We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for our money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Waikiki to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value for our money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We found this hotel on Hotwire. It offered us a spacious, clean room with a mini-fridge, satellite TV, safe, and 2 beds. The front desk service was great; one staff member was really helpful when it came to getting me a cab, and making sure I got to where I needed to be on time. It's located very close to Ala Moana Beach Park, the Ala Wai Canal, and the Ala Moana Centre. We walked to these places. However, to get to Waikiki Beach and the surrounding area, it was a bit of a trek. Public transit is not particularly good; it's better to rent a car to get around, which is what we did. We rarely stayed at the hotel - we visited a lot of attractions: Pearl Harbor, Waikele Premium Outlets, Germaine's Luau, International Marketplace, Ala Moana Center, Ala Moana Beach Park, Waikiki Beach, Judiciary History Center, Iolani Palace, Aloha Tower and Marketplace, etc. All amazing! I definitely recommend the hotel and Honolulu. I'd return. (We travelled October 2011).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thaks so much for shaing your review on Trip Advisor. We really appeciate your positive comments.

We hope you'll come back sometime and stay again.
Of I can help in anyway please let me know -

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    356
    130
    40
    13
See reviews for
190
280
67
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I really appreciated the service and attention to detail at the hotel. The lobby staff were helpful and friendly. We asked for some restaurant suggestions from the desk staff and found some excellent restaurants in the area as a result of their recommendations.

My only negatives would be the cost of on-property parking and the restaurant. The parking cost is a little ridiculous at $20 per day. I understand the need to control parking in a dense urban area like this, but that is stupid expensive. It would be much more customer-friendly to give out a parking pass or other indication that you are a hotel guest and have a staff member walk the lot every couple of hours to ensure compliance.

The hotel includes a free breakfast each morning. This is provided by the attached restaurant which is oriental cuisine. The food was good but was a bit lacking in variety especially for multi-day guests. They offer eggs, sausage, pancakes, toast, fresh pineapple, cereal (limited choices) and milk, and a few oriental items (wontons, etc.). It tastes fine and the staff is very friendly, it just gets a little repetitive if you stay more than a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Aloha James B:
Thank you for your rating and comments. Parking is a challenge in Hawaii with limited spaces. That's a disadvantage of living on an Island. Hilton across the street charge $35 per night and we are trying to keep our parking affordable. We have a promotion to obtain reduced parking if you join our Wyndham rewards program. I am sorry if we didn't offer you that.

We are working with the restaurant owner trying to “fix" the Chinese restaurant but we thank you for your comments.

I hope you give us another chance and come back to stay with us sometime in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANKTOWN
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Everything was satisfactory. Wish there was no charge for parking!! Computer had a few problems when we tried to use it. Coffee could have been left out a little longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Aloha Alan S.

Thanks for your feedback. We know you have many choices of hotel and are so pleased you gave us a try. I wish we had free parking but being on an Island limits the parking spaces - especially in Waikiki but we are pleased to have 24 hour parking attendants on property.

Good idea about the coffee and water. We keep it out until 1pm but I guess that's not long enough. We'll look at leaving it longer. Thanks for the suggestion.

Please come back and stay with us again sometime in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Address: 1830 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer off beach prices and lots of free amenities-You can access free Wi-Fi and Hardwired connections in each room. We have microwaves and mini-fridge's. Free use of the fitness center which has two computers and a printer. Parking is normally $25.00 Per night but if you become a Wyndham Rewards member parking will be $20.00 Per night. We are located at the beginning of Waikiki- within walking distance to the Hawaii Convention Center, Ala Moana Shopping Center, lots of dining and shopping opportunities - a 10 minute stroll to the beach is across the street at the Hilton Hawaiian Village or you can walk two blocks to Ala Moana Beach Park. Public transportation (The Bus) is available outside on Ala Moana Blvd. We have a travel desk in the lobby help arrange tours and adventures at a reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.