We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ilima Hotel to your Saves list
Ilima Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
La Porte, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I booked our hotel based on the reviews and I was definitely glad I did. This was our first trip to Hawaii and Ilima Hotel made it a fantastic one! The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the kitchenette was a huge plus! Location was perfect - just a few blocks from everything. I would recommend requesting a room facing the mountains and canal. Previous reviewers recommended it, but I forgot to mention it. The balcony was pleasant but the view could have been better. Such a minor mention compared to the cost and service! Don't pass this gem up!!

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room facing the mountains and canal. Previous reviewers recommended i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    315
    54
    25
    12
See reviews for
225
218
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had one night here as a break in a trip from Brisbane to New York. The Ilima met all our needs - the location is excellent and the price is good for Waikiki. There's plenty of room, we used the kitchen facilities and they gave us a late check out until after lunch. The street it's on is a bit basic but that did mean that it was quiet and the curtains were dark so we slept well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I and other members of our family recently booked a Hawaiian cruise and needed a place to stay both before and after the cruise. My daughter's mother-in-law found this hotel and booked it about a year in advance of our trip. Our rate was $100.00 per night for an efficiency room that included a refrigerator, a microwave, a stove, plates, cups, glasses, utensils, a flat screen tv, air conditioning, a pool, a sundeck and free parking in the adjacent parking garage, And I've probably forgotten something. Oh yeah, there are numerous inexpensive shuttles from Honolulu Airport to this hotel. One such shuttle was $8/person.

The hotel is located within walking distance of a large variety of restaurants and shops in all price ranges, and is also within walking distance of Waikiki Beach. And just to make things a little easier, Enterprise Car Rental is literally across the street. I'll do a separate review on them at a later date. (They were great).

The staff were extremely polite, helpful and professional, and had answers to any "touristy" questions we posed to them.

With a little planning, you can save a lot of money and be very comfortable at this hotel.

Room Tip: Book here as far in advance as you can to ensure a room with this great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I booked the Ilima for my work trip last month. Second time in 2 years. Pretty much the same comments from last time hold sway:

The Pros - 1) A Bargain, 200 bucks a night got me a suite with a Kitchenette. 2) Free Parking (though one night I was forced to park on the street and got a parking ticket. Spaces are also challenging - tight and lots of concrete stanchions to avoid. 3) Perfect proximity: Close enough to walk to all the Waikiki destinations, but not so close that you are sucked into the vortex of insane crowds and valets and whatnot. 4) Very friendly staff.

The Cons: 1) Dated. Material condition issues like a window AC unit in my bedroom that wasn't keeping up. But most nights, the breeze was so nice that I just slept with the window open.

For the value and location, budget-minded travelers can't go wrong with the Ilima.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having now stayed with the Ilima Hotel on many occasions we thought that it's time to provide others with the benefit of our knowledge, having stayed here over many years.

The rooms are among the largest in Waikiki and certainly the largest in their price-range and although some rooms could use an upgrade the room sizes, staff and hotel location far outweigh the downside. Every time you check in as a returning guest you are greeted as a close ohana member.

The hotel has a small pool, gym and limited parking and the Friday morning staff sing-along is a nice touch.

Located around the corner from a bus stop in Kuhio Avenue it is only a short walk through the International Market Place to Kalakaua Avenue and a stroll to the beach.

It's always nice to return to the Ilima.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived late at night but were greeted very warmly by the reception staff. The room looked like it was still 1960s or 70s but was very clean. Then came morning, I went back down to the concierges area, and there was a 90 year old staff member sitting at the desk with a huge portable typewriter and a very old phone. He was wearing a tweed jacket and it looked adorable. I loved it. It was like being transported to 1960s. Our 3 days there and nights there went without a hitch. Easy access to the the market place, beach and a good laundry area inside the hotel were a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ilima Hotel was in a good area, two blocks or so from the beach, near all the top stores and marketplaces. But it was also just enough away from these places/areas to give you some peace and quiet. Staff were friendly and courteous. Only issue with the hotel, and the reason it didn't get a five rating, was the hair left in the bathroom from the previous guests. Yuck. Housekeeping was in general good but this was just wrong. When you get in after long flight at 11pm this is not what you want to see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.