We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ilima Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$110 (USD)
Ranked #29 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed there during Christmas 2011 ,a bit outdated but everything was functional ,close to most attractions and busses. Short walk to beach and shopping ,no food available in hotel some vending machines but grocery store a few blocks away. Stove and frig. in room were adequate great for cheaper meals , staff very friendly and tours arranged in lobby by very knowledgable senior citizen . Pool not huge but good enough to cool off in, didn't use fitness center. Try to get room facing inland or on upper floors to eliminate street noise downtown side has some noisy bars nearby. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms higher and on inland side were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    296
    48
    25
    12
See reviews for
204
206
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Overall good bargain for stay in Waikiki area. I mean stay. If you travel with children you need a reasonable swimmingpool, witch we saw from our balcony facing to canal and mountains, however
the sun never shinedon to our balcony. The wiev is better at this side.
Rooms are nice and roomy,outdated furniture with fridge and stowe. Also plates and eating tools, basic cooking material is provided, just bring salt and pepper, they get you started. We made our breakfast everyday at room.
Prices are higher in Waikiki area, but if you rent a car, you find nice supermarkets outside. You will find that eating out in any place in Waikiki is average mininimun 20 $ with a drink, small pizza 18$.
Hotel has complementary parking, but the slots are a bit narrow so you dont want rent a big car.
Friendly staff in this hotel, cleaning everyday, so I might think coming back just for few days as a couple,
Mahalo.

Room Tip: Mountains are nicer than walls from other hotels to look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My family and I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks in a standard studio. The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. It was very handy having a kitchen and the good sized fridge stored plenty of food and drinks. We had a view of the canal and the hill behind it in the distance, which at night sparkled with lights from the houses. Close to shops, the market place, restaurants and a short walk to the beach. The pool was refreshing in the heat. The staff were very nice and helpful. The price we paid was good value and we were very happy with our stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchholz in der Nordheide, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in Ilima Hotel 21.10.-28.10.12 7 nights in the 5th floor facing the city to Nahua street. The room was quiet, clean and spacy. A highlight defintely is the courtesy garage where we always found a free lot. The small fitness center (no airco) is next to a Sauna which fortunately was not used by anybody – this could be a problem because it will get hot on the training equipment. The hotel is centrally situated in Waikiki with restaurants and shops in walking distances and larger supermarkets in short riding distance.
.All in all a good deal for a comfortable stay in Waikiki
The management did a good job during a Tsunami warning on our last evening in keeping people informed.

Room Tip: try to get on the upper floors to have a little view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Ilima 35 years ago. Only thing that I notice that has been updated since then is the lobby. It's a budget hotel in the hub of it all. For those commenting on the noise. It's Waikiki... It's a city with a famous beach. It's full of tourists shopping, creating garbage and noise. The noise pollution is just a fact of life, as with any other urban centre.

The staff were all helpful and courteous. But a extra special shout out to Dayna and Robin!! (Dayna will you marry me?) ;)

You can save money on food due to the fact the Ilima provides a full kitchen. Otherwise you're looking at somewhere near $10 per person, per meal when eating out. That adds up quickly if you're with a family. That being said, you will be a little taken aback by the grocery prices at nearby Foodland and ABC. I suggest bringing from home some "to go" packets of salt, pepper, mayo, catsup. Whatever various seasonings and condiments you enjoy, as there were none in the room. A tiny bottle of mayo set me back over $4. (But it was Thanksgiving weekend, so very few deals on anything.)

There's a safe in the room, for a $2.50 per day charge. I brought my own beach towel. They do offer free towels and roll-out bamboo mats. But I found the towels supplied to be quite small. It made for a good beach pillow though. :)

At tip to save over 40% on your room rate. Book directly through the hotels website. Pick your dates. Click the drop-down where it says "Rack," and click on "Hot Deals." My rate went from $178 to $100 p/night. You're not going to beat that in Waikiki.

I paid more to stay at the Ohana East last year, and I would definitely recommend the Ilima over the OE for room size, cooking facilities and bed comfort alone. (OE had the worst bed I've ever slept in.)

You're not going to find glitz n glamour. But it's clean. It's roomy. It's reasonable. It's just a couple blocks from the beach, and right near the thick of things. As long as you're not expecting some posh accommodation... I totally recommend it!

Room Tip: North facing rooms won't be quite as noisy. As it faces away from Kuhio and the early morning g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

we arrived nov 28 for a 23 night stay as soon we got in to the room we smelled mold the room was dirty i removed the pitifull air cond.cover i never seen so much mold in to a unit before, made us sick i called the front desk to report the problem and to be moved to onother room she er response was that she had specific instructions from the manager not to move us from the room
the following day the air cond. was replaced and the maint. man left a 3inc gap all roud the unit so i went out got maskin tape and fix it my self this hothel only cater to our friend from japan not us from the main land we are from florida bottom line this place is dirty smelly and old

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for 9 nights in November 2012. Did not get one good nights sleep as road noise was dreadful. Not only the cars and noisy mopeds, but people yahooing to all hours, garbage trucks at five in morning etc etc.Ear plugs did not even help! We were on the 8th floor at front and asked to be moved after first night but all the 2 bedrooms faced the road. Room was ok . Old but relatively clean. Beds very hard. Close to shops and restaurants. Was bit disappointed after reading all the great reviews about friendly staff as quite often felt like I was intruding on their conversations when approaching the desk for assistance. Overall was disappointed after picking this hotel based on the good reviews on this site.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.