We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room with kitchen, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ilima Hotel to your Saves list
Ilima Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
greeley, CO
Level Contributor
293 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Large room with kitchen, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Ilima Hotel which I booked on Booking.com. It is located a couple of blocks off Waikiki and is near the Ala Wai Canal. Our room was on the 15th floor (it has 16 floors) and was a 'Deluxe King Studio' for $122 plus tax. It had a king and queen bed and a small kitchen area. Very nice space with nice views of the city and a little bit of ocean. The lobby staff was nice.

My only two negatives are 1) no wifi in room and 2) no hotel guide. There is wired internet in the room and wifi in the lobby. Both are free. The guide to the hotel is minor, but it could show where the pool, exercise room, and laundry are. The location is fine, being half a block from Kuhio Street where the bus stops are.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I needed to book a room only for 2 nights in Waikiki so I chose Ilima hotel because of the good reviews in several sites. The hotel staff was very helpful and welcoming but I was a little bit dissappointed from the old furniture, decoration and bad smell in our room. Another frastrating thing was that there wan't wifi in rooms. The good thing with the hotel is that is in Waikiki- few minutes distance from the center of the town, the low price (if you are in budget is perfect to stay there) and the nice view of the canal and the mountains. I shouldn't forget to mention that the room was huge and clean and also we had free parking place which is rare in Honolulu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laupahoehoe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We needed a place with a kitchen, and a friend suggested this place. We live on one of the neighbor islands and were here for drs. appointments. It is an older, comfortable place with helpful, friendly staff. We weren't able to get a room on the quieter Ala Wai Canal side but things were just fine.

The location is convenient , and the hotels provides excellent directions. Parking was never a problem for us and is FREE, which is unusual here.

We appreciated having ice already made for us in the freezer as well as cold water in a pitcher. Those of us who live in Hawaii know you don't get cold water from the tap.

We we disappointed that we did not have wi fi in the room, only the lobby, however, you can plug into the Internet in your room if you have a laptop.

We found the beds comfortable and loved the fact that you could have soft sheets and a soft blanket instead of the trendy heavy fluffy duvet cover things.

Room Tip: View is prettier from Ala Wai side, however, we still enjoyed watching the activity from the makai s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I was there from October, 13 to 17th, 2012. I choose this hotel becuase the location, price and the reviews I read in Trip Advisor.

I felt confortable to recommend this hotel. Like I sad worth the price I payed. The staff is very nice, the room is good and clean.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank nsnishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here from 19th August to 2nd September - what can we say, we loved every minute of our stay here the Satff (particularly Shaun and Dayna) could'nt do enough to help us and always had a smile and an ear to listen to us gushing about Hawai'i (even though they must have heard our touristy stories a million times before) Rooms were clean and comfy but a little dated. Rooms were huge and we had a view of the Canal and golf course. This was a "once if a lifetime" trip to celebrate my 50th Birthday and we travelled with our Son (23) and Daughter (15) and never once were we concerned about their well being around the Hotel - if you, like us, are travelling 8,500 miles then do hire a car and drive around the Island since Oahu is truly spectacular - I hope one day to return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beenthereandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The staff were exceptional!! Thank you Courtni, for booking us an amazing room on the 9th floor with balcony overlooking the canal, mountains and golf course. Thank you also that I was able to relax with a cigarette on the balcony - not easily done in Hawaii with the tough anti-smoking laws. The hotel was clean and roomy, a block away from the shops and buses and 2 blocks from the real hustle and bustle of Waikiki which made it the perfect getaway. Every staff member was polite and eager to please as far as possible. Emi, thank you for the lei that you had made. Your generosity surely made me feel like real family receiving a lei in the traditional manner. This low price, high value hotel must be high on your list for consideration. Having a small kitchen meant we saved heaps on food, especially breakfasts. A quick stroll up to the next block to one of the many ABC shops where you can pick up salads, sandwiches, liquor, lollies and anything else you may want left us with plenty of change. All in all, we were delighted.

Room Tip: They do have a couple of floors that are smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal and Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ilima Hotel in Honolulu (Waikiki) mid September this year (2012) for 6 nights pre-cruise and then 1 night and a day post-cruise..

We were exceptionally pleased with the location, value for money, room size and hotel staff.

Location - Waikiki, steps from Kuhio Ave - so - VERY close to stores, restaurants and public transit. It was about a 10 minute walk to the beach. Because Nohonani is a side street it is MUCH quieter than the main streets of Waikiki.

Value for money - I researched possible hotels in Waikiki in detail because we had some very SPECIFIC requirements in a hotel:
Kitchen (at least kitchenette)
Good bedding for 3 adults
Largish room
Near public transit
Near a grocery store or well-stocked convenience store
Laundery faciities on-site
Rating well for cleanliness
Within Walking distance of the beach

The Ilima had all these and more:
Full kitchen
King-sized bed AND large Double Bed
LARGE room
2 blocks from a bus stop
3 blocks from a grocery store
small but adequate laundromat on site
In addition the Ilima has a small pool and a sun deck.
We LOVED the fact that we could mostly turn off the AC and open the windows.
Hotel staff were always helpful and friendly
The room was kept clean and supplied.
It is not a fancy resort-style hotel but it was perfect for our needs since it had all that mattered to us. I would highly recommend it to budget minded travellers with similar needs.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and well ventilated for those who prefer to sleep without AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zenotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#6 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#17 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#21 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,964 reviews
Waikiki Prince
#33 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing