We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #43 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
DANVILLE, INDIANA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very exclusive, very nice hotel. Large property, but not as large as Disney Resorts. Check-In lines are long especially when traveling for a period of time, but they do their best to get you on your way. Big Plus: Hospitality room available for day of check out if have a late flight, just make reservation 24 hours in advance, daily movie rentals or game rentals. These were awesome. They have a traffic cop to direct traffic within the resort, which I thought was a class act, instead of having big traffic jams. We paid for the valet parking, which we do not regret. It is expensive, but well worth it. Friday night fireworks are good. A lot of activities going on, watch them feed the penguins and turtles. Rooms are nice and big and keep clean. No problem with asking for extra towels or pillows. Trolley stop is just outside of hotel, very convenient. Pools are clean and have security at them. The lagoon was a very nice surprise. Not just stagnant water, it has water filtration system that circulates water hidden in an island- it was wonderful. It has fish in it, but great for paddle boards and beginner snorkeling. Rental of paddle boards is expensive $35/hour but it didn't seem to stop people from doing it. The only thing that upset me was that 2 chairs and an umbrella will set you back $60 for a day. I think that is quite a bit, especially with pay parking, resort fee, etc. All in all, very classy resort with a lot to see and do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,770
    2,636
    1,264
    514
    301
See reviews for
2755
2396
198
763
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This resort is gorgeous! My 9-year old son & 7-year old daughter loved the large pool with the two water slides. The fireworks on the beach were beautiful! The restaurants on site made it easy for a quick bite. And the lagoon activities (paddle board, peddle boat) were fun. The ocean was calm and waveless, which made it fun to snorkel. The room was a little plain, but we didn't spend much time there. We were in Hawaii! We spent most of our time outdoors! We tried to spend every other day at the resort, and there was lots to do there. We even took a snorkeling turtle watching tour from there. And we went to the Waikiki Ocean Club from there, where we jumped off the yacht, slid off a slide, and jumped on a trampoline... all into the ocean! And the Luau at the resort was incredible! And being right there for most of these activities helped us preserve our energy to fit in lots of activities and minimize or travel time. The kids can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This resort is amazing. It is always active with multiple pools, a shopping district, dining options and lots of hawaiian hospitality. Access to pristine beach is great. The resort can be busy but very nice. Lots of on site activities ( you may see episodes of Hawaii 5-0 filmed here) and there is an easy shuttle to see Waikiki. Every evening has activity including fireworks on Friday nights.

Room Tip: use your Hilton Honor points to upgrade rooms for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived July 10th. Very busy check in but being HHonors members helped with the priority lines. Beautiful room and loved he bathrooms. Nice ocean view. Hit and miss at restaraunts but found some we enjoyed. Our kid pizza call at round table met with crappy service but everything else was great. Loved all the pools and the lagoon. Fun watching the movie filming going on. Quick check out and great room service staff. We will be back. We went to the time share seminar however are not much on you must buy today sales pitches. More interested in looking at it on our time fame.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Hilton Hawaiian Village for 5 nights over the 4th July period ...so very busy ....so cannot comment at non peak times.
We check in prior to arriving ..thank goodness ....and totally recommend doing this as the lines for check in/out were very long.
We stayed in the Kalia tower with a very good view ....housekeeping was very good ....room had good wi fi and of a reasonable/good standard with balcony.
The main pool was always busy without getting up very early unable to get a lounger .... there really should be a pool attendant who takes away the unused towels so other guests can use the facilities.
The lagoon is a very nice spot ...but did not realise that the far end was open to the public ...so very busy with families visiting for the day.
The loungers and sun umbrellas were $15 each to hire ....which given you pay a $25 Resort Fee a day I cannot see this is worthwhile!
The restaurants by the main pool are franchised and unfortunely you are unable to sit beside the pool and eat food from any other café than the one you are in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

It has everything at this hotel shopping, food, and penguins?! Yep! We were staying at a hotel near by and decided to check it out and it was just awesome. And if we didn't wanna just stay there they had a trolly stop right out front that went up and down Waikiki. We also attented the luau they offered and it didn't disappoint! Probably stay here next time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the resort for 4 days, then moved on to 2 other hotels during our stay in Waikiki, and all I can say is that we wished we never left. There is no comparable hotel in Waikiki to the Hilton Hawaiin Village, for the price point. It can get crowded at times, and the pool area can get cramped, but the hotel is so expansive that you can find your own private spot somehow. It's just the best all around hotel in the area. We paid roughly 275 a night, including resort fee, and it was worth every penny. The room was a decent size for me and my family to spread out, and it was clean and modern. I would say my only complaint is that they need to work on their Mai Tai's. For $12 it better blow my mind, instead it was cheap rum and sour mix.

Room Tip: Do research on a particular tower. For us the Tapas tower was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.