We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The property is just as we expected. Nothing very fancy...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book in Advance; Save 15%
Ranked #43 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    284
    101
    34
    10
See reviews for
140
231
53
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

There's nothing particularly bad about this hotel but then there's nothing particularly memorable about it either. It's pleasantly average. Now I must say that the staff is above average. The several that I encountered and talked with were all quite friendly and helpful. It's nice to always be greeted with a smile no matter what time of day. The property seems to be on the older side. The room was small for three people to be in there. The double beds appeared to be on the smaller side as well. The bathroom was kind small too. But my mother did appreciate the microwave and mini-fridge. I got the hotel for a good price compared to the price of comparable hotels. I will admit that, next time, I would probably pay a little more to book a different place. I've seen rankings of three stars for this hotel on some travel sites. I disagree with that; 2.5 at the most.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha Alan B,

Thank you for your review of our property. We're really happy that our staff was able to brighten your day with a smile of aloha.

It's unfortunate that you don't feel that we deserve our 3 stars. We work hard to serve our guests with aloha and meet all their needs.

We hope that you had a nice time regardless of the space and bed size issues.
Thank you again!
Warmest Aloha,
Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel needs some money put into it. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny. The doors are from Elvis' time. The staff is very nice. I wouldn't stay here again. Spend a few dollars more and get a more updated room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha Lori R,

Thank you for your review of the property. We renovated and updated the hotel in 2009 in order to try to better fit guests needs. We're sorry that it was a bit small for you.

We hope that you enjoyed Hawaii, regardless, and that you will visit Hawaii again soon!

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brnj
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here both before and after our North Shore stay. Very nice for the money and within walking distance to everything you could want. The staff was very nice and helpful. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel that will take you anywhere you want to visit. This hotel is also right across the street from the Hilton which has a nice beach and many great places to eat and shop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha BRNJ,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We're glad that you had a nice time and that our staff was able to help you with your needs.

We hope that you had a wonderful time on the North Shore!

Warmest Aloha to you and your family,
Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our stay at the Ramada Plaza was a pleasant experience. Room was comfortable and spotless. Parking is a bit high but parking in Honolulu is at a premium. As stated in other reviews, if you sign up for Wyndham Rewards, you save $5 a day off the parking price.Desk staff very helpful as well as cleaning crew. The restaurant which is actually right OUTSIDE the front of the hotel is called Wok-kiki. Breakfast buffets were $8.75 which incl tax/tip. American food is served along with oriental. Plenty of it&good. We also ate an oriental dinner buffet which was very tasty. There's 24hr diner a few steps away from Ramada too, or several chain restaurants just down the street. You can walk easily to the beach area in front of the Hilton Complex, watch sunset,swim, stroll or visit the Dairy Queen!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha Michele029,

Thank you so much for your kind review and 5-star ratings! We're so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Waikiki and at our property. We hope that your vacation was relaxing and helped refresh you to take on the world!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Aloha,
Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 1830 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer off beach prices and lots of free amenities- in each room from the 9th floor and up we have microwaves and mini-fridge's, you can use either free hardwired or WiFi - free use of the fitness center. The business center on the first floor has two computers and a printer- you can print your boarding passess for free. Parking is $20 IF you are a Wyndham points member or you can join when you arrive- parking normally $25 a night. We are located at the beginning of Waikiki- within walking distance to the Hawaii Convention Center, Ala Moana Shopping Center, lots of dining and shopping opportunities - a 10 minute stroll to the beach is across the street at the Hilton Hawaiian Village or you can walk two blocks to Ala Moana Beach Park. Public transportation (The Bus) is available outside on Ala Moana Blvd. We have a travel desk in the lobby help arrange tours and adventures at a reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.