We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for quick stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Honolulu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Honolulu Hotel to your Saves list
Airport Honolulu Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #63 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great for quick stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed 1 night at this hotel when we first arrived in Honolulu. We were leaving early the next morning to Big Island and getting in late, we needed a place to sleep.

This hotel has all that you would need for either one night or longer. Big rooms, bathroom products, fridge, tv and we were lucky enough to be given a room on the quieter side near the carpark and away from the highway.

Easy airport shuttle - just call the hotel from the baggage claim and they tell you to go to the outside section of baggage claim E where they will be waiting in their van. As the hotel is only 5 mins from the airport, no long waits are needed. Getting back to the airport the next morning the shuttle runs on the half hour, every half hour - couldn't be easier.

They do offer breakfast in the morning which we didn't need as we left early (not included in the price), and the restaurant closes at 9pm and only runs a few days of the week, however, reception staff gave us a map and highlighted restaurants nearby within walking distance as needed.

All staff were very friendly and helpful and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back next to the carpark as is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    226
    214
    77
    56
See reviews for
138
249
98
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I reserved a room online, only to arrive and find that while we had paid for and reserved a "Superior King" room, we were given a room with two double beds. Nothing superior about it. On top of that, the room smelled (smells, actually -- I'm writing this review from the hotel's WiFi) like some combination of wet dog and dirty diapers.

While the front desk staff was polite, they were unable to offer either a solution or any reasonable compensation for these issues. They offered to: 1) spray down the room with some sort of perfume to cover up the smell, 2) comp our parking, when we JUST returned our rental car because they charge an additional $25 to park, and 3) give us meal vouchers for the hotel's restaurant, which our 8am flight will not allow us to use.

Thanks for nothing.

To make matters worse, the manager I spoke to at the front desk alternated between telling me they didn't have any rooms to move us into, and telling me that since we had already thrown our bags into the room before running off to get dinner, the room needed to be cleaned again and we could no longer be moved to a different room. This seemed to suggest that there WERE other rooms available to move us to, but he just didn't want to go to the trouble of making it happen.

In the end, we overpaid for a smelly room that did not come close to matching what we reserved. We would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.
Unfortunately, we sometimes are unable to honor all bedding requests due to high occupancy, since it was Honolulu Marathon weekend. We apologize that your room did not smell fresh and crisp and you were unable to accept our gestures of apology.

We want all our guests to leave our hotel happy and satisfied so please kindly contact me personally at rodolfo.fao@outrigger.com if you would give us another opporutnity to better serve you again.

Warm Regards & Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is real close to the airport - in fact you could actually walk there if so inclined. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Some are close to highway and hence noisy - so be sure to ask for a room away from highway if noise bothers you. Wireless internet is free but there is a charge if you wish to print any document in the reception area. Airport shuttle runs every 30 minutes on the hour and half-hour. By the way, it is confusing but the shuttle van has a Best Western logo on it as apparently the service is shared with the nearly Best Western.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Airport Hotel is very convenient to the airport and the shuttle service is great. My disappointment is in the overall quality of the hotel, which is different than the website indicates. We were told at check in that our room key was necessary to operate the elevator, which gives the impression of security. This wasn't true - push any floor and there you go. We asked to see another room because of the freeway noise and the outside door to this back building was completely unlocked. We walked in with the security guard who was very nonchalant about the 2 questionable women in skimpy clothing waiting at the door. Again the elevator operated without a key.

Room Tip: Wish I knew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location by the airport and our complimentary airport shuttle service.

Thank you for bringing to our attention that our security doors and elevators weren't functioning properly. We will look into them at once as we take safety and security seriously.

We hope your visit to Honolulu was up to your expectations and we look forward to servicing you again at our hotel.

Have a safe and fun-filled holiday seaon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We need hotel near airport with airport transfer for out night flight. Hotel is 5 min drive with airport shuttle. You can call for shuttle from phones located in airport arrival hall. Rooms are clean, spacious and well equiped (microwawe) There is small shop in the hotel, you can buy small necessities. I think there is a bus stop near, but do not excactly know where, we use taxi from hotel to short visit of Pearl Harbour ($15) for taxi. Internet connection in the hotel are complimentary and working without problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here one night before our cruise. This is not a vacation destination. There is a highway on one side a car lot of some kind to the rear, some commercial buildings on the other side. Didn't have a Hawaiian vacation feel. A little smelly, not too bad, and very worn out. It is close to airport. Has two buildings so you have to walk outside to get to the other building with the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had 24 hours in Honolulu before flying on to Chicago from Australia and I booked this hotel as we had stayed at the Outrigger Reef a couple of years ago and believed it would be of a similar quality. Unfortunately, on arrival we discovered it was on a different scale and not up to our expectations.

When we booked in we were given a room in another building. We started on the long trek to the room and decided we didn't want to stay so far away from reception so we returned and were happy to wait until a room became available. We were told it could take a few hours but as soon as we had eaten breakfast, we were given our room. It was quite comfortable though the air conditioner was very noisy. This is an old hotel and the air conditioners do need to be replaced.

We discovered that there isn't anywhere to eat in the hotel at lunchtime and for the evening meal we had to take the shuttle to the Best Western Plaza Hotel which apparently is a sister hotel where we had a hamburger. This was not quite what we expected and it wasn't a good start to our 5 week trip. Luckily, once we left Honolulu things did pick up.

We did sit around the pool for a couple of hours but it wasn't anything special not as I had imagined when looking at the photos of the hotel.

The shuttle next morning left as soon as we went downstairs which was a bonus though we did have to wait at least 30-40 minutes for it when we first arrived in Honolulu after a long tiring flight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Address: 3401 Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Honolulu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.