We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flight got canceled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Honolulu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Honolulu Hotel to your Saves list
Airport Honolulu Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 36%
Ranked #64 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flight got canceled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very nice and clean. The restaurant is very nice and the food and prices are great considering the location is Hawaii where everything is very expensive. Shuttle service every 30 minutes was outstanding. I am writing this review to comment on the employees. I don't know if I have ever stayed at a place where everyone was exceptionally courteous and friendly. Everyone greeted us with a smile on their face and asked if I needed any help. A joy to stay there even with the noise from the airport. The employees make the place.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Bruce W,

Thank you for staying at Airport Honolulu Hotel recently this month. Though you stayed due to a cancelled flight, we are appreciative of your patronage.

Thank you for writing a review and acknowledging our employees. I agree with you that the employees make the place and we are grateful to hear our employees serviced you to your expectations. We do have a great staff and they do their best to make our guests feel at home. We will share this with the staff, so thank you!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    216
    201
    73
    56
See reviews for
125
241
95
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a really nice updated room that I stayed for one night. I had a delay with a flight and this is where I stayed until the next flight. The bathroom was nicely updated. The room was nice and clean and the staff was really nice. The hotel design is odd and look of the hotel needs to be updated, this is my personally opinion. Overall I would totally stay in this hotel. I thought the room was perfect especially for the location.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha JaysPen,

Thank you for staying with Airport Honolulu Hotel recently and thank you for your review!

As you mentioned, we do have great rooms for our guests. We are in the process of discussing design ideas for a renovation, but in the meantime we are trying to renovate the best we can. We are always looking to improve the hotel and so our next goal is to update our rooms.

Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Airport Honolulu Hotel is another hotel that we found that was enjoyable to stay for a night or two or maybe even longer. Nice comfortable room. Roomy well decorative lobby. Friendly desk clerk. The pool area is excellent. It is a great place to hang out and get some sun. There are places that you can go to eat close by just a couple of minutes away. We are looking forward to going back if the chance arrive to stay longer than one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Isadore D,

Thank you for staying at Airport Honolulu Hotel back in June. We are appreciative of your stay and also for following up with a review.

We are pleased to hear we were able to meet your expectations while you were here. As you mentioned, we do offer many amenities for our guests and have a few eateries around our hotel. Also, a 24 hour McDonald's opened up a block away from the hotel in November which provides another option for our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and for writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like a lot of travelers we were looking for a hotel close to the airport after a late arrival. This was a good choice as it was very convenient to the airport, has good service and acceptable comfort. The bed isn't the best, the rooms are a bit dated and there aren't many amenities. However the desk clerk was great in sorting out a problem with our reservation (which wasn't the hotel's fault). In the end, we are glad we chose this hotel for our arrival day in Honolulu.

Room Tip: A good choice for an airport hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha baileyno6,

Thank you for staying at Airport Honolulu Hotel recently! We are appreciative you decided to stay with us.

Thank you for writing a review and for advising us of the concerns of your stay. We are happy to hear our staff was able to assist you with an error and ensure you were taken cared of.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is not bad, though it is really not great either. It is ok for a layover. However, the service is terrible. We had to stay there twice on a recent trip through Honolulu. The first time we reserved a king bed and asked for a crib in the room. We would not arrive until 3:00 AM and really needed rest for our 16 month old daughter. We got to the hotel and found that instead of a king sized bed we had two doubles and no crib. The girl at the front desk said, "I see that you reserved a crib, but there is not one in the room and their is no one in housekeeping right now." So in other words, she thought that we would just figure something else out. We insisted she figure out a way to get us a crib and finally someone from security was able to get us one. No king sized beds were available though. The next time through I reserved the exact same thing. This time though I called the day before and told the person that answered how important it was that I have a crib in the room. We show up and, you guessed it, two double beds and no crib. It took around 20 minutes to get us a crib and we were just out of luck on the bed size. My thing is if you aren't going to hold a king sized bed for those that reserve it, why even offer one? Why not just say, "Reserve a room, we'll decide what kind of bed you get when you arrive." The worst thing is they basically have no competition since the only other airport hotel is owned by the same company. Looks like next time we will just pay the money to get a cab and stay in Waikiki. I would rather be inconvenienced than give these people anymore of my money.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha micronesianmission,

Thank for staying at Airport Honolulu Hotel recently in January and for taking the time to write a review.

After reading your review, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced on both of your stays with us. This does not sound like the service our staff is acknowledged by other guests as great. I will personally look into this and see what happened. Our staff is great at communicating these requests and so we sincerely apologize.

I would like to hear from you and so if you are able to, please contact me directly so I can further understand the concerns you advised. My direct number is (808) 837-5931.

Thank you and I hope to hear from you!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here to break up our flight. The room was spacious and the wifi was excellent. Front desk staff were helpful with directions to eat out and their is a little shop located within the hotel. The airport shuttle was very convenient and wouldn't hesitate in staying here again for a lay over.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Yvonne H,

Thank you for staying with Airport Honolulu Hotel in December and also for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

It is pleasing to hear our staff was able to accommodate you and ensure your stay went well. We will share your review with them.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want/need to be near the airport, it's worth considering. It is clean and everything including the wifi works. The air conditioner was a bit noisy, but it was an ambient noise so not really a problem for sleeping. The shuttle pickup was prompt, but load the hotel number on your phone as I could not find a courtesy phone in/near baggage claim. Only meal served every day is breakfast. They offer a shuttle to the Best Western for other meals. Also, if you can find the nearest Starbucks about 2 blocks away, there are some quick food options in the same building. The hotel shop also has snacks.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Aloha nkped,

On behalf of the staff and management, thank you for staying at Airport Honolulu Hotel recently!

Thank you for writing a review and for sharing your experiences. We do have a great location for anyone needing a hotel for a quick layover. AS you mentioned, we have clean rooms and have many services to offer our guests. We do offer dinner at Willoughby's Restaurant Tuesday-Thursday.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Address: 3401 Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Honolulu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.