We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 80-s style hotel without Aloha spirit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ilima Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$110 (USD)
Ranked #27 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice 80-s style hotel without Aloha spirit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Probably, it is not only in this hotel, but in general in Honolulu that the well-known Aloha spirit is missing. We did not feel welcome when we checked in ilima. We could have got a smile, since we paid money, couldn't we?
The furniture was of 80-s style, but that was fine, as it made us feel as if we appeared in old good time when movies about Hawaii were made.
The room was clean. The air conditioner was rather old and noisy. When we turned it off and opened windows, the noise of cars serenes was not any better.
Location was good and it took us about 10 minutes to get to Waikiki beach and a couple of minutes - to city souvenirs market.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    294
    47
    25
    10
See reviews for
195
201
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I needed two reasonably priced rooms and booked this based on Tripadvisors reviews and wasn't disappointed at all. Sure, it isn't 5 stars, but for the price and location you really can't beat it. Rooms are spacious and clean. We got views of the Ali Wai Canal, golf course and mountains which could not have been any better. Rooms are a tad worn, but being one block from the International Market place and 2 blocks from center of Waikiki and the beach make up for it. The street that the hotel is located on is quiet during the day, but the evenings along with Kuhio Ave tend to get a tad seedy since there is a local tavern and tons of tourist, but we never felt unsafe. Bathrooms looked renovated. Rooms included full refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, cook ware and utensils. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The only downside would be the small pool and it is an older property but well maintained. Starbucks and Denny's was one block from hotel plus convenience store on same block. Foodland Supermarket was 2 blocks from hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Alai Canal and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We thought we were being smart by trying to save money by booking a hotel that was a few dollars cheaper per night than more reputable and more recently refurbished hotels. We were wrong.

It just wasnt worth it. The entirety of the hotel gave off this dingy, grimy feeling that never really allowed us to be comfortable. The rooms were an ok size but desperately need updating. We were hoping to take advantage of the free parking but found that it was almost impossible to get a spot! We ended up just going to a pay lot a few blocks away because we just didn't want to bother with it anymore.

The staff were somewhat nice but mostly just seemed bored and uninterested - I feel that sums up the hotel. Shabby and rundown and not any real value.

We would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in HNL for 6 days rather than the initially expected 2 days and were glad we had picked the Ilima. It is near the canal rather than the beach but conveniently close to restaurants, food stores and transport. Our 16th floor room had a good outlook, was large and had a full kitchen. Kitchen cupboards were old but most appliances fairly new making it easy for us to eat in when we wanted. We also appreciated the good guest laundry and helpful staff. Very good value for Waikiki.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I flew in late and needed a cheaper place to stay before we drove up to the north shore the next day. Hotel was in a good location and clean. It's a little outdated and needs some new beds but it had what we needed. It would be a good place to stay if you were in Honolulu for a while as the rooms have full kitchens in them.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Ilima Hotel was handy to all amenities. Within walking distance (2 blocks) to Waikiki Beach, close to restaurants and shopping. The bus stop was one block away and only a five minute walk with buses going to both ends of Honolulu.
The Ilima Hotel had large rooms with a queen and king size bed. There was a kitchenette with tea and coffee supplied, a stove, microwave, toaster, pot, pans, etc - everything to cook your own meal.

Room Tip: The view to the mountain was probably better than towards the ocean as only glimpses were seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first stay and It will not be the last stay very Friendly staff. There is a washer and dryer and that helped out greatly. The room is very large with frig , table and sink. The pool is small but we didn't go there for that. Had a great time....

Room Tip: Go for the top floor 16 ,15 or 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.