancun but that did not happen. We had a 1 bedroom Banyan suite. It has a queen bed in the bedroom ( looks more like a full bed) a full murphy bed, and queen pull out sofa (horribly uncomfortable). We had 3 adults and my 4yr old daughter. It was a tight fit. They say it is good for 3 but really 2 is best. Not necessarily a family place... I did not get a welcoming family feeling especially when I took my daught to the roof top pool. We were in 802, I personally did not sleep well our view was of the back alley and trucks start coming in about 4 am. The tour busses are coming in about 6 am. It is very close to the tour bus pick up location at the Sheraton just right around the corner in alley so that is convient for touring.
There is no kitchen just a convection microwave, small sink, and mini fridge. We ususally prefer to cook ourselves. THere are tons of restaurants in a very short distance. Cleanliness leaves a bit to be desired. THe floors are dirty looking, the decor is old. They only come once a week to clean your room. The rest of the time you have to go down to housekeeping to request new linens and pick them up. Ice machine is on the 2nd floor in the garage or the 26th floor.
Upon Check in if you have an exchange they have to take your credit card info for a $100 deposit up front. but it was not charged to me just the daily room tax. If you have to print anything at the front desk it is $.50/page. With the owners Exchange you get access to the owners lounge on the 26th floor which is nice and has a nice view of beach.
THe staff was nice but not outgoing but you could tell they had good relationships with the people who come often. The tour concierge Michael in the lobby was very good and booked everything for us. Through him I recommend on your first days take the majestic circle Island tour and the Polynesian Culture Center tour. They show you places you will want to go back to the rest of your trip.
Would I use this place again If I had not other options but I would have to get a larger suite if one is available because the family.

Room Tip: THe higher the room the better and you want closer to the back of the building toward the beach. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We recently returned from a week at the Imperial (corner of Kalia and Lewers) in Waikiki. This was our 7th trip to Hawaii and 4th trip to Oahu. One of us stayed on Lewers Street 30 years ago (in a place since torn down) so it was quite interesting to see the changes.

The location (across from the Halekulani on the beach side and Roy's/Trump/Embassy Suites across Lewers) is hard to beat. Just steps from the beach and in the middle of all the *happy hour* activity in the area. Plenty of places to eat, drink, walk, relax, etc.

Also, our favorite haunt while there was the ABC Store down below. You can get everything there --- food to fix in the unit, juices/alcohol/souvenirs/clothing ---- everything. That ABC store became like home to us during our stay.

There are also some clothing/jewelry/souvenir stores adjoining the lobby, as well as a Denny's which we wouldn't normally eat at but the rain was so heavy while we were there that we actually DID eat at the Denny's one night and the food was pretty good.

I can't say enough about the bell staff. The regular desk staff was good but the bell guys who you work with to move your car back-and-forth OR to call a cab ---- OUTSTANDING. Friendly, polite, efficient, helpful. They don't get any better. I loved those guys.

We rented a car for two days (parts of 3 days --- 48-hours) and because we got the unit on an RCI exchange (thus I guess we qualified for a timeshare parking rate), we paid $20 for two days of parking. Obviously, we gave the guys well-deserved tips. It was cheaper than I expected and so easy to leave the keys with the guys.

The hotel has a pool up on top and a couple of hottubs on the 3rd floor, along with a sauna and fitness room there. We didn't use any of those as the weather was so awful --- constant rain. But, they are there and we did check them out.

We paid for the DSL internet. The Imperial didn't have wireless available. Internet was $15 a week which we were happy to have since we needed to change all our plans, due to the weather. Very handy to have access for a lot of quick Googling.

As far as the unit, we got what we reserved (an RCI trade) and it had many amentities (Palm unit --- 2 baths, 2 flatscreen TV's, DVD players, full kitchen, 2 extra beds as fold-outs, etc.) but, frankly, it was a dump. Except for the new Mr. Coffee coffeepot and the flatscreen TV's, everything else in the kitchen was very old and dated. The stove and dishwasher and microwave looked so old, I didn't use them. Fixtures are dated. Cabinets are very dated and cheapo particle board. Furniture and tile and bath counters were very old and looked dirty or very tired. There was a huge chip (chunk out of) in a bath counter.

It's possible that the unit we had was one which had never been upgraded as we did see pictures of other units in the building which were more modern and less tacky. Also, there are a lot of mirrors in the unit which make it look bigger than it was, in the advertising.

Our unit (2004, on the 20th floor) is about 520 square feet (we measured it) and did have two tiny balconies, but the unit backed out to the Waikiki Parc and the Sheraton (with a small ocean view between the Sheraton and the Halekulani) and seemed to be in an elevator shaft-type space. In other words, down below were the generators (and garbage-collection centers) of all the high-rise hotels and we could not open the balcony doors without being overtaken with a huge roar of noise.

All in all --- we appreciated the location and the staff (and the comfortable bed in the tiny bedroom) but our unit was a *blast from the past* (old and tired) and not relaxing. We're not so picky on the view but it would have been nice to have a little more quiet out on the balcony, so that we could open the patio doors without being blasted with high-volume urban generator noise.

Maybe they'll upgrade unit 2004 soon? It sure needs it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which isn't over the hotel generators. It can be extremely loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Spent two weeks here in Waikiki. The imperial is not the fanciest hotel but a great location. Having a full kitchen while in Hawaii works great for us. The hotel can use some updating but it is clean and staff is great. Worth the money. The hotel is a small walk to the beach, one small block. There are grills on the beach which we used often for both lunches and dinners. There are many supermarkets nearby, I recommend the Food Pantry. Close, clean and reasonable in price.

Room Tip: Upper floors may provide some oceans views depending on floor and location of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Can't say any more (or enough) about the location, it's perfect. Close to everything you need in Waikiki, incuding the beach. The hotel (or resort, however you want to describe it) is an older building but is clean and comfortable. We stayed in a Palm suite for a week (Interval exchange) and it is quite comfortable for 2, not sure I would want to stay with 4 and definitely not 6 as advertised. Other big pluses are ABC Store on site (although you can find 20+ more within a 10 min walk), Denny's on site (a tad expensive but open early), owner's lounge on the 26th floor has magnificent views (yes it is available to exchangers, no it is not available to renters). About the only negative I can think of is although they have 3 elevators, they are all pretty slow. All in all the Imperial helped make the first Hawaii vacation a very enjoyable one. The hustle of Waikiki was fun, off to the Big Island for a quieter second week (Kona Coast Resort review coming soon).

Room Tip: Third floor is not a good choice (hosekeeping services located here), higher floors are nice but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Imperial's location can't be beat for downtown action, catching excursions or hopping on the trolley. Waikiki means shopping and restaurants, it is not the carribean vacation you have experienced in the past. Definitely do the cirlce island tour on your first day and then make plans to go back to Haunama Bay to do the snorkelling, this is where you'll get the most kick for your buck and experience.

The beach is a city block away, what beach there is..remember Waikiki is a manmade beach. The hotel has a pool on the roof top that is the same size as most homes. It is incased in cement walls with no view, windy. The hot tub facility is a joke, with two home style hot tubs on the 3rd floor, only one worked.

The hotel staff is great and friendly, a Denny's is located next door. This hotel needs to do some upgrading, it is very functional but small. Do not stay in a studio, even for two people!!! We stayed in a Banyan and it fit us and our luggage. Waikiki is a touring holiday, not a beach holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lewers street, if you don't you will listen to garbage trucks all night lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Address: 205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.