We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for your Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ilima Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$110 (USD)
Ranked #27 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Value for your Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room is old-dated but it was very spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and some very informative. If you needed anything they were efficient in getting what you needed. The location was very close to Waikiki Beach only a few blocks away. As well its so close to nearby restaurants. It was a block and half from Marukame Udon Restaurant. Awesome restaurant with fresh Udon - value for your money. Close to Starbucks as well!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal is probably going to be more quieter. The other side had a garbage truck com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    293
    47
    25
    10
See reviews for
195
201
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Very good location, easy to get to beach, International market. They gave us towels for the beach our room was very large, House keeping every day. Bus les than a block. Away. Thank you to staff for great service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just returned from spending a few days at the Ilima Hotel in Waikiki. Small, boutique, family owned hotel. The staff is excellent. They understand and practice aloha. Rooms are very large.
Hotel is very clean and well maintained. Location is excellent. Excellent value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick the size you need. Higher floors are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

great location, walking distance to everything. the hotel needs a bit of updating though but very affordable. i wouldn't mind staying here again. they have free lei making classes every wednesday but check with reception to make sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very friendly, accomodating staff! The rooms are large and spacious. The beds are small (doubles) and we were concerned but they were extremely comfortable. It is very dated but very clean. The location was great to walk to Waikiki Beach and shopping. We stayed two nights - one when we flew in and one when we flew out. We stayed ion the other side of the island the rest of the time. Chose this plce based on the price and location. We were not disappointed. If you want a large, clean, inexpensive room, friendly staff and don't care that the decor is dated then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This review will sounds just like all the others. Yes...the hotel rooms need updating. But...if they did the updates, the prices would be unaffordable for most of us. As they are now, they are extremely clean and each day, the maids leave shampoo, soap, face cleaner and other goodies...amenities you would expect in a five star hotel. We had a one bedroom suite which came with a full kitchen, breakfast bar, two 32-inch flat screen HDTV's (in living room and bedroom), a stereo, two telephones and all the amenities we needed for our 10-day stay. The hotel itself is positioned right in the thick of it in Waikiki...just a couple of blocks from the beach and the room was just $198 per night with FREE PARKING...which is unheard of in a hotel in Waikiki!
So when you're judging the worn places on the sofa and chairs, you just have to keep in mind that if you were looking at brand new furniture, you'd be paying over $350 per night. We flew first class in to Honolulu on Hawaiian Air....and the dated furniture didn't bother us in the least. Actually, we thought the room was quite charming....rattan and floral patterns suited us just fine. The most important thing I can convey, however, is about the food in Waikiki. If you want value in dining...get out of Waikiki. Be sure to find your way to Lobster King on King Street. Unfortunately, we only heard about it on our final day...but it was incredible. It's where the locals eat. In fact, I think we were the only non-Asians there. I ordered the roast duck for $11.95 and, as a lover of roast duck, I can say it was the best I've ever eaten. My husband loved his Mongolian Beef as well. I just wished we'd found the place early in our stay. It's only about 3 miles from the hotel and worth the bus or taxi trip (we had a rent car). Go around 2:30pm. Otherwise you'll have to wait an hour to get seated....it's that good. As for the Ilima Hotel....don't be afraid. If you're not on a limited budget and the sky's the limit....stay at the Royal Hawaiian or the Moana Hotel...the two oldest, most glorious hotels in Waikiki. But, if you're on a budget...stay at the Ilima like we did, then go to those two hotels and enjoy them for dinner. On our final night, we dropped $200 at the Royal Hawaiian for dinner and it was worth every penny as we dined on the lanai by the beach. Saving money at the Ilima allowed us this final night splurge. It also allowed us to play golf at Turtle Bay and Ko'Oalau. I guess it depends on where you place your priorities. FYI - we also had a smoking room...Ilima is one of the few hotels in Honolulu which still has a smoking floor.

Room Tip: Ilima is one of the few hotels in Honolulu which still has a smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.