We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location..functional not luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki to your Saves list
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Trenton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location..functional not luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Imperial's location can't be beat for downtown action, catching excursions or hopping on the trolley. Waikiki means shopping and restaurants, it is not the carribean vacation you have experienced in the past. Definitely do the cirlce island tour on your first day and then make plans to go back to Haunama Bay to do the snorkelling, this is where you'll get the most kick for your buck and experience.

The beach is a city block away, what beach there is..remember Waikiki is a manmade beach. The hotel has a pool on the roof top that is the same size as most homes. It is incased in cement walls with no view, windy. The hot tub facility is a joke, with two home style hot tubs on the 3rd floor, only one worked.

The hotel staff is great and friendly, a Denny's is located next door. This hotel needs to do some upgrading, it is very functional but small. Do not stay in a studio, even for two people!!! We stayed in a Banyan and it fit us and our luggage. Waikiki is a touring holiday, not a beach holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lewers street, if you don't you will listen to garbage trucks all night lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    186
    87
    30
    22
See reviews for
135
118
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel room was upgraded to an ocean view by someone in reservations. The view was spectacular.
We rented a car and felt the conceirge desk would have preferred that we book our tours through their services, not very helpful at all.
Best advice we received was from our rent a car agent at the airport. Three wonderful places for dining were recommended. Also, used the Internet, Trip Advisor for other places to see & dine.
Breakfast @ the hotel was $30 pp and dinner $60 pp. A bit pricy.
Do not go @ Christmas, it drizzeled everyday except one.

Room Tip: If handicapped, request a room that is handicapped and near elevator. This hotel is enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Preface: I booked a studio for 3 days for myself. When my friend arrived I moved to a 1-bedroom for a week. See my other review for the 1-bedroom.

Service/Staff: Accommodating. Polite, but not particularly outgoing, warm or friendly. Occasionally a single person at the front desk could not efficiently handle the line of guests.

Amenities: Good weight room, sauna and nice rooftop pool. An owner’s lounge on the top floor is a nice place to relax and take in panoramic views. Overnight parking is reasonable for Waikiki at $25/nt. No free Wi-Fi, Lan connection for pay.

Location: Premium. The Imperial is an excellent location in the middle of Waikiki. 1 block to the beach, steps to all shopping, restaurants and amenities.

Studio room, Unit 301 : Clean but Horrible. Dark, dank, depressing and noisy. Located 1-foot from housekeeping’s door, 3 feet from the staffs changing room, and next to the sauna, spa, and gym, doors were always banging/sqeeking, opening and closing 24 hours a day. The patio of 301 was covered with a tarp. No light, no view. Situated on a alley, workers on smoking breaks could be heard at all hours. This room should not be available to guests. It should be storage. In fact, all rooms on the 3rd floor should be avoided. At over $100/nt, there is no value in these rooms. If I had to stay more than 3 days in this room, it would ruin a vacation.

Please see my other review of Unit 905.

As always; I travel to Waikiki several times a year, I can advise that Waikiki is a nice tropical urban adventure. The city comes with the negatives of a big city, along with the overwhelming benefits of a beautiful beachfront resort. Generally, everything in Waikiki is “a little tired” although there have been continuous improvements in the last few years. If you are traveling solo, take Roberts Hawaii from the airport for $10 (no rsvr rqd). Two or more people, take a taxi from the airport to the hotel (should be under $30). In Waikiki, nearly everything is walking distance or a short shuttle/bus away. If you need a car for the day, you can rent one in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Do not allow yourself to be put on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012 via mobile

Typical timeshare with need for update. Nice staff, convenient location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed for seven nights with family (2 aduts, 2 teenagers). One bedroom with fold down bed in lounge was cosy, but as the location was excellent, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Roof top pool was good, as was the bar / lounge on level 27, especially for a viewing the Friday night fireworks from the Hilton Village resort. Decor is a bit dated, but great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We just stayed 9 days in the hotel in a one bedroom Banyan suite on an exchange through Interval International. It is not a 4 star hotel by any means and is pretty outdated to say the least but the room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The location is one of the best in Waikiki and close to beach, shops and restaurants. You can certainly get by without a car but you do need one to see the rest of the island which is beautiful. We had a problem with little tiny ants in the kitchen and bathroom areas in our room at one point and management was excellent and very accommodating. They switched our room to a top floor suite and we never had a problem after this. Aside from that issue we had a great stay. I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you would like a view with less noise the higher floor units are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I booked this hotel for my daughter and her friend as it was in close proximity to the beach and across the road from where we were staying at the Embassy. For the price paid ($111 + taxes and service fee) it offered a good budget alternative. I stayed one night when my daughter was ill to look after her. Her room on the 10th floor overlooking Lewers Street was very noisy and showed signs of age and neglect.There was rust on most of the bathroom fittings and the sheets and towels were worn, faded and stained. However, the room itself appeared to be cleaned well, though the carpets were overdue a steam clean. A friend stayed on the opposite side of the hotel though overlooking the Sheraton and this side of the hotel was much quieter and from the balcony (and pool deck) offered great sea views (Floor 21).
Security was lacking somewhat as the keycard access on the elevators had been disabled meaning anyone could access floors. Housekeeping was sporadic as was front desk service.
Overall a good hotel for anyone wanting a cheap, no frills hotel close to the beach.

Room Tip: Request a room away from Lewers Street - on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Address: 205 Lewers St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.