We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you enjoy any level of quality then only stay in the Rainbow Tower.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Gold Coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you enjoy any level of quality then only stay in the Rainbow Tower.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is three star quality and so expensive for what it deliveries. It caters for the mass family market. Not one quality restaurant. The only recommendation I would make is if you are going to stay there then make sure that you book an ocean front corner room in the Rainbow Tower the views are amazing.

Room Tip: Book a high floor room so you don't have the noise of screaming kids in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,766
    2,634
    1,263
    513
    301
See reviews for
2751
2393
198
763
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodway, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The resort has several hotels, restaurants and stores, There are several swimming pools along with the beach and the lagoon. Staff was very friendly and resort was maintained well and very clean. Downside was everything was very expensive. Had to rent chairs and unbrellas for the beach and prices were higher then you paid elsewhere on the beach. My overall experience was great and I would go again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

While the rooms here are moderately priced, there are many hotel rooms packed into a small space, making the overall property, pools, beach, etc. seem very overcrowded. Additionally the food and activities are highly overpriced. You can work around that by taking the city bus (very cheap and convenient) to tourist destinations and walking across the street to good, inexpensive restaurants. The hotel is clean and the staff is good. I just didn't like the crowds.

Room Tip: Checkout is early, but if you have a late flight, you can enjoy the beach and the pool and ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loved our stay here, with the shops and surroundings inside the village. Staff were friendly and accommodating including shop and restaurant staff. Situated right by the beach and close to trolley stops. Walking distance to Ala Moana shopping centre. Taxis readily a available too

Only downside was, it was quite confusing to navigate at first but once you got your bearings it was ok.

Room Tip: This hotel is very busy so not ideal if you want a quiet holiday. Alot of families and kids which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. It is beautiful, right on Waikiki Beach. The rooms and pools are nice and there is a waterfall and live penguins and flamingos on the property. At dusk, a native Hawaiian runs around lighting the tiki torches. The sunset from the beach on the property is beautiful, and on the weekends there are fireworks. You can see Diamond Head from the beach. They also have wonderful luaus onsite. It is a very romantic resort. There are quite a few gift shops on the property, which blend in well with the ambiance of the resort. It is next door to the Hale Koa (a U.S. Government hotel). One time we had to check out of our room hours before our flight, so, since I am a Hilton Honors member, the hotel gave us a complimentary hotel room to use to freshen up, rest, etc. until we had to leave. What service!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in the Diamon Head tower. I was attending a conference but wanted to enjoy the conference. 8 days. So disappointed. We had an amazing view. Beds were very uncomfortable. Ants in the rollaway bed. the view was amazing but we didn't sleep outside. $379 a night (not to include resort fee and taxation) . We had to wait for restaurants. Food average. Buffet for breakfast over 25 per adult and 15 for children. Beach is amazing but to pay for umbrellas and chairs with almost paying 400 a night is ridiculous. Chairs are scarce around the pool. I expect the expense for certain things but the gauging is ridiculous. Submarine ride over 100 per person. 60 dollars for a child. Really? Luau the same 140 per person and 110 for child. I loved the view would love to go to a more remote, less busy, easy going place to relax. Hated to wake up and figure out where to go without an insanely long line. (On Vacation... I don't do that at home).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Coming from a quiet beach on the other side of the island to the high density tourism of Waikiki was something of a change. We are not really into that sort of thing so hence the poor star rating.
Room was clean and was OK. Hotel was very crowded and at times difficult to walk through. Be prepared to pay for everything, nothing comes free. Never had the feeling that someone was prepared to go the extra mile for me. Just another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha 4_inda_family,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are sorry to learn that you did not experience the warm Hawaiian hospitality and the aloha spirit that we are committed to sharing with our guests. HHV is dedicated to making every guest have a memorable stay with us and regret to hear that we fell short in this. We hope you will allow us another chance to service you in the future and return to HHV for a more enjoyable stay.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.