We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ilima Hotel to your Saves list
Ilima Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Oakland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed Jan 9-18 in a two-bedroom suite and found the property to be everything we
expected (with the exception of in-room wi-fi- our mistake; only high speed free in-room
internet access advertised ). Neighborhood was noisy, but worth it for the convenience of
location. Fitness room has 2 cardio machines only, but in new condition. Laundry room
a big help. Free parking on a first-come, first-served basis (excellent buses and central
location made car rental unnecessary for us). Our suite looked exactly like the photos
on the website. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    315
    54
    25
    12
See reviews for
225
218
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our fifth time staying at the Ilima over the past decade. We will be back again, maybe next Christmas. This stay was for 10 nights, over both Christmas and New Year's Day. The prices at this time are of course at their highest, but still good value for Waikiki.
The lobby is actually quite stylish--perhaps Art Deco--and quite inviting. The front desk staff are always pleasant and helpful, and efficiently get guests registered. I sat in the lobby to play on my ipad in the evening and was amazed to see how many people are frequent visitors. One man had been coming with his partner for decades!
The pool is small and too shady, but it is hardly used at all. My son used the gym and found it helpful, but he said it didn't have weights.
Rooms are large and have functional kitchens with microwaves and small stoves. Decent size fridge.
Parking is tight but free. Most days there was room, but you need to pay for parking across the street if the lot is full.
The hotel gives towels and mats for the beach.
Everything is clean.
But the best thing about the Ilima is the people, many who have worked there for years. Ema is best! (Management seems to treat staff well--I heard the managers talking about a staff member who messed up a reservation, but they just chuckled and found a way to resolve the issue. I'm not sure that the staff member even learned he had erred!) We have made friends with some people, and know other guests have visited staff at their homes.
It is not the fanciest place in Waikiki, but as I said, we will be back...

Room Tip: I prefer the mountain view rooms. Higher is better, but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed from January 17, 2013 until January 20, 2013.
The front desk was extremely helpful and pleasant.
The lobby and common areas were clean and very functional.
The bedroom was very large and comfortable. We had 2 double beds a nice bathroom and a kitchen area.
The hotel is very central and if you want a vacation hotel that is not part of the large impersonal chains then this is a place for you and your family. We met guests who have been coming annually for in excess of 20 years
It is good value and we would stay there again. WE recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ilima Hotel in the beginning of October. We took a cruise around the islands on Norwegian Cruise Lines We actually stayed here four nights before our cruise and returned for two nights after our cruise.
The Ilima hotel is not a luxury hotel. I think some people expect a little too much considering the reasonable price paid ($139/night) for a hotel two blocks from Waikiki beach. It was reasonably clean and the staff cleaned the room every day, providing fresh linens. The front desk staff was always helpful and pleasant.
The full kitchen was great. We ate most of our meals in the room, buying food at the local Safeway or at a seafood fish market. It’s a great way to save time and money. We did have a car, which is the only way to really get around Oahu. There is free parking at the hotel which consists of the lower three floors of the hotel, as a parking garage. We didn’t have any problems finding a parking spot, but, I could see how that could be challenging at night.
One room was facing Waikiki beach, however, you really can’t see the water from the balcony, even on the upper floor of the hotel. The view is pretty much, the tops of buildings. The second room overlooked the Ala Wai canal and golf course. You could see the beautiful hills from the balcony. The view is much better on the east side, but the traffic noise seems to be louder.
We walked to the beach daily, its about two blocks. Sunset from the beach is not to be missed. There are small shops every where in the beach area that range from extremely expensive to very reasonable. When visiting tourist sites in downtown Honolulu we took the bus as parking is non existent or very expensive. We used the car to visit the rest of the island.
The room pictures included in many reviews is very accurate as to what the rooms are actually like. All in all I have no complaints about our stay at the Ilima hotel and I would definitely stay there again when I revisit.

Room Tip: Choose the east side overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I tried this hotel because someone I know liked it a lot and highly recommended it. I have to say I am disappointed and was expecting more. Ilima Hotel is not rundown but all it really need is cosmetic updating of the room and bathroom. The rooms are spacious with a kitchen, table and chairs so it is good for a couple or small family of three. The hotel does have free parking for guests but don't rent a large vehicle because the parking space is tight and it is not easy to maneuver around. In addition, parking is limited and don't be surprised if you end up having to park on the street. There is an outdoor pool but it is really for sitting and relaxing so don't expect to do laps. From the hotel, you can pretty much walk to a lot of the attractions in the area. One thing I want readers to be aware, the adjoining hotels on the block seem a bit shady and seedy so do be careful walking alone at night.

Room Tip: Balcony views towards Waikiki Beach are blocked by the other buildings. Views are unspectacular so d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in well known Waikiki area. We reserved a two bedroom suite. The drawback was one bathroom which is certainly not acceptable for the family of four. However staff was friendly particularly the housekeeping lady. Our toilet got clogged on which was promptly taken care of on a single phone call. We may try it next time but not surely.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed there during Christmas 2011 ,a bit outdated but everything was functional ,close to most attractions and busses. Short walk to beach and shopping ,no food available in hotel some vending machines but grocery store a few blocks away. Stove and frig. in room were adequate great for cheaper meals , staff very friendly and tours arranged in lobby by very knowledgable senior citizen . Pool not huge but good enough to cool off in, didn't use fitness center. Try to get room facing inland or on upper floors to eliminate street noise downtown side has some noisy bars nearby. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms higher and on inland side were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.