We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for your buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ilima Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$110 (USD)
Ranked #27 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Maple Ridge BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best bang for your buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Ilima 35 years ago. Only thing that I notice that has been updated since then is the lobby. It's a budget hotel in the hub of it all. For those commenting on the noise. It's Waikiki... It's a city with a famous beach. It's full of tourists shopping, creating garbage and noise. The noise pollution is just a fact of life, as with any other urban centre.

The staff were all helpful and courteous. But a extra special shout out to Dayna and Robin!! (Dayna will you marry me?) ;)

You can save money on food due to the fact the Ilima provides a full kitchen. Otherwise you're looking at somewhere near $10 per person, per meal when eating out. That adds up quickly if you're with a family. That being said, you will be a little taken aback by the grocery prices at nearby Foodland and ABC. I suggest bringing from home some "to go" packets of salt, pepper, mayo, catsup. Whatever various seasonings and condiments you enjoy, as there were none in the room. A tiny bottle of mayo set me back over $4. (But it was Thanksgiving weekend, so very few deals on anything.)

There's a safe in the room, for a $2.50 per day charge. I brought my own beach towel. They do offer free towels and roll-out bamboo mats. But I found the towels supplied to be quite small. It made for a good beach pillow though. :)

At tip to save over 40% on your room rate. Book directly through the hotels website. Pick your dates. Click the drop-down where it says "Rack," and click on "Hot Deals." My rate went from $178 to $100 p/night. You're not going to beat that in Waikiki.

I paid more to stay at the Ohana East last year, and I would definitely recommend the Ilima over the OE for room size, cooking facilities and bed comfort alone. (OE had the worst bed I've ever slept in.)

You're not going to find glitz n glamour. But it's clean. It's roomy. It's reasonable. It's just a couple blocks from the beach, and right near the thick of things. As long as you're not expecting some posh accommodation... I totally recommend it!

Room Tip: North facing rooms won't be quite as noisy. As it faces away from Kuhio and the early morning g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    298
    47
    25
    10
See reviews for
197
202
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

we arrived nov 28 for a 23 night stay as soon we got in to the room we smelled mold the room was dirty i removed the pitifull air cond.cover i never seen so much mold in to a unit before, made us sick i called the front desk to report the problem and to be moved to onother room she er response was that she had specific instructions from the manager not to move us from the room
the following day the air cond. was replaced and the maint. man left a 3inc gap all roud the unit so i went out got maskin tape and fix it my self this hothel only cater to our friend from japan not us from the main land we are from florida bottom line this place is dirty smelly and old

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for 9 nights in November 2012. Did not get one good nights sleep as road noise was dreadful. Not only the cars and noisy mopeds, but people yahooing to all hours, garbage trucks at five in morning etc etc.Ear plugs did not even help! We were on the 8th floor at front and asked to be moved after first night but all the 2 bedrooms faced the road. Room was ok . Old but relatively clean. Beds very hard. Close to shops and restaurants. Was bit disappointed after reading all the great reviews about friendly staff as quite often felt like I was intruding on their conversations when approaching the desk for assistance. Overall was disappointed after picking this hotel based on the good reviews on this site.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice this November (2012). Great location (two blocks from the beach and near a lot of restaurants and the International Market), really good sized rooms and the front desk/service staff are outstanding. Not fancy but clean and well appointed. Why would you want to pay more??

Room Tip: We stayed in two separate rooms. Both were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here for 6 nights and have to let you know that it is a bargain and nice hotel with a fantastic location. We had a high floor (14th) that overlooked the Ala Wei Canal. That also gives you a view of the mountains from your lanai.
You are only blocks from the International Market and also from the beach. The hotel has mats and towels for you to borrow and use at the beach.
If you like to run, as I do, this is a good place to run as you don't have to cross streets running from one end to the bridge and back again. It also has nice scenery and many other runners too.
If you rent a car, the hotel is one of the few to offer free but limited parking. During high season it might be hard to find a spot if you come back to late in the day but there are many places to go to locally in the evening here too.
You should check out the special that are offered by the hotel. Just click on the specials at the top of their web page. We spent only $120 a night plus tax for this place and we are going to come back and stay here again. Try to get a room higher up so as to be away from any street noise and to get a better view of the area.
This hotel also has a laundry room so you can bring less cloths with you.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The great location, full kitchens and general comfort have brought us back here 5 times. Each room has a full kitchen, its own large water heater, and plenty of storage. It is close to a grocery and bus lines, covered parking is free, and it is along the quiet canal instead of the crowded beach. It is in Hawaii's busiest tourist area, yet the hotel employees are all friendly and act like the Ilima is a great place to work (one told me some staff have been here over 20 years). The building is looking dated, but it is comfortable and reasonably well-maintained: everything works and there are no smells of mildew, mold, or deodorizers. The photos on Ilima's website show the rooms accurately.

We learned to get a 1-bedroom suite because the premium gets us extra space, a sleeper-sofa (so we can sit someplace other than a bed), and windows on 3 sides for excellent ventilation (not to mention some nice views). The king bed was comfortable, and the A/C cooled the bedroom well for sleeping.

For in-room Internet, bring your laptop for the free hard-wired CAT5 connection; only the lobby has wifi. In-room Internet was adequate to check email, news, weather, and maps. Speeds were consistently slow during our week's stay (.8-.9 Mbps), connections dropped periodically, and in-room access was available to only one hard-wired device at a time. I enabled the virtual router on my Windows 7 laptop, and it sent usable wifi to my tablet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, NSW
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Why would you spend huge $$$ on Waikiki accommodation when you can stay in this little gem? We've just returned from 7 nights at the Ilima Hotel and would go back any time. Huge rooms with wonderful views (we looked out over the mountains), big comfy beds, a little kitchenette, free parking, free internet, lovely staff, and right in the centre of everything!!!!! So glad we chose to stay here!!!!!

Room Tip: We just loved our high room overlooking the canal, golf course and the glorious mountains (with rain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.