We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ilima Hotel to your Saves list
Ilima Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Enjoyed our time at the Ilima. The full kitchen in the room was very useful, although we did not use the stove. It was fully equipped had we decided to cook. Instead, we just used the refrigerator and microwave for leftovers and snacks. We enjoyed the Friday night fireworks from the 10th floor sundeck thanks to a staff recommendation. Can't praise the staff enough--they were always friendly and willing to answer questions and give directions. Room was very clean.
Our fourth floor room had a lanai, but was too low to have a view. Two blocks got you to the beach and there was a street type market through Duke's Lane on the way to the beach. Bus stop was one and a half blocks away in front of the Food Pantry where we picked up water, snacks, etc. Our grandson and I enjoyed making the nut leis. That is a very nice amenity, and free. We thought we got a good rate for our room and were very satisfied with our stay. Would definitely stay again if we have the opportunity to return. We met a lady while making leis who told us she had been coming to Honolulu annually for 27 years and had always stayed at the Ilima. That speaks very well for their staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    315
    54
    25
    12
See reviews for
225
218
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed one night as we arrived one day early for our 8 day vacation at our time share property.
The staff were very friendly, the room was spacious and the parking free. Although the bed was uncomfortable (a personal preference), and the room was dated I would still give it four stars.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I had very comfortable stay for 6 days at Ilima Hotel. I stayed at a studio room. The room facing to the mountains on the 8th floor was very spacious. The room was equipped with nice kitchen . The kitchen has an oven ,a microwave oven, a big refrigerator and 4 cooking heater, dishes, cups and so on. The bath room is also good , equipped with full sized bath tub.
The swimming pool located back side of the hotel building is not big, but its good point to mention is that the water is heated up comfortable temperature in winter time. I felt the hotel building itself is old but well-maintained. The laundry machines are available in the hotel. Location is very convenient but quiet. The hotel staffs are nice and friendly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

You are 2 blocks from EVERYTHING! You have a small kitchen and a balcony. PLUS free parking. Best deal we could find and I would totally stay there again!!!! And the staff was really friendly :) After staying at Turtle Bay and Paradise Bay I was shocked that they were the only ones that gave us a lei. Finally felt like I was appreciated :) Save the money and stay here! Trust me there are plenty of other places to blow your money :)

Room Tip: Pay more for the larger rooms. Still so cheap and you have more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is our 3rd time staying at the Ilima, and it continues to be a low-key, comfortable, clean place to stay. Our upper-level room facing the canal was big, clean, and with a comfortable bed. The staff continues to be professional and friendly. My main suggestion is to pay extra for an upper level room facing mauka (inland toward the canal) rather than pretending to get an ocean view from the other side. The hotel is old but well maintained; just don't expect luxury, a fancy lobby, room service, etc. Do bring ear plugs because you will have the windows open (though there are room air conditioners they really aren't necessary) and there is a bit of street/partying noise.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an upper level room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have not been to a hotel with such friendly and capable staff. They bent over backwards to make your stay enjoyable form the free lei making session to letting us out on the penthouse level for evening canal photography.
While an older hotel, it was clean, incredibly big, well equipped and quiet. Great value for the price.
There is a full service store a few short streets away and some things like pop, booze, and some groceries only a couple doors away, towards the beach. World famous Waikiki beach is only a couple shorts blocks away as well. Great restaurants all around including Duke's at the Outrigger, Cheesecake factory, and California Pizza all within a couple blocks.
Bus transportation was close and easy.
If you are looking for an ABC store there are only one or two per block.

Room Tip: A higher floor on the canal side gives the best view, but the opposite side will likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unanderra
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

5 minute walk to the beach and compared to prices of other hotels in the area this hotel had all you needed. Full kitchen, large rooms with balcony and friendly staff. Not a 5 star but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.