We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The property is just as we expected. Nothing very fancy...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Waikiki to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

There's nothing particularly bad about this hotel but then there's nothing particularly memorable about it either. It's pleasantly average. Now I must say that the staff is above average. The several that I encountered and talked with were all quite friendly and helpful. It's nice to always be greeted with a smile no matter what time of day. The property seems to be on the older side. The room was small for three people to be in there. The double beds appeared to be on the smaller side as well. The bathroom was kind small too. But my mother did appreciate the microwave and mini-fridge. I got the hotel for a good price compared to the price of comparable hotels. I will admit that, next time, I would probably pay a little more to book a different place. I've seen rankings of three stars for this hotel on some travel sites. I disagree with that; 2.5 at the most.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha Alan B,

Thank you for your review of our property. We're really happy that our staff was able to brighten your day with a smile of aloha.

It's unfortunate that you don't feel that we deserve our 3 stars. We work hard to serve our guests with aloha and meet all their needs.

We hope that you had a nice time regardless of the space and bed size issues.
Thank you again!
Warmest Aloha,
Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel needs some money put into it. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny. The doors are from Elvis' time. The staff is very nice. I wouldn't stay here again. Spend a few dollars more and get a more updated room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha Lori R,

Thank you for your review of the property. We renovated and updated the hotel in 2009 in order to try to better fit guests needs. We're sorry that it was a bit small for you.

We hope that you enjoyed Hawaii, regardless, and that you will visit Hawaii again soon!

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brnj
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here both before and after our North Shore stay. Very nice for the money and within walking distance to everything you could want. The staff was very nice and helpful. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel that will take you anywhere you want to visit. This hotel is also right across the street from the Hilton which has a nice beach and many great places to eat and shop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha BRNJ,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We're glad that you had a nice time and that our staff was able to help you with your needs.

We hope that you had a wonderful time on the North Shore!

Warmest Aloha to you and your family,
Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our stay at the Ramada Plaza was a pleasant experience. Room was comfortable and spotless. Parking is a bit high but parking in Honolulu is at a premium. As stated in other reviews, if you sign up for Wyndham Rewards, you save $5 a day off the parking price.Desk staff very helpful as well as cleaning crew. The restaurant which is actually right OUTSIDE the front of the hotel is called Wok-kiki. Breakfast buffets were $8.75 which incl tax/tip. American food is served along with oriental. Plenty of it&good. We also ate an oriental dinner buffet which was very tasty. There's 24hr diner a few steps away from Ramada too, or several chain restaurants just down the street. You can walk easily to the beach area in front of the Hilton Complex, watch sunset,swim, stroll or visit the Dairy Queen!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha Michele029,

Thank you so much for your kind review and 5-star ratings! We're so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Waikiki and at our property. We hope that your vacation was relaxing and helped refresh you to take on the world!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Aloha,
Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#16 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#6 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#49 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort
Waikiki Resort
#36 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Address: 1830 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing