We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with lots to see and do.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$179 (USD)
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful hotel with lots to see and do.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff were friendly and readily available to help out. We paid about $300 a night for a city view room with 2 queens. The room was spacious and a lot bigger than what you'd find at other hotels in the area. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. The property is hugh with tons of activities to choose from. My kids loved the pool and water slides. The salt water lagoon was a let down though. The water was murky and the gravel bottom hurts your feet. My kids opted pool and for the ocean that is only steps away. The beach in front of this hotel has lots of rocks and coral so beware. Be prepared for the crowds and noise as there are masses of people everywhere throughout the resort. The congestion and noise are overwhelming at times. This hotel isn't cheap with aveage room prices over $300 plus parking and ammenity fees, but it has it all with numerious resturants, shops and activities and it's beach front location to top it off. We would book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,974
    2,810
    1,340
    537
    324
See reviews for
2,935
2,565
211
817
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,964)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

i stayed during a conference, was in Rainbow tower with ocean view room. The room is clean and spacious, modern. Buffet breakfast is busy, waiting time might be up to 1/2 hour. Restaurants are good in the village, near by some attractions, the spa is nice, must try if you get the chance. The premises is big and everything closes at 22:30 - 23:00. Few stores to enjoy shopping, the Ala Moana mall is in walking distance. Beach looks fantastic. Front desk usually busy, but the staff try to please you as much as possible.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for three nights in October 2014 but wish it was more. The hotel and Waikiki itself were amazing.
The hotel was about a 25 minute cab ride from Honolulu airport and yes, the hotel is a large resort in itself but well run and friendly.
Upon check in, as advised on the website, we walked straight past the main reception desk where there weren't massive queues anyway, to the reception desk of the nearby Ali'i tower where we were booked. This was billed as the more exclusive tower and it certainly felt like it. It felt great to hear other people enquiring as to whether they could upgrade to this tower.
We had an oceanfront room booked and were given one of the larger corner rooms as it was our honeymoon. It was amazing! The room was huge and had two separate balconies offering unobstructed views of the Pacific.
There are a variety of bars, restaurants and shops within the resort and the town centre is only a short walk away.
We were offered a discounted rate by reception for the breakfast buffet which we took for two mornings. The selection was great and the staff very attentive.
Some previous reviews complain about the size and busyness of the resort. It was busy but the size of the place accommodates everyone perfectly and there are enough staff on hand to get on with things. We never waited too long for a table in the restaurants.
The pools weren't that big and were full of kids, but we were happy to spend our time in the sea right in front of us.
We walked down the beach to Waikiki one day and were amazed at how little beach frontage so many of the other hotels had compared to the Hilton. Some had no sand on them at all! We were definitely glad we did not stay somewhere else.
This was our favourite hotel that we stayed at on our trip and would come back here without question.

Room Tip: Stayed on the ninth floor of the Ali'i tower in a corner oceanfront room. No complaints at all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything was stream line from check in to check out, thanks to the advise of previous Hilton users. The best advice I received was to use the Alli tower, since check in was so fast. After the tiring plane trip, it was great to walk past the busy and frustrating looking tons of people waiting to check into the other towers, and go right to my room. The resort is wonderful, almost a small city within itself!! Everything you would need was there, great shops, food and entertainment. Loved the fireworks on Friday night! After checking out some of the other hotels on the beach, I was glad I choose to stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village for 2 nights in an ocean view room.

Lets start with the one positive. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

Now for the things that left us with a poor first impression;
1. The resort is made up of 7 towers. Its a mini-city not a resort, there are thousands of hotels guest and staff on the property, its impersonal.

2. We were charged a $30 per day resort fee on-top of the room rate. This covers gym, pool, movie rentals, facilities, maintenance & bunch of other things. What a joke! I've never stayed at hotel that has the nerve to implement such a nonsensical fee. This is a cost of doing business. The Hilton Group should either increase the room rates or absorb the cost but passing it onto customers left left a really poor impression on us.

3. There are several swimming pools on the property. When looking at the resort map you get the impression they are of a reasonable size, which they are not when you put into the context the number of guest on the property.

4. The gyms had all the latest modern equipment and well maintained but dreadfully undersized.

5. Service was terrible. The staff we dealt with were tired and disinterested.

6. There is one driveway for many hotel towers on the property therefore getting in & out may take a little while. We spent the first $5 of taxi rides getting out of the property taking into account a $3 flag-fall.

If your idea of a great hotel is staying at a hotel that has seven towers and thousands of guest and staff on property then you'll love the the Hilton.

I don't recommend this hotel. There are other hotels in Waikiki for the same or less cost that will leave you with a must better experience.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived at the hotel about 2.30 check in time, so very busy could not believe how many people were lined up waiting to be served. After waiting for 1/2 hour a very busy lady served us but it just wasn't a welcome I would of expected at arriving at the Hilton in Hawaii!!! We had asked for adjoining rooms with my daughter which we had emailed and asked for 6mths prior but they said that they were fully booked and couldn't organize. So we chose the room facing Diamond Head with part ocean views, well unless your on the 10th upwards you cannot see Diamond Head as the coconut trees block your view. Do not I mean do not!!! Choose any rooms on the Diamond Head side as all the buses and trucks drive up that side of the Alli Towers and they start backing back from 5.30am so you can hear them. Otherwise the rooms were very clean. Great amenities around the Hotel, but do not do the Luau there. Food was disgusting and for $130us not worth it. The Entertainment was excellent but the venue and food were really really bad!!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a conference at the Convention Center. The hotel is some distance from the HCC. The hotel is very busy and crowded; lots of tourists from both the USA and Japan.It is probably a good place for families with younger children, because of the man made beach and lagoon, children's camp, limitless DVD rentals, and pools. I stayed in the Rainbow tower in a large room with a great view of the water. As for complaints, no luggage rack in my room, no bottled water waiting in the room. If you had a large number of suitcases, bell service was available but if you were dragging one suitcase and one carry on no one offered assistance at check in. Also the daily resort fee was a rip off for me since i didnt have a chance to use the DVD's, pool towels and other benefits, but you have to pay it anyway. The staff were always extremely nice and helpful. 5 stars for the staff. This area in Oahu has lots of high rises and traffic jams. If i were coming for a vacation, to rest, i would go further up the coast to the hotels in the Ko Olina beach area. Nice man made lagoons where you can snorkel and swim with turtles. Much quieter

Room Tip: rainbow tower seems to have some of the best rooms on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.