We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience over luxury.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Honolulu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Honolulu Hotel to your Saves list
Airport Honolulu Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 36%
Ranked #65 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Convenience over luxury.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked this hotel through Outrigger. I don't think it is possible to get any closer to t he airport, or the rental car returns than at this hotel. So, if being nearby for an early flight is your goal, this place will fit the bill. If you are looking for deluxe/luxury, try a different location. This is an older, motel style property.

The lobby is pleasant, with several large areas for sitting and lounging. We noticed a restaurant area for breakfast, but were told nothing about it on check in, so we did not use it and can not report more on this. There is a small, outdoor pool, free parking and a shuttle to the airport terminals every 1/2 hour for most of the day and night. The hallways are a bit of maze and could use a update in painting and carpets. The room is a decent size, but quite dated. the positive: they do have a small fridge and micro for drinks and snacks. The bathroom is tiny and very out of date, but everything worked. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review with Trip Advisor. Thank you for staying with us. Our location makes it convenient for early and late travelers with our 24 hour complimentary shuttle service. We will be enhancing the rooms this year with new televisions and furniture replacements. We look forward to your return. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    208
    195
    71
    55
See reviews for
120
236
92
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This former Holiday Inn was updated recently. I would guess that it was built sometime in the 60's. the hotel is clean and comfortable. The entire staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is good but has a limited menu and it is not open every evening. The hotel has a sister hotel about a half mile down Nimitz and they alternate nights that they are open. I had a room facing the swimming pool. It also faces the interstate. Lots of road noise and dirt on the window. All in all it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Very close to Pearl Harbor. Want a awesome dinner go to the Aiaia Bowling Alley. Yes I did say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review with Trip Advisor. Mahalo for your kind words. We pride ourselves in providing clean, comfortable rooms with personal Aloha service. With our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service staying with us makes it convenient and a perfect place before your early and/or late flights. Thank you for staying with us. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the shuttle service both for pick up and drop off. They have a great pool area, nice and clean rooms. My special requests were also accommodated which made me very happy. This is no 4 star hotel, but for what it is its great. I will most likely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend others. Good job!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review with Trip Advisor, your comments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for acknowledging the hotel for their great guest service and amenities. We have noted your comment about the chanels and we will follow up with your request. Mahalo Nui Loa – thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

i had requested a handicapped room when i arrived, i was told rhat no handicap rggms were in the main building. i had to walk with a cane quite a distance to another building if i was informed, beforehand, i would have made other arrangements no local shuttle for local atractions

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We apologize that we did not have an accessible room in the main building upon your arrival. Unfortunately during high occupancy levels, it is very difficult to accommodate an accessible room request upon arrival.
We have a lot of guests that stay with us due to our close proximity to tripler medical center where they are being treated so our accessible rooms are always in demand.
Please kindly contact us in advance next time so we can pre-assign an accessible room in the main building prior to your arrival.

Have a safe and funfilled holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I found 4 cockroaches while I was there. The beds are hard as a rock and the food is very expensive and the taste does not match the price. I slept across from the elevator and had to listen to the door open and close all night. Also my door did not complete match up to the frame so it was louder than it probably would have been if the door actually worked properly. The cleaning folks never actually cleaned my room they just came in and made the beds every night and put towels (that had black hair all over them) back on the racks. How do I know they didn't clean, because my first night there I killed a cockroach on the table, to see if they actually cleaned the rooms I left it there, in PLAIN sight and it was there that night when I got back. Also killed one on the wall and on the dresser, over my 3 night stay. All there when I left on Friday. Trust me there are better places to stay then this dump. Oh and they allow pets so if you don't want to hear a dog whine don't stay here.

Room Tip: DON'T stay on the first floor or by an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to advise us on your experience. We are very disapoointed to hear the service failures you experienced. Our housekeeping department has always been the number 1 department that our guests praised. We will address all your concerns and our shortcomings with the respective departments.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we wish you and your family a very happy holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Airport Honolulu for 5 nights and were very happy with our accomodations. It was booked because it was the cheapest we could find for that time period and we weren't disappointed. Our room had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker which is always nice to have. When we came back at night Elizabeth had done a great job making up the room. It is not on the beach but couldn't be closer to the airport. We did not notice the noise from the airport and as we had a car we were able to drive all over the island. We did find parking was always in short supply as we tended to get in later at night, however when we would check with security they always found us a spot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Address: 3401 Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Honolulu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.