We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel on the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Points + Suite
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Grand Rapids
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Hotel on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When we first arrived, we were a little disappointed to find our hotel room had two queen beds when I had booked a King. It was quickly resolved and they took $50.00 off our bill to compensate. The hotel was amazing! The hotel grounds were amazing and beautiful! Staff were friendly and always willing to go above and beyond to make you happy. The only thing I would say I would never do again is, go to the Luau. It was very expensive and the food was cold. The Hawaiian entertainers were wonderful and beautiful but, if I go again....and we plan to....I would do a Luau somewhere else. The beach was wonderful and clean. The restaurants were all great and I would recommend CJ's, the prices were good and the food was amazing! We ate there almost every day! Enjoy your trip and I hope we can get back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: get a room on the upper floors, chances are you will still get a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,490
    3,325
    1,567
    615
    361
See reviews for
3,427
3,047
246
926
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visited the Hilton Hawaiian Village in January 2015 for a six night stay on Oahu before continuing to Maui. The accommodations provided a large King Size Room in the Diamond Head Tower with view of the Tapa pool, full internet, room safe and all the TV channels you care for. The Hilton Hawaiian Village has it all and is a remarkable beachfront resort with all the amenities! There is nightly music and entertainment with numerous activities. There are also numerous places to eat that will please any palette! You can spend as much or as little on dining and enjoy them just the same. The beach is beautiful with views of gorgeous Diamond Head. My room did not provide an ocean view but with a sharp left view, you could see it and the Rainbow Tower. There is ongoing construction of a new tower near the Diamond Head Tower but I didn't find it distracting and the noise was over by later afternoon. You won't find that inconvenient in my opinion. One word of caution is to be very careful what you bring to the beach and leave unattended as I had my beach bag stolen which included my camera, phone and some cash. Hotel security was right on the scene and provided much support. That was the only unfortunate circumstance of my stay! But it made me wiser and now I bring only what I can swim with. The beach bag was retrieved but no camera or phone and obviously no cash, but the shirt and sundries remained! So beware. It's a very crowded area with the beach front path going right through the hotel property and beach on its way to the marina. Aside from that incident I loved my visit and can't wait to visit again. When you visit, be sure to take in the Starlight Luau! The food was good and the entertainment was great as well. You won't be disappointed on your stay. You're far enough removed from the hustle and bustle of Kalakaua Avenue for a little quiet time, but only a short stroll of no more than 5 minutes to all of its action! Everything is right at your fingertips and the rooms are clean, comfortable, large and have the most comfortable beds!

Room Tip: Really any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

CARRIES GLUTEN FREE OPTIONS W/ A DEDICATED GLUTEN FREE FRYER!
Went to this restaurant due to their gluten free options. They have a separate dedicated fryer, but only turn it on for individual orders, so you will have to wait an EXTRA 20 mins for true gluten free fried food. I wouldn't have minded, except everyone else's food was made inappropriately earlier than mine, so I ate dinner basically by myself. They also have gluten free pizza crust and some cold salads. Drinks are overpriced, but food is reasonably priced for Hawaii. Nice atmosphere, we went more than once.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed 5/21-5/24/2015. As a hilton gold member we were upgraded to an ocean view room in the kalai tower. The room had very good amenities and was clean, however housecleaning was slow in arriving. Loved the selection of DVDs (both games and movies).

The food and drinks were outstanding along with the customer service. We really appreciated the amount of happy hour venues. We ate at the breakfast buffet, patio grill and Italian restaurant (fresco). The breakfast buffet was expensive but tasty. The $20 daily gold credit was helpful.

The luau was ok (could have skipped it). The fireworks show was better than the luau and cheaper (the drinks at both shows were like punch, unlike served in the bars).

The water slide pool a little scary, a lot of floating debris, and close one day I assume for the debris. The water was shut off one afternoon inconvenient even with forewarning.

Overall better than average.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked an OV room. First room we were given was in the Rainbow Tower on the 6th floor near the elevator with a view of a large tree and a SMALL view of the ocean. Returned to check in desk and was given a room in the Kalia Tower on the 23rd floor. Nice view of the ocean and hotel. Overall everything either met or exceeded our expectations except we did not have poolside service (drinks/food) at the Kalia Tower pool. When paying a resort fee of $30 per day I would expect there to be some sort of service at the pool area. I'm not sure if any of the other pool locations has this service or not. Location of the hotel, while within walking distance of downtown, is quite a long walk.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very busy hotel - crowded beach with icky sand. Service is "okay", but nothing special. They are building two more towers, which will crowd the beach even more. I would choose the North Shore next time if I had to go to Oahu

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We werent too sure what to expect, due to the mixed reviews.. but we loved it.

We stayed 12 nights in an ocean front king Ali'i tower, the view was mind blowing.

Every thing in the room was perfect, housekeeping was of a high standard, leaving bottles of water ..the canapes on Friday and Saturday , were an extra touch , that we enjoyed, very much ...The fireworks were right in front of us.

The gardens and the surrounds immaculate, staff were very friendly.

Despite it being very busy, we never felt crowded, on 2 occasions we had to wait for tables , less than 20 mins,,including Mothers day.

The beach and lagoon area ..are just perfect, we found plenty of variety in the restaurants, and the ABC stores had heaps of choice,

Easy walking distance to Waikiki and the Ala Moana centre, and close to public transport,

We hired a car on two occasions and that was also an easy process,

We loved it here and will definately return

Room Tip: Ocean front Ali'i room, worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.